call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image
The new big growth area 

Entrepreneurship and the Start-up commmunity are the new big growth area in Germany in general and in Frankfurt in particular. The city of Frankfurt used to be known only as one of europe's key financial hubs, but in the last decade has seen rapid growth in a range of different industries with the start-up community at the forefront. 

Frankfurt School has found itself as a leader in this movement as more and more graduates launch start-ups or join more established entrepreneurial ventures. As a result, the entrepreneurial mindset and the necessary skills have become embedded in the education provided at all levels, from professional and executive education to the curriculum of Masters and MBA programmes to academic research in Fintech and Blockchain technology. 

Find out more about how you can become involved in Entrepreneurship@FS!

#FrankfurtLabs

A breeding ground for innovation

The Frankfurt Labs are for those ready to prepare for the future by acquiring key competencies and master new technologies.

The Labs were created to establish an ecosystem of innovation in the Rhein-Main area and is based on lean start-up principles and concepts from software development. 

Room for ideas at the new campus

Room for ideas at the new campus

Room for ideas at the new campus

Room for ideas at the new campus

On our new campus we provide space and a creative meeting point for people of different backgrounds, knowledge and strengths: students, alumni, executives, managers, freelancers, and members of the local tech community. This creates a breeding ground for innovation and a platform for exchange and joint venture.

In workshops we provide tools that will be essential in the future. In addition, participants have access to our network of partners which include well-known technology companies and educational institutions. We want to accommodate the start-ups of tomorrow from day one by equipping them from the start with valuable tools.

Contact

Entrepreneurship for Bachelors

Entrepreneurship Project 

During the summer semester 2017 Bachelor students of Frankfurt School of Finance & Management could participate in the new course “Entrepreneurship Project” to foster their entrepreneurial spirit. Professor Dr Florian Ellsaesser, Dr Werner Jackstädt Assistant Professor of International Entrepreneurship at Frankfurt School, who has already founded several enterprises, supervises the project.

Students, who are in the second semester of the Bachelor of Science in Business Administration at Frankfurt School, come up with a business model based on the Lean Startup Methodology within the six week course. The goal is not a complex business plan but an idea which is cost-efficient and easy to generate in practice. 

More Less

Hence, the students developed a prototype and tried to sell it to potential customers. The teams, consisting of four to five students, learned what the market needs and which ideas can actually be implemented. As investment capital each team received 100 euros from Frankfurt School.

Before the students started with their own projects, Professor Dr Florian Ellsaesser explained the most important methods for the systematic implementation and testing of business ideas. He is pleased about the students’ huge motivation: “The students’ spirit was impressive. Every single team was capable of transforming an idea into a new product within six weeks and to sell it.”

During the process the versed founders Carsten Lebtig (Test.io, Sanubi) and Florens Knorr (Acao, Pando Ventures) helped the students. They shared their own experiences of developing successful business ideas. Also, the entrepreneurs supported the students in giving in-depth feedback.

Digital Innovation & Fintech

Since winter semester 2016/17, the Frankfurt School offers a new specialization "Digital Innovation and Fintech" within the Bachelor degree in Business Administration.

Students will complete the core curriculum of the Bachelor of Business Administration, as well as twelve modules of the course: Introduction to Programming, Digital Entrepreneurship, Information Systems Engineering, Databases and Data Management, Business Law, Web Architecture and Management, App Development, Information Management, Analytics and Big Data, New Technologies, Digital Business and IT Security. The twelfth module is a practice project.

A further four modules in the 6th and 7th semesters will be selected by the students from a pool of related electives (there are currently about 45 modules on offer). The Bachelor thesis is written in the 7th semester and students spend their fifth semester abroad.

Contact

Entrepreneurship for MBAs

Capstone Course: Entrepreneurial Management

Courses in entrepreneurship and entrepreneurial management have gained popularity in business schools everywhere, but it is not clear just what should be taught and how. In contrast to accounting, for example, entrepreneurship lacks a defined technical base or discipline.

Moreover, individuals and organizations ranging from street vendors to transnational corporations all espouse entrepreneurial activity, which suggests that the topic should permeate all of business education. What can the focus of a special course on innovation and entrepreneurship possibly be?

More Less

Historically, some MBA and EMBA students have had an innate desire to run their own businesses, but many of those who didn't often turned to entrepreneurship after they confronted the realities of a pyramidal corporate world.

Further, it is widely recognized that even the future leaders of large business corporations must have an entrepreneurial mindset, in order to create the growth engines that will provide sustainable growth opportunities to their organizations.

This course will provide an overview of innovation and entrepreneurship that will help entrepreneurs in independent start-ups as well as large corporations pursue new business opportunities.

The Entrepreneurial Business Plan (Full-time MBA)

An EBP is a comprehensive business plan for the establishment and start-up phase of a new enterprise/initiative, according to a set format, developed by one to three MBA students.

At FS, it constitutes one of three possible options within the MBA programmes' master thesis.

The Ethics & Entrepreneurship module (Executive MBA)

During this module, course participants explore the ethical conditions under which businesses must operate and their corresponding room for manoeuvre. Based on the social structures and expectations of all stakeholders involved, the module examines how entrepreneurial decisions are made and how companies position themselves with respect to, for example, corporate social responsibility.

Also, the course is intended to provide students with an introduction to entrepreneurship. To achieve this, the course will be based on lectures and readings that illustrate the development of an idea from opportunity recognition through start up to the stage when outside money is needed. 

Blockchain Center

The Frankfurt School Blockchain Center is a think tank and research center which investigates implications of the blockchain technology for companies and their business models. Besides the development of prototypes, it serves as a platform for manager, start-ups, technology and industry experts to share knowledge and best practices. The Blockchain Center also provides new research impulses and develops trainings for students and executives. It focuses on banking, mobility, “Industrie 4.0” and the energy sector.

CREAM

The Centre for Research on Entrepreneurship and Mittelstand (CREAM) deals with the secrets to success for German SMEs and their application to global companies. The Frankfurt School aims to create a platform on which all actors, both nationally and internationally, find solutions for their success. Young researchers, start-up funding, training and application-oriented research are all closely related.

Entrepreneurial mindset and skills

Skills in entrepreneurial thinking are assumed by specialists and executives in almost all corporate areas and represent an important competitive factor. Only with current business management and economic knowledge are you in a position to make the right business decisions when faced with multifaceted day-to-day issues.

Our training courses and series of seminars give you the necessary business and economic knowledge, technical terms and economic contexts with a practical orientation.

Frankfurter Gründerfonds

Frankfurter Gründerfonds emerged from an initiative going back to 2008 by various players in Frankfurt who recognised the fact that the financing of start-ups without a company history is a gap in the widely diversified funding jungle.

Over the past five or six years, the landscape for microfinancing and small loans in Germany has changed. It was recognised that instruments of microfinancing can be appropriate to counter market failure and to push forward business start-ups with low capital requirements.

The Frankfurter Gründerfonds supports company founders and young companies based in Frankfurt am Main which have not been on the market for more than five years with a loan requirement of between EUR 2,500 and EUR 50,000. Frankfurt School Financial Services GmbH (FSFS) supports and examines business concepts for their market prospects in several contacts (by telephone and in person), passes on recommendations for guarantees to Bürgschaftsbank Hessen, and conducts quarterly business checks with founders and young companies during the term of the loan.

call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image
Neue Wachstumsbranchen

Entrepreneurship und die Start-up-Szene sind die neuen großen Wachstumsbranchen in Deutschland und vor allem in Frankfurt. Bisher ist die Stadt weitestgehend als Europas Finanzzentrum bekannt, aber in den letzten zehn Jahren sind in Frankfurt eine Reihe von neuen Branchen entstanden – mit der Start-up-Community an der Spitze.

Die Frankfurt School hat sich bereits als eine der führenden Institutionen in dieser Bewegung etabliert, da immer mehr Absolventen Start-ups gründen oder aussichtsreichen unternehmerischen Initiativen beitreten. Durch diese Veränderungen hat auch die Frankfurt School ihre Lehrpläne und Lehrprogramme an die zunehmenden Bedürfnisse der Gründerszene angepasst. So finden sich in den Master- und MBA-Programmen zunehmend Lerninhalte aus den Bereichen Fintech und Unternehmensgründung.

Informieren Sie sich und werden Sie ein Teil von Entrepreneurship@FS!

#FrankfurtLabs

Nährboden für Innovation

Die Frankfurt Labs sind gedacht für neugierige Menschen, die sich für die Zukunft wappnen wollen, indem sie sich schon heute Schlüsselkompetenzen aneignen und neue Technologien zu beherrschen lernen.

Sie sind kreativer Treffpunkt für Studierende, Alumni, Führungskräfte, Manager, Freiberufler und Mitglieder der lokalen Tech-Community. In gemischten Kleingruppen können erlernte Skills direkt an verschiedenen Projekten getestet und angewandt werden.

Räumlichkeiten auf dem neuen Campus

Räumlichkeiten auf dem neuen Campus

Räumlichkeiten auf dem neuen Campus

Räumlichkeiten auf dem neuen Campus

Auf unserem neuen Campus schaffen wir 800 m² Platz für die Frankfurt Labs - mit allem, was das Gründerherz begehrt. Wir wollen die Start-ups von Morgen vom ersten Tag an begleiten und ihnen wertvoller Werkzeuge an die Hand geben.

Unter anderem bieten wir den Zugang zu unserem Partnernetzwerk, in welchem namhafte Technologieunternehmen, Institutionen und Bildungseinrichtungen vertreten sind.

Die Frankfurt Labs bauen selbst auf schlanken Start-up-Prinzipien und Konzepten der Softwareentwicklung auf. Kernidee ist es, ein lokales Ökosystem für Innovation und zukünftiges Lernen im Rhein-Main-Gebiet zu etablieren.

Kontakt

Entrepreneurship in den Bachelor-Programmen

Gründer-Kurs

Im Sommersemester 2017 konnten Bachelor-Studierende der Frankfurt School of Finance & Management erstmals an dem neuen Kurs „Entrepreneurship Project“ teilnehmen und so ihren Gründergeist wecken. Betreut wird das Projekt von Professor Dr. Florian Ellsaesser, Dr. Werner Jackstädt Assistant Professor für International Entrepreneurship an der Frankfurt School, der selbst bereits mehrere Unternehmen gegründet hat.

In dem Seminar sollten die Studierenden, die im zweiten Semester des Studiengangs Bachelor of Science in Business Administration studieren, innerhalb von sechs Wochen ein Geschäftsmodell nach dem Lean Start-up Prinzip entwickeln und testen. Dabei geht es nicht darum, einen möglichst komplexen Business Plan zu erstellen, sondern eine Geschäftsidee möglichst kostengünstig und einfach zu verwirklichen, um diese dann auf ihre Durchführbarkeit zu testen.

Mehr Weniger

Die Studierenden entwickelten also eine Art Prototyp und versuchten diesen direkt an Kunden zu verkaufen. So lernten die Teams aus vier bis fünf Studierenden, was der Markt braucht und welche Ideen tatsächlich umsetzbar sind. Als Investitionskapital erhielt jedes Team hundert Euro von der Frankfurt School.

Bevor die Studierenden mit ihren eigenen Projekten starteten, erläuterte Professor Florian Ellsaesser die wichtigsten Methoden für das systematische Umsetzen und Testen von Geschäftsideen. Er freut sich über die große Motivation der Studierenden: „Der Geist der Studenten hat mich beeindruckt. Jedes der Teams hat es geschafft innerhalb von sechs Wochen von einer ersten Idee zu einem Produkt zu kommen und dieses zu verkaufen.“

Dabei halfen auch die beiden erfahrenen Gründer Carsten Lebtig (Test.io, Sanubi) und Florens Knorr (Acao, Pando Ventures), die die Studierenden an ihren Erfahrungen bei der Entwicklung von erfolgreichen Geschäftsideen teilhaben ließen und den Teams Feedback für ihre Ideen und Präsentationen gaben.

Digital Innovation & Fintech

Seit dem Wintersemester 2016/17 bietet die Frankfurt School die neue Spezialisierung "Digital Innovation and Fintech" in ihrem Bachelor-Studiengang in Business Administration an. 

Die Studierenden absolvieren das Kerncurriculum des BWL-Bachelor sowie zwölf Module der Vertiefung: Einführung in die Programmierung, Digital Entrepreneurship, Information Systems Engineering, Datenbanken und Datenmanagement, Wirtschaftsprivatrecht, Web Architecture and Management, App Development, Informationsmanagement, Analytics and Big Data, New Technologies, Digital Business and IT Security. Das zwölfte Modul ist ein Praxisprojekt. 

Weitere vier Module im 6. und 7. Semester wählen die Studierenden aus dem Themenpool des Hauptstudiums (derzeit etwa 45 Module im Angebot). Ferner wird im 7. Semester die Bachelor-Thesis geschrieben. Das 5. Semester verbringen die Studierenden im Ausland.

Kontakt

Entrepreneurship in den MBA-Programmen

Capstone Course: Entrepreneurial Management

Kurse im Bereich Entrepreneurship und unternehmerische Führung haben an Wirtschaftshochschulen überall an Popularität gewonnen – es ist jedoch nicht ganz klar, was unterrichtet werden sollte und wie. Im Gegensatz zum Rechnungswesen, beispielsweise, gibt es beim Unternehmertum keine definierte technische Grundlage oder Disziplin.

Darüber hinaus ist es so, dass Privatpersonen und Organisationen – von Straßenhändlern bis hin zu transnationalen Konzernen – der unternehmerischen Tätigkeit eine hohe Priorität einräumen. Das bedeutet, dass das Thema die gesamte Wirtschaftspädagogik prägen sollte. Was könnte im Mittelpunkt eines speziellen Kurses zum Thema Innovation und Unternehmertum stehen?

Mehr Weniger

Historisch gesehen haben einige MBA- und EMBA-Studierende den angeborenen Wunsch, ihr eigenes Unternehmen zu gründen, aber viele von denen, bei denen es nicht der Fall war, wandten sich häufig der unternehmerischen Tätigkeit zu, nachdem sie die Realität der pyramidenförmigen Geschäftswelt erlebt hatten.

Ferner sind sich die Meisten darüber einig, dass selbst die zukünftigen Geschäftsführer großer Konzerne eine unternehmerische Denkweise an den Tag legen sollten, um die Wachstumsmotoren zu schaffen, mit denen sich ein nachhaltiges Wachstum ihrer Organisationen gewährleisten lässt.

Der Kurs wird einen Überblick über die Innovation und den Unternehmergeist bieten, der sowohl Menschen mit ihren eigenen unabhängigen Start-ups, als auch großen Konzernen dabei helfen wird, neue Geschäftsmöglichkeiten zu erschließen.

Der Business Plan (Full-time MBA)

Ein unternehmerischer Wirtschaftsplan ist ein umfassender Plan für die Gründungs- und die Anfangsphase eines neuen Unternehmens oder einer neuen Initiative. Dieser wird von einem bis drei MBA-Studierenden unter Berücksichtigung eines vorgegebenen Formats entwickelt.

Bei FS stellt er eine der drei möglichen Optionen für die im Rahmen der MBA-Programme zu verfassende Master Thesis.

Das Ethics & Entrepreneurship Modul (Executive MBA)

Im Rahmen dieses Moduls beschäftigen sich die Kursteilnehmer mit den ethischen Bedingungen, die Unternehmen erfüllen müssen, und den Spielraum, der ihnen dabei bleibt. Basierend auf den sozialen Strukturen und den Erwartungen aller beteiligten Stakeholder wird dabei untersucht, wie Geschäftsentscheidungen getroffen werden und was für Verhalten Unternehmen beispielsweise im Hinblick auf die soziale Unternehmensverantwortung an den Tag legen.

Darüber hinaus bietet der Kurs Studierenden eine Einführung in die unternehmerische Tätigkeit. Er basiert auf Vorlesungen und Vorträgen, die die Entwicklung einer Idee verdeutlichen, wobei zuerst die Geschäftsmöglichkeit erkannt wird, dann ein Unternehmen gegründet wird – bis hin zur Phrase, wenn Geldmittel von außerhalb benötigt werden. 

Blockchain Center

Das Frankfurt School Blockchain Center ist eine Denkfabrik und ein Forschungszentrum, wo die Konsequenzen der Blockchain-Technologie für Unternehmen und ihre Geschäftsmodelle untersucht werden. Neben der Entwicklung von Prototypen dient es als Plattform für Manager, Start-ups, Technologie- und Industrieexperten, wo sie Wissen und ihre Best Practices austauschen können. Das Blockchain Center bietet auch neue Forschungsimpulse und entwickelt Bildungsprogramme für Studierende und Führungskräfte. Im Mittelpunkt steht das Banking, die Mobilität, „Industrie 4.0“ und der Energiesektor.

CREAM

Das Centre for Research on Entrepreneurship and Mittelstand (CREAM) wird sich mit den „Geheimnissen” des Erfolgs des deutschen Mittelstands und deren Applikation auf globale Unternehmen beschäftigen. Die Frankfurt School will eine Plattform schaffen, auf der alle Akteuere national wie international Impulse und Lösungen für ihren Erfolg finden. Dabei greifen Nachwuchsförderung, Gründungsfinanzierung, Aus- und Weiterbildung und anwendungsorientierte Forschung eng ineinander.

Unternehmerisch Denken und Handeln

Fähigkeiten für unternehmerisches Denken werden von Fach- und Führungskräften in nahezu allen Unternehmensbereichen vorausgesetzt und stellen einen wichtigen Wettbewerbsfaktor dar. Nur mit aktuellen BWL- und VWL-Kenntnissen sind Sie in der Lage, bei den facettenreichen täglichen Fragestellungen die richtigen Unternehmensentscheidungen zu treffen.

Unsere Trainings und Seminarreihen vermitteln Ihnen praxisnah die notwendigen betriebs- und volkswirtschaftlichen Kenntnisse, Fachbegriffe und wirtschaftlichen Zusammenhänge.

Frankfurter Gründerfonds

Der Frankfurter Gründerfonds ist aus einer bis ins Jahr 2008 zurückreichenden Initiative verschiedenster Akteure in Frankfurt heraus entstanden, die erkannt haben, dass die Finanzierung von Gründern ohne Unternehmenshistorie eine Lücke im weit diversifizierten Förderdschungel darstellt.

Im Laufe der vergangenen fünf bis sechs Jahre hat sich die Landschaft für Mikrofinanzierung bzw. Kleinkreditvergabe in Deutschland verändert. Man hat erkannt, dass Instrumente der Mikrofinanzierung geeignet sein können, dem Marktversagen entgegenzutreten und Existenzgründungen mit geringem Kapitalbedarf anzuschieben.

Der Frankfurter Gründerfonds unterstützt Gründer/innen und junge Unternehmen, die nicht länger als fünf Jahre am Markt sind mit Unternehmenssitz in Frankfurt am Main mit einem Kreditbedarf zwischen EUR 2.500 und EUR 50.000. Die Frankfurt School Financial Services GmbH (FSFS) begleitet, unterstützt und prüft in mehreren Kontakten (telefonisch und persönlich) Geschäftskonzepte auf ihre Erfolgsaussichten am Markt, leitet Bürgschaftsempfehlungen an die Bürgschaftsbank Hessen weiter und führt während der Kreditlaufzeit vierteljährliche Unternehmenschecks mit den Gründer/innen und jungen Unternehmen durch.