call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

Jean-Jacques Moukoko is an Invest- ment Analyst at Ecobank Capital, the Investment Banking arm of the Ecobank Group, based in Central Africa. His office is based in Douala, Cameroon and its activities cover Cameroon, Gabon, Congo (Brazza- ville), Congo (Kinshasa), Chad, Central African Republic and Equatorial Guinea. As Jean-Jacques explains:

“My job consists of assisting in all Corporate Finance related transactions, including Project Finance, Structured Commodity and Trade Finance, Debt Capital Markets or Mergers & Acquisitions.

Specifically, I cover the full range of responsibilities pertaining to Corporate Finance which include but are not limited to: Preparation of marketing pitch books, financial models, information memorandums and teasers or detailed financial analysis.

The economy of Central Africa is quite dynamic thanks to the numerous strategic investment plans in which local governments engage. Therefore, we see more structured finance transactions in areas such as oil & gas, infrastructure, trade commodities, agribusiness or telecommunications. For such transactions I assist in executing fundraising and advisory mandates from origination to disbursement, administration of the funds raised. I also manage our Corporate Finance clients’ relationships.

My education prepared me perfectly for my current job and the Frankfurt School of Finance and Management provided me with the tools to express my potential.”

Why did you decide to enrol in the Master of Finance at Frankfurt School of Finance and Management?

I enrolled at Frankfurt School, because I was not satisfied with the level of my knowledge in business and finance, and I decided to give myself a second try in a different cultural setting, as I was coming from France. The Master of Finance programme covered all domains related to financial management with an apparent (and confirmed) thoroughness. Also, the German culture is known as structured, focused and result-driven. I decided to challenge myself in studying at one of the best finance schools in Europe and did not hesitate when I was offered the opportunity to enrol at Frankfurt School.

What is more, I wanted to study Development Finance, in order to acquire all the required skills to be an expert in Development Finance at the service of the African Continent. Thus, when I heard that the Master of Finance included a concentration in Development Finance, it was clearly an opened door for me.

To what extent has the study programme prepared you for the requirements of your current position at Ecobank Capital? Which knowledge or skills have been especially useful?

On the professional side I developed a strong economic and financial basis which helps me to conduct thorough and meticulous analyses works. I also developed a holistic approach which helps me to quickly understand and tackle the challenges of transactions end-to-end management and to solve specific issues with innovative ideas. The programme prepared me to acquire a global view of a specific topic to further conceptualise and materialise the solutions that can create more value for specific stakeholders.

On the personal side, I developed perseverance and the will to seek improvement. These are qualities that are important in business and finance.

From today’s perspective, which meaning does your time as a student at Frankfurt School have for you?

A great and successful experience! I set myself a goal when enrolling in the program and I am proud that I achieved it. It was like climbing a mountain; you endure, you are discouraged, it’s hard but you never make a step back, even if it seems to be unrealizable, you go for your goal, you fight for it and you reach the top!

What is your best memory of your time at Frankfurt School?

It was a new environment, a new challenge, a new culture, a new personal target and a face to face with my own limits. I enjoy organising myself, my discipline and my will. I met other people, with different cultural backgrounds and teachings during group assignments and entertainments. Each of those moments was particular and rich of lessons for me. I don’t really have a specific best time at Frankfurt School, because the complete journey was satisfying for me. And last but not least, I learned to play the guitar on my own.

In your opinion, how important are alumni for a business school? What do you think alumni can do for their alma mater?

Alumni are the legacy of a business school. A good school is only recognised as such through its students. Alumni should create a strong network around the world and intensify connections and exchanges between them. The clear fact is that students from Frankfurt School can easily be identified through the specificity of their capabilities. Consolidating a network would have a strong impact within the business and finance environment around the world.

Do you have a motto?

Don’t pray for an easy life, pray for the strength to endure a difficult one.

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen

call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

Jean-Jaques Moukoko arbeitet als Investment-Analyst bei Ecobank Capital, dem Investment-Banking-Arm der Ecobank-Group mit Sitz in Zentral- afrika. Sein Büro sitzt in Douala, Kamerun und betreut Projekte in Kamerun, Gabon, Kongo (Brazzaville), Kongo (Kinshasa), Tschad, der Zentralafrikanischen Republik, und Äquatorialguinea.

„Ich arbeite im Bereich Corporate Finance. Das reicht von Projektfinanzierung, über Structured Commodity und Trade Finance, zu Debt Capital Markets und Mergers und Acquisitions. Dazu gehören zum Beispiel das Vorbereiten von Marketing-Pitches oder Finanzierungsmodellen, Zusammenstellung von Memoranden, Teasern oder detaillierten Analysen“, berichtet Jean-Jaques.

„Die Wirtschaft in Zentralafrika ist sehr dynamisch, was an den zahlreichen strategischen Investitionsplänen der lokalen Regierungen liegt. Daher gibt es in Bereichen wie Gas und Öl, Infrastruktur, Handelsgüter, Landwirtschaft oder der Telekommunikation viele Structured Finance-Transaktionen. Bei diesen Transaktionen assistiere ich bei der gesamten Ausführung, des Fundraisings und der Beratungsmandate. Außerdem bin ich mitverantwortlich für die Verwaltung der eingenommenen Gelder, von der Einwerbung und Mandatierung bis zur Auszahlung. Zusätzlich bin ich für die Kundenbeziehungen im Bereich Corporate Finance zuständig“, so Jean-Jaques.

„Meine Ausbildung hat mich perfekt auf meine heutigen Aufgaben vorbereitet und die Frankfurt School hat maßgeblich dazu beigetragen, dass ich heute mit dem nötigen Handwerkszeug ausgestattet bin, um mein Potential voll zu entfalten.“

Warum habe Sie sich entschieden sich für den Master of Finance an der Frankfurt School zu bewerben?

Ich habe mich an der Frankfurt School beworben, weil mir mein Wissen im Bereich Betriebswirtschaft und Finance nicht ausreichte. Zusätzlich wollte ich mich noch einmal in einem ganz anderen kulturellen Kontext beweisen, ursprünglich komme ich aus einem französisch geprägten Kulturkreis. Der Master of Finance an der Frankfurt School hat dabei alle Aspekte in Bezug auf Finanzmanagement gründlich und tiefgreifend abgedeckt. Außerdem ist die deutsche Kultur bekannt für ihre Struktur, ihren Fokus und ihr Streben nach Ergebnissen. Ich wollte mich selbst mit dem Studium an einer der besten Business Schools in Europa beweisen und habe nicht gezögert die Herausforderung anzunehmen als ich die Möglichkeit bekam, hier mit dem Studium anzufangen.

Zusätzlich wollte ich Developmental Finance studieren, um notwenige Fähigkeiten zu erlernen, um mich als Experte im Bereich Entwicklungsfinanzierung zu qualifizieren. So kann ich etwas zum Fortschritt des Afrikanischen Kontinents beitragen. Als ich hörte, dass der Master of Finance an der Frankfurt School auch einen Schwerpunkt in Developmental Finance beinhaltet, war das wie eine offene Tür für mich.

Inwiefern hat Sie das Studium an der Frankfurt School auf die Anforderungen in Ihrer heutigen Position bei Ecobank Capital vorbereitet? Was war besonders nützlich?

Auf der professionellen Ebene habe ich mir eine starke betriebswirtschaftliche und Finance-Grundlage erarbeitet, die mir dabei hilft, gründliche und akkurate Analysen durchzuführen. Zusätzlich habe ich einen ganzheitlichen Ansatz entwickelt, der es mir ermöglicht, die Herausforderungen beim End-to-End-Management von Transaktionen zu meistern. Mein Studium hat mich darauf vorbereitet, mir einen globalen Blick auf spezielle Themen zu verschaffen, um die Lösungen zu finden, die für den einzelnen Stakeholder einen Mehrwert produzieren.

Auf der persönlichen Seite habe ich Durchhaltevermögen und den Willen mich zu verbessern entwickelt. Diese Eigenschaften sind im Wirtschafts- und Finance-Bereich enorm wichtig.

Aus heutiger Sicht, welche Bedeutung hat Ihre Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School für Sie?

Es war eine tolle und erfolgreiche Zeit. Ich habe mir selbst ein Ziel gesteckt, als ich mich für das Studium immatrikuliert habe, und ich bin stolz darauf, dass ich es erreicht habe. Es war als ob man einen Berg besteigt, du musst durchhalten, du wirst entmutigt, es ist hart – aber du machst nie einen Schritt zurück, obwohl es unrealistisch erscheint verfolgst du dein Ziel. Du kämpfst und du erreichst die Spitze. Das ist die Bedeutung meiner zweijährigen Studienzeit.

Was ist Ihre liebste Erinnerung an Ihr Studium an der Frankfurt School?

Es war eine neue Umgebung, eine neue Herausforderung, eine neue Kultur, ein neues persönliches Ziel – Angesicht zu Angesicht mit meinen eigenen Schwächen. Ich bin gerne organisiert, und lege Wert auf meinen Willen und meine Disziplin. Während der Gruppenarbeiten habe ich viele verschiedene Leute aus anderen Kulturkreisen kennengelernt. All diese Begegnungen waren für mich wertvolle Erfahrungen. Ich habe nicht wirklich einen einzigen speziellen Moment an der Frankfurt School, die ganze Reise hat sich für mich gelohnt. Und – last but not least – habe ich mir selbst das Gitarre-Spielen beigebracht.

Welche Bedeutung haben Alumni für eine Hochschule? Was denken Sie können Alumni für ihre Hochschule tun?

Alumni bilden das Vermächtnis einer Business School. Eine gute Hochschule ist nur so gut wie ihre Studenten. Alumni sollten überall auf der Welt ein enges Netzwerk bilden und ihre Verbindungen und den Austausch untereinander stärken. Man kann die Alumni der Frankfurt School an ihren speziellen Fähigkeiten erkennen. Ein engmaschiges Netzwerk könnte einen großen Einfluss in der Business- und Finance-Welt haben.

Was ist Ihr Lebensmotto?

Bete nicht für ein einfaches Leben, bete für die Stärke um auch ein Schwieriges auszuhalten.

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen