call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

"Building Bridges"

Building Bridges is a project that aims to find common themes in major religions, to highlight what links us to “the other”, “the different”, “the foreigner”. In a world full of wars and fear, these messages offer ideas for building bridges, solidarity, common languages, shared values and especially peace. The title is taken from the words of Pope Francis, who has repeatedly stated the need to build bridges, not walls, to face the problems of the contemporary world. Eleonora Esse rediscovers simple, powerful and universal codes, recognisable by all. Words, lights, colors are primordial symbols and convey immediate messages even to the most heterogeneous public. Three messages, centered on essential values, are shown as LED signs and placed at a location where the notion of value - in a literal or figurative sense - is the center of activities: The Frankfurt School of Finance & Management.

Charity today is a duty for any human being who has more than enough for himself. There are no excuses. It is a sad fact that someone dies of hunger or hunger-related causes every ten seconds ( Charity is an essential practice for Christians; for Jews, to whom the Torah prescribes giving 10% of one’s annual income to righteous deeds or causes; for Muslims, for whom the "Zakat" (charity) is one of the five pillars of their religion. The practice of charity is called Dāna in Hinduism, Buddhism and Jainism.

Humanity is weak and vulnerable, no matter where you are on the social scale and what your income is. The concept of Mercy appears in most religions including Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Chivalry and Hinduism.

To try to abstain from sin gives joy, maybe not immediately, but in the longer term. The use of the term "saint" is not exclusive to Christianity. Many religions have similar concepts, referring to people who fulfilled the highest aspirations of religious teaching within their tradition. All these models of spiritual perfection are deeply linked to true and durable joy.

More information on "Building Bridges"

The Artist

Eleonora Esse

Eleonora Sgaravatti is an Italian artist and curator, born and raised in Rome. After earning a degree in Art and Cinema Studies at the University of Rome and completing a course in curating practices, she organised and curated contemporary art exhibitions, “Outart 2004” and “Outart 2006”, in public and private spaces. She also managed Spazio Punctum, a non-profit art space in Rome for two years where she promoted young artists.

Her artistic inspiration lies in her desire to express Christian values in a contemporary and visual way. Catalysed by her personal conversion to Christianity and by the realisation that there was a lack of such themes in the modern art world, she created and exhibited her first artwork, Nuova Era (New Era) under the pseudonym of Eleonora Esse. This same artwork inspired the historic RAM Radioartemobile gallery in Rome to name their coming exhibition of Luigi Ontani, Emilio Prini, Vettor Pisani, with the same title “Nuova Era”, where she was invited to write an exhibition introduction.

She has also presented L’albero della vita (The tree of life) in the public square of Piazza Capranica, Rome, in 2009.

She then took a break from art, having the need of exploring other aspects of herself - in particular her relationship with children. After earning a Montessori diploma in childhood education, she moved to Stockholm where she worked for five years as a Montessori pre-school teacher and where her two daughters were born.

For personal reasons, she moved to Frankfurt in January 2017, where she lives with her family. Thanks to the joy and strength that motherhood has given her, she has started working again in the art world. She is currently working on charity and intercultural issues, using LED lights, luminous paint, plexiglass, and photography. 

instagram: elesgara
facebook: eleonora sgaravatti

About Luminale

The Luminale is a biennale for light art and has been held in Frankfurt every other year since 2010. Light art lights up public and private buildings in Frankfurt. In recent years more than 200 projects have been exhibited and attracted almost 180.000 visitors. Since 2017 the art festival is organised by Luminale e.V. More information at

The Venue

Frankfurt School of Finance & Management is one of Europe’s leading business schools. In autumn 2017 the business school opened its new campus in Frankfurt's Adickesalle. The campus was build according to the architectural design of Henning Larsen Architects.

The clean, Scandinavian design by Danish architectural firm Henning Larsen has also turned the campus into an architectural icon for the City of Frankfurt. The five offset tower blocks are connected by a canyon-like mall. Via this “Zeil of Knowledge”, students can reach all key parts of the campus.

In front of the building, five mini-landscapes portray the continents of Africa, America, Asia, Australia and Europe. The groups of trees and shrubs reflect the international spirit of Frankfurt School and its students, who come from all over the world. The interior décor of the five tower blocks picks up on this theme – each building’s wall decoration symbolises one of the five continents.

call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

"Building Bridges"

Building Bridges ist ein Projekt von Eleonora Esse mit dem Ziel, Gemeinsamkeiten in den großen Religionen zu finden und dabei Elemente hervorzuheben, die uns mit “den Anderen”, “dem Andersartigen”, “dem Fremden” verbinden. In einer Welt voller Kriege und Furcht, bieten diese Botschaften Ideen wie Solidarität, gemeinsame Sprachen, geteilte Werte und vor allem Frieden, um Brücken zu bauen. Der Titel wurde von Papst Franziskus inspiriert, der wiederholt gesagt hat, dass man Brücken und nicht Mauern bauen soll, wenn man die Probleme in der Welt angehen will. Eleonora Esse arbeitet mit einfachen, kraftvollen und universellen Codes. Worte, Lichter und Farben sind ursprüngliche Symbole und vermitteln direkte Botschaften, selbst für das heterogenste Publikum. Drei Botschaften, basierend auf diesen grundsätzlichen Werten, werden in Form von LED-Objekten vermittelt und an einem Ort ausgestellt, wo Wert – im wortwörtlichen wie im übertragenen Sinne – im Fokus steht: Der Frankfurt School of Finance & Management.

WOHLTÄTIGKEIT IST UNSERE PFLICHT
Heutzutage ist Wohltätigkeit eine Pflicht für jeden Menschen, der mehr als genug (für sich) besitzt. Es gibt keine Ausflüchte. Es ist eine traurige Tatsache, dass alle zehn Sekunden ein Mensch an Hunger oder durch von Hunger bedingten Gründen stirbt (poverty.com). Wohltätigkeit ist eine essentielle Aufgabe für Christen; für Juden, denen die Thora vorschreibt, dass sie 10% ihres jährlichen Einkommens für wohltätige Zwecke spenden sollen; für Moslems, bei denen die Zakat (soziale Abgabe) eine der fünf Säulen ihrer Religion ist.  Die Ausübung von Wohltätigkeit wird im Hinduismus, Buddhismus und Jainismus Dāna genannt.

WIR BRAUCHEN ALLE BARMHERZIGKEIT
Der Mensch ist schwach und verletzlich, egal wo er sich auf der sozialen Leiter befindet und über welches Einkommen man verfügt. Das Konzept der Barmherzigkeit findet man in den meisten Religionen, unter anderem im Christentum, Judentum, Islam, Rittertum und Hinduismus.

DER WEG ZU FREUDE/GLÜCKSELIGKEIT IST HEILIGKEIT
Nicht zu sündigen bringt Freude/Glückseligkeit, vielleicht nicht unmittelbar, aber langfristig. Die Verwendung des Begriffes des „Heiligen“ ist nicht exklusiv auf das Christentum beschränkt. Viele Religionen haben ähnliche Konzepte, die sich auf Menschen beziehen, die ihre höchsten Ambitionen in Bezug auf die religiösen Lehren innerhalb ihrer Traditionen erfüllt haben. Alle diese Formen der spirituellen Perfektion sind zutiefst mit wahrer und dauerhafter Freude verbunden.

Weitere Informationen des Projekts von Eleonora Esse finden Sie auf den Seiten der Lumniale.

Die Künstlerin

Eleonora Esse

Eleonora Sgaravatti ist eine italienische Künstlerin und Kuratorin, die in Rom geboren und aufgewachsen ist. Nach ihrem Abschluss in Kunst- und Theaterwissenschaften an der Universität Rom sowie einer Weiterbildung zum Kuratieren organisierte und kuratierte sie "Outart 2004" und "Outart 2006", zwei Ausstellungen zu zeitgenössischer Kunst, im öffentlichen und privaten Raum. Sie koordinierte außerdem für zwei Jahre den gemeinnützigen Kunstraum Spazio Punctum in Rom, wo sie junge Künstler förderte.

Ihr künstlerische Inspiration liegt in dem Wunsch, christliche Werte in zeitgenössischer und visueller Art auszudrücken. Ihre eigene Konversion zum Christentum und die geringe Aufmerksamkeit für christlichen Themen in der moderne Kunstwelt, brachten die Künstlerin dazu, ihre erste eigene Austellung Nouva Era (New Era) unter dem Pseudonym Eleonora Esse auszurichten. Für die Austtellung von Luigi Ontani, Emilio Prini and Vettor Pisani in der historischen RAM Radioartemobile Galerie in Rom 2007 schrieb sie eine Einleitung.

2009 präsentierte Eleonora L'alberto della vita (Der Baum des Lebens) auf dem öffentlichen Platz Piazza Capranica in Rom.

Anschließend entschloss sie sich, eine Auszeit von der Kunst zu nehmen und neue Aspekte ihrer selbst zu erkunden, insbesondere die Beziehung zu Kindern. Nachdem sie einen Montessori Abschluss in frühkindlicher Erziehung machte, zog sie nach Stockholm, wo sie fünf Jahre als Montessori Vorschullehrerin arbeitete und zwei Töchter zur Welt brachte.

Aus persönlichen Gründen zog sie im Januar 2017 nach Frankfurt am Main, wo sie mit ihrer Familie lebt. Dank der Kraft, die ihr das Muttersein gab, begann sie wieder mit der Kunst. Aktuell arbeitet sie an Woltätigkeits- und interkulturellen Themen, für die sie LED Lichter, Leuchtfarbe, Plexiglas und Fotografie einsetzt.

Instagram: elesgara
Facebook: eleonora sgaravatti

Über die Luminale

Die Luminale ist eine Biennale für Lichtkunst und findet seit 2010 alle zwei Jahre in Frankfurt am Main statt. In der Stadt werden während der Luminale Lichtkunstwerke an öffentliche und private Gebäuden installiert. Künstler, Architekten und Designer zeigen damit, wie sich Gebäude und Räume in Abhängigkeit vom eingesetzen Licht verändern. Zuletzt wurden es über 200 Projekte in der ganzen Stadt ausgestellt, die rund 180.000 Besucher anzogen. Sei 2017 organisiert der gemeinnützige Luminale e.V. das Lichtfest. Mehr Informationen finden Sie unter www.luminale-frankfurt.de

Der Ausstellungsort

Die Frankfurt School of Finance & Management ist eine forschungsstarke Wirtschaftshochschule. Seit Herbst 2017 hat sie ihren Sitz an der Adickesallee im Frankfurter Nordend. Beim Bau des neuen Campus wurde der Entwurf des dänischen Büros Henning Larsen Architects, das den internationalen Architektenentwurf gewann, verfolgt.

Mit dem klarem skandinavischem Design ist der Campus architektonisch ein Leuchtturm der Stadt Frankfurt. Die fünf verschobenen Türme werden von einer canyonartigen Mall verbunden. In dieser Zeil des Wissens können die Studierenden alle wichtigen Elemente des Campus erreichen.

Im Garten vor dem Campus stellen fünf Landschaftsbilder die Kontinente Afrika, Amerika, Asien, Australien und Europa dar. Die Baumgruppen zeigen die Internationalität der Frankfurt School und ihrer Studierenden, die aus der ganzen Welt kommen, an. Auch die Innengestaltung der fünf Türme greift dieses Thema wieder auf, denn die Wandgestaltung symbolisiert je einen Kontinent.

Kontakt