call download fax letter pdf

Professor of Economics (Emeritus)

Personal Details

Paul G. Schmidt is professor of economics at the Frankfurt School of Finance & Management since September 2004. He studied economics, mathematics, statistics, sociology, and political sciences. His current major areas of teaching and research are empirical macroeconomics, monetary policy, international economics, financial crises, and economic history, respectively. He is also head of the Economics Department.

Born in 1954, studies in economics and social sciences, statistics, and political science at the University of Dortmund and the Johannes Gutenberg University of Mainz, 1979 diploma in economics (final grade 1,0 “with excellence”), from 1979 to 1984 research associate, 1985 research fellow at the chair for economic policy, market economies and competition (Prof. Dr. Werner Zohlnhöfer) in Dortmund and later Mainz, 1984 doctoral dissertation with a widely regarded study on foreign debt and balance of payments policies of socialist countries (grade “summa cum laude”), from 1985 to 1993 managing director and chief economist of the Institute for Economic Policy Research at the University of Mainz e.V., a former private research organization and established contracting partner of the German federal government, from 1993 to 2000 associate professor of economics in the faculty of law & economics at the University of Mainz, 2001 habilitation, obtaining the venia legendi in economics with a theoretical and empirical study on “institutional structures and macroeconomic stability” in cross-national comparison which was followed by an appointment to a vacant chair of economics & ecology (Prof. Dr. Hermann Bartmann) at the Johannes Gutenberg University of Mainz. Since 2004, Paul G. Schmidt is also lecturer in economics at the Verwaltungs- & Wirtschaftsakademie Wiesbaden/Gießen/Köln and since 2005 he is lecturer in international banking & finance at the Management Center Innsbruck, Austria. In 2007, he received a call as visiting professor of economics at the Finance Academy under the Government of the Russian Federation, Moscow.

Besides teaching Paul G. Schmidt has acted since 1983 as an economic advisor to several governments and public institutions on the federal and state level as well as to non-governmental organizations at home and abroad, including the former Federal Ministry of Inner-German Relations and the former All-german Institute prior to Germany’s reunification, the Federal Association of Local Health Insurance Companies and their Scientific Research Institute, the Federal Ministry of Economics & Technology, the Federal Ministry of Finance, the Federal Ministry of Postal Services and Telecommunication, the Research Institute for Telecommunication Services, the Federal Ministry of Transport, the State Ministry of Economics, Transport, Agriculture & Wine-growing and the State Ministry of Labour, Social Affairs and Public Health, both in Rhineland-Palatinate, the State Ministry of Economics, Transport & Regional Development in Hessen, the European Bank for Re-construction & Development, London, as well as the Finance Academy and the Federal Government of the Russian Federation, Moscow.

Paul G. Schmidt received numerous awards for his research and teaching performance, respectively, an award for the best diploma from the University of Dortmund in 1979, an award for the best doctoral dissertation from the Johannes Gutenberg University of Mainz 1984, and from 2001 to 2003 he consecutively received the students’ award for the best undergraduate courses in business administration, law and economics at the University of Mainz. In 1988, he received the reputable Ernst Richert Award from the German federal government for outstanding contributions to research in German economic development and policy.

Paul G. Schmidt has written numerous books, articles and unpublished expert studies. For several years in the past he has acted as managing editor for all publication series of the former Institute for Economic Policy Research at the University of Mainz with Minerva Saur (Munich), Peter Lang (Frankfurt/Main) and Duncker & Humblot (Berlin). He is co-author of the well-known “Staatslexikon” and the “Gabler Wirtschaftslexikon” with almost one hundred own keyword contributions and short articles.

His main fields of interest in teaching, research and policy advice are empirical macroeconomics, the economics of financial markets, financial centres and financial crises, monetary theory and monetary policy, international economics and international finance, development finance as well as problems of economic and political stability in emerging market economies and transition countries.

Paul G. Schmidt is a member of the Verein für Socialpolitik, Gesellschaft für Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften, the List Society, the German University Association, the network “Research on Money in the Economy” (ROME) and the advisory board of the Fridtjof Nansen Academy, respectively.


Office hours

during the semester:

Tuesday 01:00 pm until 03:00 pm on appointment

Room:

211

Contact

Contact

Publications

Scholarly journal articles / Journal articles

Monographs / Contributions to edited volumes

other publications

Courses 2017

Title Program Semester
FX Markets and Exchange Rate Determination Bachelor 2017 SS
Monetary Theory and Policy Bachelor 2017 SS
Causes and Contagion of Financial Crises Electives 2017 SS

call download fax letter pdf

Professor für Volkswirtschaftslehre

Zur Person

Geboren 1954, Studium der Wirtschaftswissenschaften, Statistik, Soziologie und Politischen Wissenschaften an der Universität Dortmund und der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz, Diplom-Volkswirt 1979 (mit Auszeichnung), 1979 bis 1985 wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Lehrstuhl für Wirtschaftspolitik, insbesondere Markt- und Wettbewerbsordnung (Prof. Dr. Werner Zohlnhöfer) in Dortmund und Mainz, 1984 Promotion in wirtschaftlichen Staatswissenschaften über Auslandsverschuldung  und Zahlungsbilanzpolitik sozialistischer Länder (summa cum laude), 1985 bis 1993 Geschäftsführer und Chefvolkswirt des Forschungsinstituts für Wirtschaftspolitik an der Universität Mainz e.V., eines privaten Wirtschaftsforschungsinstituts und Rahmenvertragspartners des Bundeswirtschaftsministeriums, 1993 bis 2001 Hochschulassistent für Volkswirtschaftslehre an der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz, 2001 Habilitation (Venia Legendi) in Volkswirtschaftslehre am Fachbereich Rechts- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität mit einer international vergleichenden theoretisch-empirischen Analyse über „Institutionelle Strukturen und makroökonomische Stabilität“, anschließend Vertretung eines Lehrstuhls für Volkswirtschaftstheorie und ökologische Ökonomik (Nachfolge von Prof. Dr. Hermann Bartmann) an der Universität Mainz, seit 2004 Dozent für Volkswirtschaftslehre an der Verwaltungs- und Wirtschaftsakademie Wiesbaden/Gießen/Köln, seit 2005 Dozent für International Economics, Banking & Finance am Management Center Innsbruck, 2007 Ruf auf eine Gastprofessur an der Finanzakademie unter der Regierung der Russischen Föderation, Moskau.

Neben seiner Lehrtätigkeit war und ist Paul G. Schmidt seit 1983 als wirtschaftswissenschaftlicher Berater von Ministerien und Regierungsorganisationen auf Bundes- und Länderebene sowie für Nichtregierungsorganisationen des In- und Auslands tätig, insbesondere für das ehemalige Bundesministerium für Innerdeutsche Beziehungen und das Gesamtdeutsche Institut vor der Wiedervereinigung Deutschlands, den Bundesverband und das Wissenschaftliche Institut der Ortskrankenkassen, den Bundesminister für Wirtschaft und Technologie, den Bundesminister der Finanzen, den Bundesminister für Post und Telekommunikation, das Wissenschaftliche Institut für Telekommunikationsdienste, den Bundesminister für Verkehr, das rheinland-pfälzische Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Verkehr, Landwirtschaft und Weinbau, das rheinland-pfälzische Ministerium für Arbeit, Soziales und Gesundheit, das hessische Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Verkehr und Landesentwicklung, die European Bank for Reconstruction and Development, London, sowie die Finanzakademie Moskau und die Regierung der Russischen Föderation, Moskau.

Für seine Leistungen in Forschung und Lehre erhielt Paul G. Schmidt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, darunter den Preis für das beste Diplom der Universität Dortmund 1979, den Preis für die beste staatswissenschaftliche Promotion der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz 1984 und dreimal in Folge 2001 bis 2003 die Auszeichnung der Studierenden der Universität Mainz als bester Professor der wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Abteilung. 1988 wurde ihm von der deutschen Bundesregierung der Ernst-Richert-Preis für herausragende wissenschaftliche Verdienste in der vergleichenden Deutschlandforschung verliehen.

Paul G. Schmidt ist Autor zahlreicher Bücher, Aufsätze und unveröffentlichter Regierungsgutachten und war Herausgeber der „Aufsätze zur Wirtschaftspolitik“ sowie der „Studien“ und „Veröffentlichungen“ des Forschungsinstituts für Wirtschaftspolitik bei Minerva (München), Lang (Frankfurt/Main) sowie Duncker & Humblot (Berlin). Er ist Co-Autor des renommierten „Staatslexikons“ und des „Gabler Wirtschaftslexikon“s mit beinahe hundert eigenen Schlagworten und Aufsätzen.

Seine Hauptarbeitsgebiete in Forschung und Lehre sind Fragestellungen der empirischen Makroökonomik, der Wirtschafts- und Sozialpolitik, der Arbeitsmarktökonomik, der Geld- und Währungspolitik, der internationalen Wirtschafts- und Finanzbeziehungen, der Entwicklungsfinanzierung sowie der wirtschaftlichen und politischen Stabilität von Schwellen- und Transformationsländern.

Paul G. Schmidt ist Mitglied des Vereins für Socialpolitik, Gesellschaft für Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften, der List Gesellschaft, des Deutschen Hochschulverbandes, des Netzwerkes „Research on Money in the Economy“ (ROME) und des Kuratoriums der Fridtjof-Nansen-Akademie.


Sprechzeiten

während der Vorlesungszeit:

Dienstags 13-15 Uhr

Raum:

211

Ansprechpartner

Kontakt

Publikationen

Wissenschaftliche Zeitschriften / Fachzeitschriften

Monographien / Sammelwerke

weitere

Kurse 2017

Titel Studiengang Semester
FX Markets and Exchange Rate Determination Bachelor 2017 SS
Monetary Theory and Policy Bachelor 2017 SS
Causes and Contagion of Financial Crises Electives 2017 SS