call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

Darya Ramanava is 23 years old and comes from Minsk, Belarus. With a Bachelor Degree from the American University in Bulgaria and University of the Pacific in California, she moved to Frankfurt for her further education. She studied Master of Finance with the concentration in Corporate Finance. Using the lecture free periods for gaining more work experience, she started early building up her professional network. After graduating in 2015 she now works for Deutsche Bank in Group Management Consulting.

To what extent did your Master prepare you for the challenges of your current job? What did you find especially useful?

The Master of Finance Program at Frankfurt School provided me with a truly unique combination of academic as well as practical experience. First, diverse and case-study-oriented curriculum allowed me to build a skill set necessary for a successful career in management consulting. Moreover, the 3-day time model allowed me to pursue part-time working opportunities throughout the whole course of studies, which definitely gave me a great advantage during the search of full-time employment opportunities. In this way, the two-year enrollment in the study program provided me with strong academic background in corporate finance and, more importantly, allowed me to simultaneously gain experience in a number of prestigious companies such as Deloitte & Touche GmbH, Bankhaus Metzler and PricewaterhouseCoopers AG.

The flexibility and continuous support of the faculty body helped my initiative of cooperation with the Group Valuations Team at Deutsche Bank AG, in preparation of my master thesis. All in all, as a Master of Finance graduate I was well-prepared for the dynamic and challenging field of strategic consulting in the banking industry where I am currently working.

From today’s perspective, which meaning does your time as a student at Frankfurt School have for you?

I put immense value on my time at Frankfurt School for two main reasons. First, it made me well-prepared, academically, professionally and culturally, for the working environment in Germany which I saw as my ultimate goal about my enrollment in Master of Finance Program in the first place. Second, it allowed me to build a strong network which is also a great advantage for “after-student life” in Frankfurt.

What is your best memory of your time at Frankfurt School?

Although the program was highly demanding and not typical “student-like” given the amount of time invested into working parallel to studies, I have a bunch of pleasant memories about my time as a master student. The best ones are probably connected with the informal events in and outside the university with other international students. With International Frankfurt School Days and small get-togethers, the studying process and the whole time in Frankfurt was a lot of fun.

In your opinion, how important are alumni for a business school? What do you think alumni can do for their alma mater?

A strong alumni network plays an important role for any academic institution, especially for such an international university as Frankfurt School. In the first place, it allows current and prospective students to get easily into contact with a number of renowned companies during their studies. Apart from that, the “word of mouth” spread by FS alumni all over the world is the best way for Frankfurt School to continue building up its international reputation.

Do you have a motto?

Whatever happens happens for the best.

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen

call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

Darya Ramanava stammt aus Minsk, der Hauptstadt von Belarus. Mit einem Bachelor-Abschluss der Amerikanischen Universität in Bulgarien und der University of the Pacific in Kalifornien in der Tasche zog die heute 23-Jährige nach Frankfurt, um sich dort weiterzubilden. Sie schrieb sich an der Frankfurt School für den Studiengang Master of Finance mit der Vertiefung Corporate Finance ein. Die vorlesungsfreie Zeit nutzte sie, um praktische Erfahrung zu sammeln, und baute sich dabei schon früh ein berufliches Netzwerk auf. Im Jahr 2015 schloss sie ihr Studium erfolgreich ab und ist aktuell bei der Deutschen Bank im Group Management Consulting tätig.

Inwiefern hat Sie das Master-Studium auf die Anforderungen Ihrer derzeitigen Tätigkeit vorbereitet? Was war besonders nützlich?

Der Master of Finance an der Frankfurt School hat mir mit einem wirklich einzigartigen Lernmix nicht nur fundiertes akademisches, sondern auch praktisches Wissen vermittelt. Zunächst einmal konnte ich mir dank des vielseitigen, von Fallstudien geprägten Curriculums die erforderlichen Kompetenzen für eine erfolgreiche Karriere in der Unternehmensberatung aneignen. Zudem erlaubte mir das Drei-Tage-Modell während des ganzen Studiums parallele Teilzeit-Arbeit, was bei der späteren Suche nach einer Vollzeitstelle ein großer Vorteil war. So brachte mir der zweijährige Studiengang einerseits profunde Fachkenntnisse im Bereich Corporate Finance, vor allem aber war es mir auch möglich, gleichzeitig bei mehreren renommierten Unternehmen wie Deloitte & Touche GmbH, Bankhaus Metzler und PricewaterhouseCoopers AG Erfahrungen zu sammeln.

Die Flexibilität und kontinuierliche Unterstützung der Fakultätsmitglieder war bei meinem Projekt zur Zusammenarbeit mit dem Group Valuations Team bei der Deutschen Bank AG in der Vorbereitungsphase meiner Master-Thesis eine große Hilfe. Alles in allem war ich als Master of Finance-Absolventin gut vorbereitet auf das dynamische und anspruchsvolle Aufgabenfeld der strategischen Beratung im Bankensektor, wo ich derzeit tätig bin.

Welche Bedeutung hat Ihre Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School für Sie aus heutiger Sicht?

Meine Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School ist für mich von unschätzbarem Wert. Dafür gibt es zwei Hauptgründe: Erstens hat mich das Studium in akademischer, beruflicher und kultureller Hinsicht gut auf die deutsche Arbeitswelt vorbereitet – und genau das war bei Studienbeginn mein vorrangiges Ziel. Zweitens konnte ich mir dadurch ein starkes Netzwerk aufbauen, was auch für das Leben nach der Studienzeit in Frankfurt ein großes Plus darstellt.

Was ist Ihre schönste Erinnerung an Ihre Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School?

Das Studium stellte zwar hohe Anforderungen und war auch angesichts der Zeit für parallele Teilzeit-Arbeit nicht typisch „studentisch“ gestaltet, doch habe ich viele angenehme Erinnerungen an meine beiden Jahre als Master-Studierende. Die schönsten Momente hängen für mich wohl mit zwanglosen Veranstaltungen gemeinsam mit anderen internationalen Studierenden an und außerhalb der Hochschule zusammen. Die International Days der Frankfurt School und die Treffen im kleinen Rahmen haben das Studium und die Zeit in Frankfurt überhaupt zu einem vergnüglichen Erlebnis gemacht.

Welche Bedeutung haben Alumni für eine Hochschule? Was denken Sie können Alumni für ihre Hochschule tun?

An jeder Hochschule – und insbesondere an einer so international ausgerichteten Business School wie der FS –kommt einem starken Alumni-Netzwerk eine wichtige Funktion zu. In erster Linie ermöglicht es aktuellen sowie angehenden Studierenden, während des Studiums mit einer Reihe von namhaften Unternehmen Kontakt aufzunehmen. Davon abgesehen ist die Mundpropaganda der FS Alumni in aller Welt für die Frankfurt School der beste Weg, ihren internationalen Ruf weiter zu stärken.

Was ist Ihr Lebensmotto?

Alles geschieht zum Besten.

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen