call download fax letter pdf search x chevron
"jcr:56910176-b95c-46fd-bb1e-595185da5c83" (String)
Berlin view

Christian Hassel is 35 years old. In October 2020, he became one of the youngest managers in the history of Commerzbank AG to be appointed to the Group’s top management team as a divisional board member. Just a few weeks ago, Capital magazine featured him as one of Germany’s Top 40 Under 40s in 2021. In 2012, he was awarded an Executive Master of Business Administration (EMBA) degree by Frankfurt School of Finance & Management – he was the youngest person to graduate from the programme. And prior to that, he completed Frankfurt School’s Bankfachwirt, Bankbetriebswirt and Management Studies programme in Koblenz and Frankfurt. In this interview, he tells us about his early desire to become a bank manager and outlines his career to date.

“One day I’ll be a bank manager” – that’s the promise you made to your grandfather, and you’ve kept it. Did you always know that banking would be the right career for you?

When I first started studying to become a Bankfachwirt, I really did – jokingly! – say that to my grandfather. Then, as I continued to study, I gradually came to realise that banking and the finance industry as a whole is exactly right for me. In the course of my career to date, I’ve had the good fortune to experience many different aspects of the financial world, and I’ve developed an especially strong affinity with complex solutions for high-net-worth individuals. Now, in my current position, I’m able to tackle new challenges in banking and finance.

How did you manage to complete a degree while you were working?

It was hard work, I must admit. But ever since my days as a trainee, I’ve been used to working during the week and studying at weekends. If you enjoy what you’re studying and also enjoy your work, it’s quite possible to combine the two. And I very much enjoyed studying at Frankfurt School – the course content was really exciting, and often I was able to put the theory straight into practice at work the next day.

To what extent did your MBA prepare you for the challenges of working as a divisional board member at Commerzbank?

The EMBA programme was the best possible way to prepare for my current post. That’s undoubtedly due to the course’s learning methods, which focused on case studies based on real-world events. My fellow students and I would then discuss the various scenarios in great depth. That’s how we first learned to apply management theories and strategies; eventually we were able to find constructive, high-level ways to relate the insights and methodologies we were acquiring to complex, real-world issues. In the process, we had many fascinating, critical and lively discussions – which in my view is exactly what an EMBA programme should be about. The programme gave me tough but invaluable training in dealing with the everyday challenges of a leadership position. The EMBA programme as a whole is an excellent way to prepare young managers like me, and undoubtedly also a useful top-up course for experienced senior managers. The diversity of the study group adds value for all the students involved; it also forms the basis of a personal network that remains important long after the degree course is over.

How important was your time as a Frankfurt School student in the greater scheme of things?

Oh, definitely very important. For five years, I spent most of my free time here, in the process making many friends who I am still in touch with and are very dear to me. My time here had a huge influence on the person I am today, and I almost feel homesick when I think back over my years of study here in Frankfurt! I owe Frankfurt School an enormous debt of gratitude. Without the education I was given here, my career would never have progressed at the speed it did.

What’s your favourite memory of your time at Frankfurt School?

I especially enjoyed working in small groups. The close contact and relaxed interaction between academic staff and students is another of Frankfurt School’s special features. But the ultimate high point was undoubtedly the module spent abroad at CEIBS (China Europe International Business School) in Shanghai. Studying in such a vast and vibrant city alongside fellow students from a wide variety of industries and countries was an incredible experience I really wouldn’t have wanted to miss.

How important are alumni for a business school? What do you think alumni can do for their alma mater?

Alumni are extremely important for a business school, because they’re both the institution’s product and its poster child. But it’s also important for alumni to always bear in mind how much they owe their alma mater, and to try and give something back. Compared to universities in the Unites States, UK or China, Germany has a lot of catching-up to do in this area. But I do believe that in this and many other respects, Frankfurt School is one of the top-ranking institutions in this country.

What motto do you live by?

Off the cuff, a quote by Christian Morgenstern comes to mind: “Thus Time flies by, clutching the Moment as its prey.” We live in a turbulent, rapidly changing world – which is why I try and do my best every day, why I work hard, but also why I deliberately make time to enjoy myself and live new experiences.

call download fax letter pdf search x chevron
"jcr:56910176-b95c-46fd-bb1e-595185da5c83" (String)
Berlin view

Christian Hassel ist 35 Jahre alt und wurde im Oktober 2020 als einer der jüngsten Manager in der Historie der Commerzbank AG als Bereichsvorstand in die erste Führungsebene des Konzerns berufen. Vor wenigen Wochen zeichnete ihn das Capital-Magazin als einen von Deutschlands Top 40 unter 40 des Jahres 2021 aus. Im Jahr 2012 schloss er sein Studium im Executive Master of Business Administration (EMBA) an der Frankfurt School of Finance & Management als jüngster Absolvent des Studiengangs ab. Vorher absolvierte er das Bankfachwirt-, Bankbetriebswirt- und Management-Studium an der Frankfurt School in Koblenz und Frankfurt. Hier erzählt er von seinem Wunsch Bankdirektor zu werden und seinem bisherigen beruflichen Weg.

"Irgendwann werde ich Bankdirektor“ - Dieses Versprechen hast Du Deinem Großvater gegeben und nun eingelöst. Wusstest Du schon immer, dass das Bankengeschäft der richtige Karriereweg für Dich ist?

Als ich damals mit dem Bankfachwirtstudium anfing, habe ich dies im Scherz tatsächlich zu meinem Großvater gesagt. Während des Studiums habe ich dann festgestellt, dass das Bankwesen und die Finanzwelt insgesamt, genau das Richtige für mich ist. Im Laufe meines Karrierewegs hatte ich das Glück verschiedene Bereiche der Finanzwelt kennenzulernen und entwickelte eine besonders hohe Affinität zum Wertpapiergeschäft. In meiner jetzigen Position kann ich mich wieder neuen Herausforderungen im Banken- und Finanzsektor stellen.

Wie schafft man es parallel zum Beruf ein Studium zu absolvieren?

Es ist anstrengend, das gebe ich zu. Doch seit meiner Ausbildung war ich es gewohnt unter der Woche zu arbeiten und am Wochenende zu studieren. Wenn man Spaß am Studium und an seinem Job hat, ist es gut kombinierbar. Und mein Studium an der Frankfurt School hat sehr viel Spaß gemacht: Die Inhalte waren extrem spannend und ich konnte die Theorie oftmals am nächsten Tag sofort bei der Arbeit in die Praxis umsetzen.

Inwiefern hat Dich das Studium auf die Anforderungen Deiner Tätigkeit bei der Commerzbank vorbereiten?

Das EMBA-Studium hat mich bestens auf meine jetzige Position vorbereitet. Dies ist sicherlich auf die „Case-Study-orientierten“ Lernmethoden des Studiums zurückzuführen, die sich an ganz konkreten Praxisfällen orientierten. Über diese haben wir dann mit Kommilitoninnen und Kommilitonen intensiv diskutiert. So lernten wir zunächst den Umgang mit Managementtheorien- und Strategien und konnten deren Erkenntnisse und Ansätze dann auf sehr hohem Niveau konstruktiv mit komplizierten und praxisrelevanten Fragestellungen abgleichen. Dies führte zu interessanten, kritischen und lebhaften Diskussionen – also genau das, was ein EMBA-Studium meiner Meinung nach ausmacht. Es war ein hartes, aber gutes Training für den praktischen Führungsalltag. Insgesamt ist das EMBA-Studium eine gute Vorbereitung für junge Manager wie mich und sicher auch eine sinnvolle Ergänzung für erfahrene Führungspersönlichkeiten. Gerade diese Heterogenität der Gruppe schafft einen Mehrwert für alle Studenten und bildet die Grundlage für ein wertvolles Netzwerk – auch über die Studienzeit hinaus.

Welche Bedeutung hat Deine Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School für Dich?

Definitiv eine sehr große. Ich habe fünf Jahre lang den Großteil meiner Freizeit hier verbracht. Es sind dabei viele Freundschaften entstanden, dich ich heute noch pflege und schätze. Die Zeit hat mich sehr geprägt und ich schaue mit einer großen Portion Wehmut auf mein Studium hier in Frankfurt zurück. Ich weiß, dass ich der Frankfurt School sehr dankbar sein muss. Ohne meine Ausbildung hier wäre meine Karriere nicht in dem Tempo vorangeschritten.

Was ist Deine schönste Erinnerung an Deine Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School?

Gerade die Arbeit in kleinen Gruppen hat besonders viel Spaß gemacht. Auch der enge und lockere Kontakt zwischen Professoren und Studierenden ist bezeichnend für die Frankfurt School. Das absolute Highlight war aber sicherlich das Auslandsmodul, das ich an der CEIBS in Shanghai absolviert habe. In einer gigantischen und pulsierenden Stadt mit Kommilitonen aus verschiedenen Branchen und Ländern zu studieren, war eine unglaubliche Erfahrung die ich nicht missen möchte.

Welche Bedeutung haben Alumni für Ihre Hochschule? Was denkst Du können Alumni für Ihre Hochschule tun?

Alumni sind für eine Hochschule extrem wichtig. Sie sind gleichzeitig das Produkt und Aushängeschild einer Universität. Außerdem sollten Alumni sich immer vor Augen halten, was sie der Hochschule verdanken und versuchen das an sie zurückgeben. Im Vergleich mit Universitäten in den Staaten, England oder China gibt es diesbezüglich in Deutschland sicherlich noch Nachholbedarf. Ich glaube aber, dass die Frankfurt School hierzulande – wie auch in vielen anderen Punkten – einen Spitzenplatz einnimmt.

Was ist Dein Lebensmotto?

Da fällt mir spontan ein Zitat von Christian Morgenstern ein: „So flieht die Zeit, die Beute Augenblick in ihren Fängen“. Wir leben in einer rasanten und sich schnell verändernden Welt. Deshalb versuche ich jeden Tag das Beste zu geben, arbeite hart, aber ich nehme mir auch bewusst Zeit etwas zu genießen und zu erleben.