call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

Sebastian Merkhoffer studied Business IT at Frankfurt School of Finance & Management between 2008 and 2012. During the course, his internships took him to various departments at Deutsche Bank. After graduating from Frankfurt School, he kicked off his career by working for various business startups. Later, he also took a Master in Management degree. After a brief stint working for a major German venture capital fund, Sebastian Merkhoffer founded Fittea, a purveyor of “functional teas”.

To what extent did your academic studies prepare you for the challenges of your current job? What did you find especially useful?

I learned to think in a more structured way and gained IT skills and business management expertise during my studies at Frankfurt School. I also count a number of fellow students among my close friends today.

Looking back, how important was your time as a student at Frankfurt School in the greater scheme of things?

Because my time was so short due to my combined studies programme, I was obliged to work in a very disciplined way and make the most of what limited time I had. I’m now working in very similar settings as an entrepreneur! I also acquired relevant skills and knowledge while I was studying. That’s why I was able to set up the first version of our website entirely on my own.

What’s your favourite memory of your time at Frankfurt School?

Spending my semester abroad at university in Australia was a fantastic experience. I immersed myself in a new culture and learned to surf!

How important are alumni for a business school? What do you think alumni can do for their alma mater?

Alumni networks are very important. It was through our Alumni Network that I found a mentor while I was launching my first company, and I continue to benefit from his experience.

What’s your favourite motto?

„Destiny is no matter of chance. It’s a matter of choice. “(W.J. Bryan)

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen

call download fax letter pdf search x chevron
Stage Image

Sebastian Merkhoffer hat von 2008 bis 2012 Wirtschaftsinformatik an der Frankfurt School of Finance & Management studiert. Seine Praxisphasen führten ihn zu verschiedenen Abteilungen der Deutschen Bank. Erste berufliche Stationen nach seinem Abschluss an der Frankfurt School waren StartUps. Im Anschluss absolvierte Sebastian Merkhoffer einen Master in Management. Nach kurzer Zeit bei einem großen deutschen Venture Capital Fonds gründete er fittea (heute fitvia), einen Anbieter für Functional Teas und gesunde Lebensmittel.

Inwiefern hat Sie das Studium auf die Anforderungen in Ihrer heutigen Position vorbereitet? Was war besonders nützlich?

Ich lernte strukturierter zu denken und konnte mir im Studium an der Frankfurt School IT Skills und betriebswirtschaftliches Know-how aneignen. Einige Kommilitonen zähle ich auch heute noch zu meinen guten Freunden.

Welche Bedeutung hat Ihre Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School für Sie aus heutiger Sicht?

Durch die Zeitknappheit im dualen Studium war ich gezwungen, strukturiert zu arbeiten und mit wenig Zeit auszukommen. Als Unternehmer ist das Setting sehr ähnlich. In der Studienzeit konnte ich mir auch relevante Kenntnisse aneignen. Die erste Version unserer Website konnte ich so komplett alleine auf die Beine stellen.

Was ist Ihre schönste Erinnerung an Ihre Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School?

Mein Auslandssemester an der Partneruni in Australien war eine super Erfahrung. Ich bin in eine neue Kultur eingetaucht und habe Surfen gelernt.

Welche Bedeutung haben Alumni für eine Hochschule? Was denken Sie können Alumni für ihre Hochschule tun?

Alumni Netzwerke sind sehr bedeutend. Durch das Alumni Netzwerk konnte ich meinen Mentor für meine erste Firma gewinnen, der mir jederzeit mit seiner Erfahrungen zur Seite steht.

Was ist Ihr Lebensmotto?

„Destiny is no matter of chance. It’s a matter of choice.“ (W.J. Bryan)

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen