call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

Ingo Stralkowski is in his New York office when we phone to interview him for our Frankfurt School alumnus portrait. Originally from the Ruhr region, he returns to Mülheim an der Ruhr every year to celebrate Christmas with his family. But aside from these visits, Ingo Stralkowski generally prefers to roam further afield.

As right-hand man to his boss, American billionaire Robert Ziff, he regularly travels around the world – in particular, his timetable often takes him to major Asian cities such as Tokyo and Hong Kong. This year, he was chosen as one of Atlantik-Bruecke's 44 German-American Young Leaders. Sadly, Ingo Stralkowski can tell us very little about his professional life, because absolute discretion about internal business affairs is a basic part of his job description. Being trustworthy and knowing what makes people tick are the two key qualities he needs for his current work – and these qualities have played a key role throughout his career.

Ambitions and optimism

Ingo gives much of the credit for his professional development to his university tutors, Professor Dr. Udo Steffens and Professor Dr. Christoph Schalast. “I owe both of them a huge debt of gratitude. Their references helped earn me a Fulbright Scholarship so I could fund my study time abroad in the United States.”

His semester abroad – at California State University, Long Beach – he describes as the “time of his life”. But this enthusiasm is not primarily driven by the many recreational opportunities available in the Sunshine State. Rather the opposite, in fact: “For the first time ever, I actually had some leisure time. At Frankfurt School, I was studying alongside my full-time job, so I was always busy – either working at Commerzbank or studying for my degree. But during my semester abroad, I was able to take a step back and think about what I should get up to in my newly acquired spare time.”

With impressive optimism and spontaneity, the visiting student seized the moment, trawling the web in a search for companies that specialise in mergers and acquisitions. He made contact with Richard Vander Kaay & Associates, a leading M&A boutique in Newport Beach. “A few days later, I was sitting on the sofa in Richard’s office. On the face of it, it was a perfectly normal afternoon, just a chat over coffee – but it changed my whole life.” Richard employed the ambitious young German and just a few months later, 21-year-old Ingo was already managing the firm’s European business.

Campus life as student and alumnus

Ingo had yet to earn his degree, however. Back in Frankfurt, a real test of stamina awaited him. With only a very little time left in which to prepare for his final exams, he had to work exceptionally hard to make up the shortfall. “My friend Daniel Schulz and I spent most of that time more or less living at FS. Okay, it was a stressful period, but all the studying together, challenging each other, staying focused… that was brilliant.”

The “Finals showdown” was a big success – the friends both passed their exams. Ingo Stralkowski went on to work for private equity fund H.I.G. Capital in London before the prospect of studying for an MBA at Wharton School in Pennsylvania – sponsored by his employer – finally enticed him away. “I’ve always worked full-time alongside my degree studies, and in retrospect, that was a great way to prepare for my later career – I can recommend it,” smiles Ingo Stralkowski. “But I also enjoyed studying full-time at Wharton, as well as the life on campus that went with it.”

Which is why Ingo Stralkowski is delighted to hear about Frankfurt School’s plans for a new campus: “I’ve heard about the barbecue party for everybody on the new site, and about the joint venture with nearby SC 1880 Frankfurt – my brother and I played hockey against them for ages.” (Thilo Stralkowski is a member of the German hockey team that won Gold at the London Olympics in 2012 – Ed.) “I’m really looking forward to seeing the new campus – the design looks very promising. I’m hoping to be able to pop in as often as I can.”

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen

call download fax letter pdf search x chevron
Stage Image

Ingo Stralkowski nimmt das Telefonat für das FS Alumni Porträt in seinem New Yorker Büro entgegen. Die Heimat des FS-Alumnus ist das Ruhrgebiet. In Mülheim an der Ruhr verbringt er jedes Jahr das Weihnachtsfest bei seiner Familie. Von diesen Besuchen abgesehen, zieht es Ingo Stralkowski eher in die Ferne.

Als „rechte Hand“ seines Chefs, dem US Milliardär Robert Ziff, reist er durch die ganze Welt; vor allem asiatische Metropolen wie Tokyo und Hong Kong stehen auf seiner Agenda. Dieses Jahr wurde er von der Atlantik-Bruecke zu einem ihrer 44 German-American Young Leaders ernannt. Details aus seinem Berufsleben kann Ingo Stralkowski allerdings nur wenige preisgeben. Denn zu den Grundvoraussetzungen seiner Arbeit gehört absolute Diskretion im Hinblick auf Firmeninterna. Vertrauenswürdigkeit und Menschenkenntnis sind somit entscheidend für Ingo Stralkowskis jetzige Tätigkeit und sie waren wegweisend für seinen gesamten Werdegang.

Ambitionen und Optimismus

Als Schlüsselfiguren seiner beruflichen Entwicklung benennt Stralkowski seine Hochschullehrer Professor Dr. Udo Steffens und Professor Dr. Christoph Schalast. „Den beiden habe ich sehr viel zu verdanken. Ihre Empfehlungsschreiben trugen dazu bei, dass ich ein Fulbright Stipendium für meinen Auslandsaufenthalt in den USA bekommen habe.“ Das Auslandssemester an der Universität Long Beach in Los Angeles sei „die beste Zeit“ seines Lebens gewesen. Dieser Enthusiasmus liegt allerdings nicht primär im Freizeitwert der Umgebung begründet. Im Gegenteil: „Erstmals stand mir freie Zeit zur Verfügung. An der FS habe ich ausbildungsintegriert studiert und war immer beschäftigt, entweder bei der Commerzbank oder mit dem Studium. Im Auslandssemester habe ich dann überlegt, was ich mit der neu gewonnenen Freizeit anfangen kann.“

Mit Optimismus und Spontanität ergreift der Gaststudent seine Chance: Im Internet sucht er Anbieter im Bereich M&A und stellt Kontakt zu Richard Vander Kaay & Associates, einer M&A-Boutique in Newport Beach her. „Ein paar Tage später habe ich bei Richard auf der Couch gesessen. Es war ein scheinbar ganz normaler Nachmittag, ein Gespräch beim Kaffee - aber es hat mein ganzes Leben verändert.“ Richard stellt den ambitionierten jungen Deutschen ein, und wenige Monate später, 21-jährig, managt dieser bereits das Europageschäft.

Campusleben als Student und Alumnus

Das Studium war indes noch nicht abgeschlossen. Zurück in Frankfurt erwartet Stralkowski ein echter Härtetest. Die knappe Vorbereitungszeit für die Abschlussprüfungen musste durch extremen Einsatz ausgeglichen werden. „In dieser Zeit habe ich mit meinem Freund Daniel Schulz quasi in der FS gewohnt. Diese Zeit war ziemlich anstrengend. Doch das gemeinsame Lernen, sich gegenseitig zu pushen und dran zu bleiben – das war großartig.“

Der Study Showdown war erfolgreich. Die Freunde bestanden die Prüfungen. Ingo Stralkowski arbeitete anschließend zwei Jahre bei dem Private Equity Fonds H.I.G Capital in London bevor ihn ein MBA Studium, vom Arbeitgeber gefördert, an die Wharton School in Pennsylvania lockte. „Während meines Studiums habe ich immer gearbeitet. Das war eine super Vorbereitung aufs Berufsleben, die ich nur empfehlen kann“, so der FS Alumnus „In Wharton habe ich aber auch das Fulltime Studium und das dazu gehörige Leben auf dem Campus genossen.“

Deshalb ist Ingo Stralkowski jetzt auch von den neuen Campusplänen der Frankfurt School begeistert: „Ich habe von der BBQ Party für alle auf dem neuen Gelände gehört und von der Kooperation mit dem benachbarten SC 1880 Frankfurt, gegen den mein Bruder und ich lange Hockey gespielt haben (Thilo Stralkowski wurde 2012 mit der deutschen Hockeynationalmannschaft Olympiasieger in London - d.Red.). Ich bin sehr gespannt auf den neuen Campus. Der Entwurf sieht sehr vielversprechend aus. Hoffentlich schaffe ich es oft vorbei zu kommen.“

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen