call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

Christine Teusen-Krapp (43) was awarded her degree in Business Administration by Frankfurt School in 2000. Following her graduation and a brief stint in the Corporate Finance division of a small investment bank, she quickly realised that she did not really fancy the idea of working in a bank for the next 40 years. Although a financial specialist to her fingertips, Christine Teusen-Krapp missed being directly involved with actual, tangible products. So in 2001, with a view to building her experience of basic finance in the real world, she started working for Deloitte in international industrial auditing. In May 2007, after an interlude spent working elsewhere, she joined Opel’s Accounting department as the Reporting team leader. Christine Teusen-Krapp has been working for Opel for nearly 10 years. For her, this was undoubtedly the best career-building step she could have taken. In very short order, she was put in charge of the Accounting function at Adam Open AG, a position that meant dealing with all kinds of general financial issues that went far beyond pure accounting.

These included the business-critical issues that in 2009, forced Opel to apply for state aid in the wake of the global financial crisis. Among other things, this involved sitting on the German Federal Government’s Guarantee Commission, alongside Opel’s CFO at the time.

Christine Teusen-Krapp regards herself more as a financial all-rounder than an accounting specialist as such. So she was keen to familiarise herself with and take responsibility for a range of other financial functions at Opel. Following a stint in European Pricing, where she was responsible for pricing in the German marketplace, she now works as Auto Finance Manager in the company’s Treasury department. Here, she is responsible for all Auto Finance activities on behalf of dealers and retail customers in Europe, and principally for the integration of the company’s captive bank, GM Financial. Christine Teusen-Krapp is married with one daughter, who is nearly four years old.

How well did your academic studies prepare you for the challenges of working life, up to and including your current job? What did you find especially useful?

My degree course at Frankfurt School gave me the business management expertise I’ve needed in all the positions I’ve held to date. But specialist knowledge is only one side of the coin. To take responsibility for more than 30 members of staff, you need additional qualifications, which I’ve been able to acquire in the course of my career. Here, I can say that the theoretical knowledge in particular, but also the practical know-how, that I gained while studying Corporate Culture & HR Management – one of the main subject areas in my degree course – have been extremely helpful. Even though I have to admit this wasn’t my favourite part of the course at the time! I’ve attended a number of management training courses organised by my employer, and every time I’ve found myself thinking: “This sounds very familiar…”

Looking back, how important was your time as a student at Frankfurt School in the greater scheme of things?

Working and studying in parallel taught me to tackle and prioritise my work in a disciplined way – and always look for solutions. I appreciated this as a major advantage over other degree courses, and the experience definitely had a very positive impact on my career. That’s why I would recommend this work-study approach to anyone who feels they can cope with the double workload.

What’s your favourite memory of your time at Frankfurt School?

I think I’d be lying if I didn’t mention the parties! But just as important was, I think, the great atmosphere among the students – as well as the friendly rapport with faculty staff. One thing that really impressed me was a chance meeting with a professor, who addressed me by name as we passed on a staircase just after I had returned from my semester abroad. And previously I’d only studied with him for one semester! Although it must be said, the business school was a lot smaller back then. I should add that a number of my fellow students are still among my closest friends.

How important are alumni for a business school?

Alumni are the business school’s representatives to the outside world, so by moving in professional circles, they can certainly help to enhance the university’s image.

Alongside my actual work, I’m also heavily involved in recruiting for the finance division. That’s why I’m trying, for example, to strengthen the collaboration between Opel and Frankfurt School. I’m hoping we’ll be able to recruit a number of Frankfurt School graduates over the next few years. Then they’ll be well-placed to further enhance Frankfurt School’s positive image in the industrial sector.

What’s your favourite motto?

Fight for the things that help you progress. Accept the things you can’t change. And let go of the things that get you down.

Contact

call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

Christine Teusen-Krapp (43) hat im Jahr 2000 ihren Diplom-Betriebswirt an der Frankfurt School of Finance & Management absolviert. Nach kurzer Tätigkeit im Corporate Finance einer kleinen Investmentbank stellte sie nach dem Studium sehr schnell fest, dass die Bank nicht der Bereich ist, in dem sie die nächsten 40 Jahre arbeiten möchte. Obwohl Christine Teusen-Krapp durch und durch Finanzerin ist, fehlte ihr der konkrete Bezug zu greifbaren Produkten. Um zunächst die Finanzbasics in der Praxis zu erlernen, stieg sie 2001 bei Deloitte in der internationalen Industrieprüfung ein. Nach einer weiteren Station startete sie im Mai 2007 bei Opel als Teamleiterin Reporting im Accounting. 

Heute ist Christine Teusen-Krapp seit fast 10 Jahren bei Opel. Dies war für sie definitiv der beste Schritt, den sie für ihre Karriere machen konnte. Schnell übernahm sie die Verantwortung fürs Accounting der Adam Opel AG und hatte in dieser Funktion mit vielen allgemeinen Finanzthemen eines Automobilunternehmens zu tun, die weit über das reine Accounting hinausgehen.

Dazu gehörten auch die kritischen Themen, die Opel im Rahmen der Krise 2009 dazu gezwungen haben, Staatsmittel zu beantragen. So war sie unter anderem mit dem damaligen CFO im Bürgschaftsausschuss der Bundesregierung. 

Da sich Christine Teusen-Krapp eher als Finanz-Generalist denn als Accounting-Spezialist sieht, wollte sie auch andere Funktionen im Finanzbereich bei Opel kennenlernen und verantworten. Nach Stationen im europäischen Pricing und der Verantwortung des Pricing für den deutschen Markt ist sie derzeit als Manager Auto Finance im Treasury zuständig für alle Auto Finance Themen (Händler- und Endkundenfinanzierung) in Europa, im Wesentlichen die Integration der Captive Bank GM Financial. Christine Teusen-Krapp ist verheiratet und hat eine knapp vierjährige Tochter. 

Inwiefern hat Sie das Studium auf die Anforderungen Ihrer bisherigen und aktuellen Tätigkeit vorbereitet? Was war besonders nützlich?

Das Studium hat mir die betriebswirtschaftlichen Kenntnisse vermittelt, die ich in allen meinen bisherigen Positionen benötigt habe. Aber nicht nur die fachliche Seite ist hier von Bedeutung. Die Personalverantwortung von mehr als 30 Mitarbeitern erfordert weitere Qualifikationen, die ich mir über vorige Karriereschritte erarbeiten konnte. Somit kann ich bestätigen, dass mir hier insbesondere die theoretischen, aber auch die praktischen Kenntnisse aus dem Hauptfach Unternehmenskultur & Personalführung sehr weitergeholfen haben (auch wenn ich zugebe, dass dies sicherlich nicht mein Lieblingsfach im Studium war). So saß ich schon in einigen Führungstrainings meines Arbeitsgebers und dachte mir: „Das hast du alles schon mal irgendwie gehört.“

Welche Bedeutung hat Ihre Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School für Sie aus heutiger Sicht?

Das berufsintegrierte Studium hat mich gelehrt, strukturiert Aufgaben anzugehen, zu priorisieren und lösungsorientiert zu handeln. Dies habe ich als großen Vorteil gegenüber anderen Studiengängen kennengelernt, diese Erfahrung hat meine Karriere definitiv sehr positiv beeinflusst. Deshalb würde ich ein solches Studienkonzept jedem empfehlen, der sich diese Doppelbelastung zutraut.

Was ist Ihre schönste Erinnerung an Ihre Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School?

Ich glaube es wäre gelogen, wenn ich jetzt nicht „die Partys“ sagen würde. Mindestens genauso wichtig finde ich jedoch die tolle Atmosphäre zwischen den Studierenden, aber auch das Verhältnis zu den Professoren. Ein Ereignis, das mich echt beeindruckt hat, war die Begegnung mit einem Professor, der mich nach dem Auslandssemester im Vorbeilaufen auf der Treppe mit Namen angesprochen hat – obwohl ich ihn vorher nur ein Semester als Dozent hatte! Dazu muss man sagen: natürlich war die Hochschule damals noch kleiner. Weiterhin darf ich heute noch einige Kommilitonen zu meinen engsten Freunden zählen.

Welche Bedeutung haben Alumni für eine Hochschule? Was denken Sie können Alumni für ihre Hochschule tun?

Alumni sind Repräsentanten der Hochschule nach außen. Somit können sie sicherlich im professionellen Umfeld zum Image einer Hochschule beitragen. 
Neben meinem eigentlichen Job bin ich auch viel mit dem Rekruiting im Finanzbereich beschäftigt. So versuche ich zum Beispiel derzeit die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Opel und der Frankfurt School auszubauen. Ich hoffe, dass wir in den nächsten Jahren einige Absolventen der Frankfurt School rekrutieren können, die somit auch in der Industrie dafür sorgen, das positive Image der Frankfurt School weiter zu steigern.

Was ist Ihr Lebensmotto?

Kämpfe um das, was dich weiter bringt. Akzeptiere das, was du nicht ändern kannst. Und trenne dich von dem, was dich runterzieht.

Kontakt