call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

In 2006 Arne Borkowski made his diploma as „diplomierter Bankbetriebswirt“ at Frankfurt School of Finance & Management. Today, he works as Senior Sales Executive at BNP Paribas in Frankfurt am Main.

How would you describe yourself in a few words?

A Hamburg boy born and bred, I now live in Hesse, about 25 kilometres (15 miles) outside Frankfurt. I’ve been living there with my wife and two sons (12 and 15 years old) since August 2007. In what spare time I have, I love riding my motorbike.
My interests are broad and range from playing chess to having philosophical and ethical discussions about everything under the sun. I always appreciate my debating partners’ views, especially if they’re backed up by solid arguments. And in fact, I really would love to know more about “… Nature’s forces That bind the world, all its seeds and sources And innermost life!”*

Have you found the answers yet?

Unfortunately, no. But driven by this thirst for knowledge, I became an autodidact at an early stage. Quite a few of the books I read still cause friends and acquaintances to shake their heads in disbelief: “Is that really what you read in your spare time?!” Because I don’t just read specialist, work-related books on maths and statistics, treasury management, corporate finance, investment banking and so on; I also read things like Goethe’s Faust, Kant’s Critiques, papers on brain research, Stephen Hawking’s A Brief History of Time.

How did your career develop after graduation?

While I was still studying, I started working as Head of Section at the head office of Dresdner Bank AG. This meant 18 months of commuting between my home town, Hamburg, and my new workplace in Frankfurt. In 2007, I took over as head of the Sales Management team while part of Dresdner Bank’s corporate banking unit was being incorporated into Dresdner Kleinwort Investment Bank (DKIB); subsequently I also became head of Product Management in DKIB’s new Global Cash Management division. My remit included deputising for the divisional director of Global Cash Management.
Then, when Dresdner Bank merged with Commerzbank, I was appointed International Head Cash Management & International Business.

I left Commerzbank in 2010 to take on the challenge of setting up a Public Sector Sales unit for Citigroup Global Markets Germany. By the end of 2012, however, it became clear that this wasn’t going anywhere, so I moved to my current job at BNP Paribas Group in Frankfurt. I’ll be looking for another senior management position in the future.

To what extent did your academic studies at Frankfurt School prepare you for the challenges of your current position as Senior Cash Management Sales Executive? What did you find especially useful?

My studies didn’t prepare me for my current role specifically, but my professional development since taking my degree has consistently allowed me to broaden my horizons. The strategic education I received has been extremely valuable in my previous positions as a senior executive at corporate HQ and in international sales. And the holistic thinking and networked approach to decision-making are also important in my current role.

Looking back, how important was your time as a student at Frankfurt School in the greater scheme of things?

In retrospect, it was a really exciting and exceptionally instructive period. I suspect I’ve always tended to think “holistically”, but my studies helped me to fine-tune my mental equipment in terms of methodology!

What’s your favourite memory of your time at Frankfurt School?

Being able to share views with other students with very different specialist backgrounds and in some cases, extensive personal experience – that was very special. And working on joint projects in teams – which were by no means always easy to coordinate – produced some impressive results. Not least because (if I may say so) our project paper was given a very good grade

How important are alumni for a business school? What do you think alumni can do for their alma mater?

I think alumni are very valuable. They ensure that students’ many – hopefully positive – experiences and contacts are retained and passed on to others. And when alumni act as mentors, for example, they can pass on their experience – and perhaps even a few morsels of worldly wisdom – directly to new generations of students.

In your free time you are also mentoring FS students?

That’s true. I’m now enjoying my second year of mentoring at Frankfurt School. In general, in my spare time, I like to help young people – especially when they’re keen to learn – who are currently having issues at school. My own children tell me I’m less patient with their homework – although so far I haven’t found a good explanation for why that should be so.

What’s your favourite motto?

As a matter of fact, I have three:

1) Very often, the problem isn’t being unable to do something, but being unwilling to do it!
2) You never stop learning!
3) Be true to yourself!

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen

call download fax letter pdf search x chevron
Stage Image

2006 machte Arne Borkowski seinen Abschluss als „diplomierter Bankbetriebswirt“ an der Frankfurt School of Finance & Management. Heute arbeitet er als Senior Sales Executive bei BNP Paribas in Frankfurt am Main.

Herr Borkowski, wie würden Sie sich selbst in wenigen Worten beschreiben?

Als gebürtiger Hamburger Jung lebe ich heute in Hessen ca. 25 Kilometer vor den Toren Frankfurts. Dort lebe ich seit August 2007 mit meiner Frau und meinen beiden Söhnen (12 und 15 Jahre). Und wenn es meine Zeit erlaubt, dann fahre ich auch sehr gerne einmal mein Motorrad.

Meine Interessen erstrecken sich vom Schachspielen bis zu ethisch-philosophische Diskussionen über „Gott und die Welt“. Dabei lege ich gerne Wert auf eigene und argumentativ stark unterlegte Meinungen meiner Gesprächspartner. Und ich wüsste auch nur zu gerne „was die Welt im Innersten zusammenhält“.

Sind Sie da schon zu einer Antwort gekommen?

Leider nein. Aber dieser innere Antrieb hat mich früh zum Autodidakten werden lassen und so manches Buch, das ich gelesen habe verursacht bei meinen Freunden und Bekannte nicht selten ein Kopfschütteln: „So etwas liest Du in Deiner Freizeit?“ Hier finden sich nicht nur Fachthemen, die ich im beruflichen Kontext brauchte wie Mathematik/Statistik, Treasury Management, Corporate Finance, Investment Banking etc., sondern auch Texte wie Goethes Faust, Kants Kritiken, Literatur zur Gehirnforschung sowie Stephen Hawkings kurze Geschichte der Zeit.

Wie ist Ihr Karriereweg nach dem Abschluss an der Frankfurt School verlaufen?

Noch während des Studiumd bin ich als Referatsleiter in die Zentrale der Dresdner Bank AG gewechselt. Dies war mit einer 18 monatigen Zeit des Pendelns zwischen meiner Heimat Hamburg und meine neuen Arbeitsstätte Frankfurt am Main verbunden. In 2007 übernahm ich im Rahmen der Integration eines Teils des Corporate Banking der Dresdner Bank in die Dresdner Kleinwort Investment Bank (DKIB) zunächst die Leitung des Sales Management und später zusätzlich die Leitung des Product Management im neuen DKIB Fachbereich Global Cash Management. Dort wirkte ich ebenfalls als Stellvertreter des Bereichsleiters Global Cash Management.

Im Rahmen des Zusammengehens von Dresdner Bank und Commerzbank übernahm ich dann die Funktion des International Head Cash Management & International Business.

2010 habe ich die Commerzbank verlassen und die Herausforderung zum Aufbau einer Vertriebseinheit Public Sector Sales für Citigroup Global Markets Deutschland angenommen. Ende 2012 zeichnete sich aber ab, dass dies keine Zukunft haben würde und ich wechselte daher in meine aktuelle Funktion zur BNP Paribas Gruppe in Frankfurt. Zukünftig strebe ich wieder eine Führungsaufgabe an.

Inwiefern hat Sie das Studium an der Frankfurt School auf die Anforderungen in Ihrer heutigen Position als Senior Cash Management Sales Executive vorbereitet?

Für meine derzeitige Rolle war das Studium nicht unmittelbar vorbereitend, allerdings hat mich mein Werdegang seither einen immer breiteren Horizont erfahren lassen. Die strategische Ausbildung war für die bisherigen Funktionen als Führungskraft in Zentrale und internationalem Vertrieb sehr wertvoll. Ganzheitliches Denken und vernetztes Agieren sind hingegen auch in meiner aktuellen Rolle sehr wichtig.

Welche Bedeutung hat Ihre Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School für Sie aus heutiger Sicht?

Rückblickend betrachtet war die Zeit wirklich spannend und außerordentlich lehrreich. Ich meine, dass ich schon immer eher „ganzheitlich“ gedacht habe. Allerdings habe ich durch das Studium einen Feinschliff des methodische Rüstzeugs erhalten.

Was ist Ihre schönste Erinnerung an Ihre Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School?

Der Austausch mit anderen Studenten mit sehr unterschiedlichen fachlichen Hintergründen und teils nicht unerheblichen Erfahrungshorizonten war etwas ganz Besonderes. Und die Erarbeitung einer gemeinsamen Studienarbeit – nicht immer nur einfach zu koordinieren – war im Ergebnis beeindruckend. Nicht zuletzt, weil unsere Studienarbeit sehr gut bewertet wurde, wenn ich das anmerken darf.

Welche Bedeutung haben Alumni für eine Hochschule? Was denken Sie können Alumni für ihre Hochschule tun?

Alumni halte ich für sehr wertvoll. Sie sichern den Erhalt und die Weitergabe der hoffentlich vielen positiven Erfahrungen und Kontakte. Und wenn Alumni sich zum Beispiel als Mentoren zur Verfügung stellen, dann lassen sich Erfahrungen und vielleicht auch einige Lebensweisheiten unmittelbar weitergeben.

Sie stellen sich ebenfalls als Mentor für die Studierenden der FS zur Verfügung?

Das ist richtig. Ich bin nunmehr auch im zweiten Jahr sehr gerne als Mentor an der Frankfurt School tätig. In meiner Freizeit befasse ich mich generell gerne mit der Begleitung von lernbereiten jungen Menschen, deren aktuelle schulische Laufbahn etwas holprig verläuft. Bei meinen eigenen Kindern gelte ich dabei als weniger geduldig. Dafür habe ich allerdings bis heute keine gute Erklärung.

Was ist Ihr Lebensmotto?

Genau genommen habe ich drei gelebte Motti:

1) Etwas nicht zu können ist nicht meist das Problem, sondern es nicht wollen!
2) Du lernst niemals aus!
3) Sei Dir selbst treu!

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen