call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

Andreas Lohmüller is 36 years old and currently works in the Credit Distribution for Germany & Austria section of Lloyds Bank Commercial Banking. In 2007 he was awarded a Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) degree in Business Administration by Frankfurt School of Finance & Management. He had already trained as a bank clerk, and completed his degree course on a part-time basis so that he could combine his studies at Frankfurt School with his job and simultaneously gather relevant work experience. He also spent a semester abroad in Santa Barbara, California.

You completed a combined studies programme at Frankfurt School. How did you manage your time?

I finally decided to do a degree course at the ripe old age of 26. Actually, it was an easy decision, even though my friends and family couldn’t understand what I was doing: taking a degree? At 26 years old? They thought I was crazy, giving up a secure salary because my employer wasn’t prepared to support a combined-studies course. That was back in May 2003; the course was due to start in the September. I received a lot of support from Professor Steffens, and the Grants and Bursaries Trust advanced me my tuition fees. I started by working as an intern at T-Online, then as an equities analyst for Independent Research. During my third and fourth semesters I was given a wonderful opportunity to work in JP Morgan’s Asset Management division. JP Morgan also sent me to London for an internship in their Securities section. I spent my semester abroad at the University of California in Santa Barbara. I had a fantastic time there getting to know and enjoy the American way of life. Afterwards I went back to Frankfurt for another two semesters. Again, I was able to gather valuable work experience while getting to know yet another company: for six months I worked as an intern for the Equity Options division at Goldman Sachs. It was a full-time job, so my studies suffered a little during my time there. But the university and some good friends – especially Peter Peterburs – gave me plenty of support, and I was able to finish my degree.

How did your career develop from there?

In January 2007, I started working in Credit Sales at Goldman Sachs. I was able to reimburse Frankfurt School for my tuition fees with my first bonus – so my career was off to a flying start. Two years later I was ready for a change. After a brief spell at Knight Libertas, I accepted a new challenge in London, and now I’m playing a major part in building up Lloyds Bank’s credit business in Germany.

In retrospect, how important were your studies at Frankfurt School to you?

My clients currently include major investment funds as well as insurance companies. The combined studies programme was an ideal springboard for my current work – I got to know many different companies in Germany and abroad and was able to ask questions and share my impressions in class. The academic staff are extremely knowledgeable, and emphasize practical relevance – they encouraged us to report on our own experiences while at the same time helping us to follow our own career paths. Overall, my degree course – or more accurately, the combination of degree course and practical experience – proved to be an invaluable education for my life and career. I look back on my student days with genuine pleasure, with especially fond memories of my semester in Santa Barbara. Plus I have a very special memory of my time at Frankfurt School, because that’s where I met my wife.

How important are alumni to a university? What – in your view – can alumni do for their alma mater?

When people want to know more about a university, they check out the depth and breadth of the alumni network. This is a key criterion when you’re deciding which university to choose. Rankings play an important part, too, but the networks and successes of former students are just as significant: you can exchange views with alumni, ask for advice, make contacts. Alumni can assist their old universities and younger students by offering advice and practical support. And they should make a financial contribution if they feel their studies were worth it. That’s certainly how I feel! I’m truly delighted by Frankfurt School’s extraordinary development, and was very happy to contribute to funding the campus extension. Now my name is inscribed on a window – I think that’s just great!

What’s the motto you live your life by?

Don’t scratch like a chicken, fly like an eagle!

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen

call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

Andreas Lohmüller ist 36 Jahre alt und arbeitet bei der Lloyds Bank Commercial Banking im Bereich Credit Distribution for Germany & Austria in London. Im Jahr 2007 schloss er sein Bachelor-Studium in Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der Frankfurt School of Finance & Management ab. Er studierte berufsintegriert, hatte bereits eine Ausbildung zum Bankkaufmann abgeschlossen, so dass er parallel zum FS-Studium arbeiten und relevante Berufserfahrungen sammeln konnte. Außerdem verbrachte er ein Auslandssemester in Santa Barabara, Kalifornien.

Sie haben an der Frankfurt School ein duales Studium absolviert. Wie haben Sie es gestaltet?

Erst im fortgeschrittenen Alter von 26 Jahren habe ich mich dazu durchgerungen zu studieren. Die Entscheidung ist mir leicht gefallen, auch wenn mein Umfeld sie nicht verstehen konnte: Studium! Mit 26! Ein sicheres Gehalt aufzugeben, erschien ihnen waghalsig, denn mein Arbeitgeber wollte mich beim berufsintegrierten Studium nicht unterstützen. Das war im Mai 2003, im September fing das Studium an. Professor Steffens hat mich sehr unterstützt und der Förderverein hat meine Studiengebühren vorgestreckt. Zuerst war ich Praktikant bei T-Online, dann Aktien-Analyst bei Independent Research. Im dritten und vierten Semester ergab sich die tolle Chance, bei JP Morgan im Asset Management zu arbeiten. JP Morgan schickte mich auch für ein Praktikum nach London in den Securities-Bereich. Zum Auslandssemester ging ich an die University of California Santa Barbara – eine tolle Zeit, in der ich den Amercian Way of Life kennenlernte und genießen konnte. Dann standen noch zwei Semester in Frankfurt an. Wieder konnte ich spannende Berufserfahrungen sammeln und ein neues Unternehmen kennenlernen: Sechs Monate war ich Praktikant für Equity Options bei Goldman Sachs. In dieser Zeit hat mein Studium etwas gelitten, weil es eine Vollzeitstelle war. Aber die Uni und gute Freunde, vor allem Peter Peterburs, standen mir zur Seite. So konnte ich das Studium erfolgreich beenden.

Wie verlief Ihr weiterer Karriereweg?

Im Januar 2007 fing ich im Bereich Credit Sales bei Goldman Sachs an. Mit meinem ersten Bonus konnte ich der FS die Studiengebühren zurückzahlen. Mein Berufsstart war also durchaus erfolgreich. Zwei Jahre später orientierte ich mich neu. Nach einem kurzen Gastspiel bei Knight Libertas habe ich eine neue Herausforderung in London angenommen und maßgeblich zum Aufbau des Credit Business in Deutschland für Lloyds Bank beigetragen.

Welche Bedeutung hat Ihre Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School für Sie aus heutiger Sicht?

Zu meinen Kunden gehören heute große Investmentfonds sowie Versicherungen. Hierfür hat mich das duale Studium optimal vorbereitet. Ich habe viele Häuser im In- und Ausland kennengelernt und konnte Fragen und Eindrücke in den Lehrveranstaltungen einbringen. Die Professoren legen Wert auf Praxisbezug und kennen sich wirklich aus. Sie haben uns ermutigt, von eigenen Erfahrungen zu berichten und haben uns damit auch unterstützt, den eigenen Weg zu gehen. Insgesamt war das Studium, besser gesagt, die Kombination aus Studium und Praxis, eine wertvolle Schule für meine Laufbahn und mein Leben. Ich schaue mit Freude auf meine Studienzeit zurück, vor allem auf das Auslandssemester in Santa Barbara. Außerdem verbindet mich eine ganz besondere Erinnerung mit der Frankfurt School. Dort habe ich meine Frau kennengelernt.

Welche Bedeutung haben Alumni für eine Hochschule? Was – denken Sie – können Alumni für ihre Hochschule tun?

Jeder, der sich über Hochschulen informiert, schaut auf die Stärke und Tragfähigkeit des Alumni-Netzwerkes. Es ist maßgeblich bei der Entscheidung für oder gegen eine Universität. Ranking-Positionen spielen auch eine zentrale Rolle, aber die Netzwerke und Erfolge ehemaliger Studenten sind ebenfalls wichtig. Hier kann man sich austauschen, Rat holen, Kontakte knüpfen. Alumni können ihrer Hochschule und den jungen Studenten mit Rat und Tat zur Seite stehen – und sie sollten sich auch finanziell engagieren, wenn sie der Meinung sind, dass sich das Studium für sie gelohnt hat. Bei mir ist das der Fall. Ich freue mich wirklich über die tolle Entwicklung der FS und habe mich gerne finanziell am Campusausbau beteiligt. Jetzt ist mein Name im Fenster eingraviert. Das finde ich einfach Klasse.

Was ist Ihr Lebensmotto?

Don’t scratch like a chicken, fly like an eagle!

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen