call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

Christoph Petersen (28) completed his Master of Finance degree course with a concentration in Corporate Finance in 2013. While still a student, he also worked in the Corporate Banking division of Commerzbank AG, dealing with complex financing structures and solutions for medium-sized businesses.

After graduation, he continued to work in this role until October 2015, when he moved over to Main Incubator GmbH, a fully owned subsidiary of Commerzbank AG. He is currently employed in the Company Building department, where he is in charge of the Business Development unit’s “Main Funders” project – a peer-to-peer lending platform and the first such project to be launched by a major European bank.

How well did your academic studies prepare you for the challenges of working life, up to and including your current job? What did you find especially useful?

Every day, I find I’m drawing on the practical knowledge gained during my studies. Project work at Main Incubator is characterised by teamwork and shared objectives, giving me a great opportunity to use the soft skills I practised and developed during the many case studies and group projects I worked on at Frankfurt School. My Master’s degree course encouraged us to be self-reliant, and to painstakingly familiarise ourselves with both theory and practice. Which is how I was able to acquire and build on the valuable skills I now rely on in my everyday work.

Looking back, how important was your time as a student at Frankfurt School in the greater scheme of things?

My time at Frankfurt School was a formative period in so many ways. I especially liked the programme’s international orientation and the multicultural composition of the student body. While working on joint projects with my fellow students, I learned a great deal about different approaches and ways of working, some of them undoubtedly shaped by cultural differences. My time at Frankfurt School was also extremely important on a personal level, as I still count some of my former fellow students among my closest friends.

What’s your favourite memory of your time at Frankfurt School?

My favourite memory is of the professional but friendly rapport between academic staff and students. To this day, I’m still in touch with a number of my former lecturers. But I should also mention the Introduction Days, the graduation ceremony and the fabulous student parties.

How important are alumni for a business school? What do you think alumni can do for their alma mater?

Alumni have an important role to play on behalf of universities. Ultimately, they’re the people who act as the institution’s representatives to the outside world once they’ve graduated. I also think alumni should treat networking as an important responsibility and help current students benefit from it as well.

What’s your favourite motto?

"Work until you no longer have to introduce yourself" (Christian Audigier)

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen

call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

Christoph Petersen (28) hat sein Studium im Master of Finance mit der Vertiefung "Corporate Finance" im Jahr 2013 erfolgreich abgeschlossen. Schon während des Studiums arbeitete er für die Commerzbank AG im Bereich Corporate Banking und befasste sich mit komplexen Finanzierungsstrukturen und -lösungen für mittelständische Kunden.

Seine Beschäftigung führte er nach Abschluss des Studiums fort und stieg im Oktober 2015 bei der Main Incubator GmbH ein, einer 100% Tochter der Commerzbank AG. Christoph ist im Bereich Company Building eingesetzt und verantwortet den Bereich Business Development für das Projekt "Main Funders. "Main Funders“ ist die erste sogenannte Peer-to-Peer Lending Platform einer europäischen Großbank.

Inwiefern hat Sie das Studium auf die Anforderungen Ihrer bisherigen und aktuellen Tätigkeit vorbereitet? Was war besonders nützlich?

Tagtäglich kann ich auf eine fundierte Wissensbasis aus dem Studium zurückgreifen. Teamarbeit und gemeinsame Zielerreichung prägen die Projektarbeit im Main Incubator – hier kann ich insbesondere die Soft Skills einsetzen, welche ich an der Frankfurt School im Rahmen zahlreicher Case Studies und Gruppenarbeiten "trainiert" und ausgebildet habe. Das Masterstudium hat viel Eigenständigkeit und sorgfältiges Einarbeiten in Theorie und Praxis verlangt. So konnte ich wertvollen Kenntnisse erwerben und weiterentwickeln, die mir bei den täglichen Aufgaben im Job weiterhelfen.

Welche Bedeutung hat Ihre Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School für Sie aus heutiger Sicht?

Die Zeit an der Frankfurt School war für mich in vielerlei Hinsicht prägend. Besonders gut gefallen hat mir die internationale Ausrichtung des Studiengangs und der Studierendenschaft. In gemeinsamen Projekten mit meinen Kommilitonen habe ich viel über unterschiedliche Herangehens- und Arbeitsweisen gelernt, die teilweise auch kulturell geprägt sind. Für mich persönlich war die Zeit an der Frankfurt School ebenfalls von hoher Bedeutung, da ich nach wie vor einige meiner Kommilitonen zu meinen engsten Freunden zählen darf.

Was ist Ihre schönste Erinnerung an Ihre Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School?

Die schönste Erinnerung habe ich an das professionelle und gleichzeitig freundschaftliche Verhältnis zwischen Professoren und Studentenschaft sowie mit diversen Dozenten, mit denen ich auch heute noch im Austausch stehe. An dieser Stelle sollten auch die Introduction Days, die Graduation und die guten Studenten Partys Erwähnung finden.

Welche Bedeutung haben Alumni für eine Hochschule? Was denken Sie können Alumni für ihre Hochschule tun?

Alumni spielen eine bedeutende Rolle für eine Hochschule. Sie sind letztendlich die Personen, die nach ihrer Studienzeit die Hochschule nach außen hin vertreten und repräsentieren. Darüber hinaus sollten Alumni den Netzwerkgedanken untereinander leben und ihn für die aktuellen Studenten erlebbar machen.

Was ist Ihr Lebensmotto?

"Work until you no longer have to introduce yourself" (Christian Audigier)

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen