call download fax letter pdf

President
Professor of Business Adminstrations

Personal Details

Udo Steffens, a native of East Frisia, Germany, has served as the President and CEO of the Frankfurt School of Finance and Management since 1996. He began his tenure with the School in 1992, serving as the Head of Bankakademie International (now known as Frankfurt School International Advisory Services), before being appointed to his current position by the School’s Board of Trustees. Under his leadership, Frankfurt School has developed from a national banking academy to an internationally-recognized Business School.

As a leading figure in the German higher education system, over the course of his career Prof. Steffens has dedicated energy to advancing not only business-related education but the German higher education industry as well. Consequently, among others he holds positions with the Board of Trustees of the German Development Institute (Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik), EPAS Accreditation Board of the European Foundation for Management Development, Board of the Association for Risk Management and Regulation (Gesellschaft für Risikomanagement und Regulierung e.V.), and the Board of the Frankfurter Institute for Risk Management and Regulation (Frankfurter Institute für Risikomanagement und Regulierung). As of 01 February 2017 Professor Udo Steffens has been appointed by the Federal President as member of the German Council of Science and Humanities (Wissenschaftsrat).
 
As a professor of business administration, Prof. Steffens’ research, lectures, and publications revolve around the dynamics of the financial system, concepts of management and strategy, and university governance. Having served four years in Togo (1989 – 1992) establishing management and financial structures within the framework of the Protestant Church of Togo, Prof. Steffens also regularly addresses issues concerning development finance / microfinance.
 
Prof. Steffens studied economics, political science, and pedagogic in Dortmund, Munster, and Darmstadt. He received his PhD (Dr.rer.pol.) from the Technische Universität Darmstadt in 1982. In 2012, he was honoured with a Doctor Honoris Causa from the Université Protestante au Congo.
 


Publications

Scholarly journal articles / Journal articles

Monographs / Contributions to edited volumes

other publications

call download fax letter pdf

Präsident
Professor für Allgemeine Betriebswirtschaftslehre

Zur Person

Udo Steffens, gebürtiger Ostfriese, ist seit 1996 Präsident und Geschäftsführer der Frankfurt School of Finance & Management. Im September 1992 trat er in die Bankakademie als Leiter des Auslandsreferats (heute Frankfurt School International Advisory Services) ein, bevor er vom Stiftungsrat der Frankfurt School in seine aktuelle Position berufen wurde. Unter seiner Führung hat sich die Frankfurt School von einer nationalen Bankenakademie zu einer international anerkannten Business School entwickelt.
 
Als eine der führenden Persönlichkeiten im deutschen Hochschulwesen hat sich Professor Steffens im Laufe seiner Karriere der Weiterentwicklung der berufsbezogenen Bildung  sowie der deutschen Hochschulbildung verschrieben. So ist er unter anderem Mitglied im Kuratorium des Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik (DIE), im Vorstand der Evangelischen Zukunftsstiftung und im EPAS Accreditation Board der EFMD (European Foundation for Management Development), Brüssel. Er ist Präsident des Frankfurter Instituts für Risikomanagement und Regulierung (FIRM) und Mitglied des Vorstandes der Gesellschaft für Risikomanagement und Regulierung e. V.. Mit Wirkung zum 01.02.2017 wurde Professor Udo Steffens vom Bundespräsidenten in den Wissenschaftsrat berufen.
 
Als Professor für Betriebswirtschaftslehre befasst sich Professor Steffens in seiner Forschung, Vorträgen und Publikationen mit der Dynamik des Finanzsystems, strategischem Management sowie hochschulpolitischen Fragen. Nach vierjähriger Auslandstätigkeit (1989 bis 1992) in Togo und Kamerun im Rahmen der kirchlichen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit, beschäftigt sich Professor Steffens regelmäßig mit Fragen der Entwicklungsfinanzierung/Mikrofinanzierung.
 
Professor Steffens studierte Wirtschaftswissenschaften, Politikwissenschaften und Pädagogik in Dortmund, Münster und Darmstadt. Er erhielt 1982 seinen Doktortitel (Dr. rer. pol.) von der Technischen Universität Darmstadt. Im Jahr 2012 wurde ihm von der Université Protestante au Congo ein Ehrendoktor (Dr. h.c.) verliehen.
 


Publikationen

Wissenschaftliche Zeitschriften / Fachzeitschriften

Monographien / Sammelwerke

weitere