call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

Six years ago, Andy Hamer was awarded a degree in Business Administration by Frankfurt School of Finance & Management, after completing a degree course in parallel with his professional training. For the next two years he worked in the German Small & Midcaps team of Dresdner Kleinwort’s Investment Banking division. In early 2010 he moved to Commerzbank in New York and has been working in their Equity Sales team ever since. He advises American institutional investors – primarily hedge funds – on their investments in European equities. Andy Hamer was awarded a faculty scholarship by Frankfurt School; in those days only one such award was made. Last year he decided to give something back and became a ‘Germany Scholarship’ sponsor.

To what extent did your studies prepare you for the day-to-day pressures of working life? What did you find particularly useful?

Practical relevance is an important feature of Frankfurt School’s degree courses. This meant that once I started working full-time, I was able to get to grips with the job and find my feet quickly and relatively easily. Seminars in which we practised communicating and teambuilding also turned out to be very helpful later on. The course content was dense and challenging: it certainly gave me a few sleepless nights! At the same time it taught me to manage my time efficiently, which also stands me in good stead at work.

In retrospect, how important were your studies at Frankfurt School to you?

Not only was my degree course the perfect preparation for my working life, I also – much more importantly – formed many close, lifelong friendships at Frankfurt School that are still an important part of my life today. These friendships also mean I can stay over in Dubai or Singapore for free – with private sightseeing tours included – which is a very pleasant side-effect!

What’s your favourite memory of your time at Frankfurt School?

I suspect I’m not the only Frankfurt School alumnus to consider my semester abroad as the most memorable part of the degree course. Because it happens in the fifth semester, it’s like a perfect reward for all the hard, time-intensive work you’ve done over the previous four semesters. The impressions I gathered while studying in Buenos Aires and during my subsequent internship in New York were simply overwhelming – there’s no question they represented the absolute highlight of my entire time as a student.

How important are alumni to a university? What – in your view – can alumni do for their alma mater?

Alumni have a lot of responsibility for their old universities. They effectively act as living advertisements for their universities – and it’s a lifelong role. But they can also provide genuine help to current students by sharing their own knowledge and experiences, and acting as mentors or coaches. I’m happy to get involved in this myself. A university’s success is largely dependent on this kind of cohesion and networking.

What’s the motto you live your life by?

“It is your decisions, and not your conditions, that determine your destiny.” (Anthony Robbins)

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen

call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

Vor sechs Jahren schloss Andy Hamer sein ausbildungsintegriertes Studium in Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der Frankfurt School of Finance & Management ab. Für zwei Jahre war er nach dem Studium für German Small & Midcaps im Investment Banking der Dresdner Kleinwort tätig. Anfang des Jahres 2010 ging er für die Commerzbank nach New York, wo er bis heute im Equity Sales Team amerikanische institutionelle Investoren, hauptsächlich Hedgefunds, bei der Aktienanlage in europäische Aktien betreut. Andy Hamer kam in den Genuss des Fakultätsstipendiums, das damals einmalig ausgeschrieben wurde. Im vergangenen Jahr gab er dann selber zurück und richtete ein Deutschland-Stipendium ein.

Inwiefern hat Sie das Studium auf die Anforderungen im Berufsalltag vorbereitet? Was war besonders nützlich?

Hoher Praxisbezug ist ein wesentlicher Bestandteil des Studiums an der Frankfurt School. So konnte ich mich schnell und direkt im Vollzeitjob zurechtfinden und im Job integrieren. Auch Seminare, in denen Kommunikation und Teambildung geübt wurden, waren später sehr hilfreich. Das Studium war kompakt und anspruchsvoll. Es hat zu einigen schlaflosen Nächten geführt, allerdings habe ich so sehr gutes Zeitmanagement gelernt, was mir ebenfalls im Job zugutekommt.

Welche Bedeutung hat Ihre Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School für Sie aus heutiger Sicht?

Das Studium hat mich nicht nur ideal auf die Arbeitswelt vorbereitet, sondern – und das ist viel wichtiger – ich habe an der Frankfurt School sehr viele enge Freundschaften fürs Leben gewonnen, die mir bis heute erhalten geblieben und extrem wichtig sind. Dabei ist es nur ein schöner Nebeneffekt, dass mir diese Freundschaften zusätzlich kostenlose Übernachtungen etwa in Dubai und Singapur ermöglichen – private Stadtführungen inklusive.

Was ist Ihre schönste Erinnerung an Ihre Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School?

Ich bin vermutlich nicht der einzige Frankfurt-School-Absolvent, der das Auslandssemester als schönste Erinnerung empfindet. Es findet ja im fünften Semester statt und war eine ideale Belohnung für die vier zeit- und lernintensiven Semester vorher. Die Eindrücke, die ich beim Studium in Buenos Aires und später beim Praktikum in New York sammeln konnte, waren einfach überwältigend und somit sicherlich das größte Highlight der Studienzeit insgesamt.

Welche Bedeutung haben Alumni für eine Hochschule? Was – denken Sie – können Alumni für ihre Hochschule tun?

Alumni tragen eine große Verantwortung für eine Hochschule. Sie sind Aushängeschild der Universität und das lebenslang. Außerdem können sie aktuellen Studenten wirklich helfen, indem sie eigene Erkenntnisse und Erfahrungen weitergeben und als Mentor oder Coach zur Verfügung stehen. Hier engagiere ich mich gerne selber. Der Erfolg einer Hochschule hängt zum großen Teil von diesem Zusammenhalt und Netzwerk ab.

Was ist Ihr Lebensmotto?

“It is your decisions, and not your conditions, that determine your destiny.” (Anthony Robbins)

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen