call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

Christopher Kirsch‘s academic career is characterised by an unusual combination of subjects. Having previously earned a Bachelor’s degree in Film Scoring from Berklee College of Music in Boston, Kirsch – who was born in the Rhineland – graduated from Frankfurt School of Finance & Management last year, as a Master in International Business (MIB). Since March 2014, he has been working in the Financial Services unit of global management consultancy Accenture.

In this alumnus interview, he talks about his experiences studying at Frankfurt School and explains why it’s more exciting not to be top dog.

To what extent did your course at Frankfurt School prepare you for the challenges of your current job?

I had very little experience of the world of business when I started my degree course at Frankfurt School, so the first thing I needed to do was acquire a basic understanding of economics. One of the classes I took focused on Consulting; that’s been extremely useful in my current job. And there’s no question that the name “Frankfurt School” opens many doors. Nowadays, the business school is held in high regard in the corporate world and has a great reputation.

What influence did Frankfurt School have on you as a person?

As you’ll realise from my Bachelor’s degree, my background is actually in the Arts. Combining this knowledge with business concepts and economic theories expanded my horizons considerably. I approach problems differently these days, because now I have a whole toolkit of problem-solving skills at my disposal. As you know, consultants in particular are expected to be able to map out unfamiliar territory in a relatively short time. You can only do this if you’ve got the skills to identify structures and make logical connections.

What’s your favourite memory of your time at Frankfurt School?

I have some unforgettable memories of our trip to Kenya. One of the key criteria for my decision to study at Frankfurt School was being able to choose a regional focus – Africa, in my case. And having the opportunity to observe theory being put so effectively into practice was a genuinely enriching experience. During our two-week stay, we visited companies in Nairobi and attended executive seminars organised by United States International University, a Frankfurt School partner. My colleagues and I took advantage of the weekend to go on safari in the foothills of Mount Kilimanjaro.

What was your biggest challenge while studying?

Most of my fellow students already had Bachelor’s degrees in Business Administration, so they were familiar with the various subject areas. I wasn’t, however – I lacked basic knowledge of traditional things like Accounting. Of course this became very obvious at an early stage, and it took quite a bit of discipline for me to catch up.

What kind of ongoing connection do you feel you have with Frankfurt School?

Because I only recently finished my degree course, I still have quite a few points of contact with Frankfurt School, through friendships with former classmates, for example. But I also feel a certain kinship with the business school. Frankfurt School is an underdog, and I really like the whole feel of the place. Recent events in particular – the two accreditations, for example, and the new campus – all speak of an immense appetite for further development. It’s not particularly exciting to be top dog; it’s much more exciting to become one.

Thinking back over your time as a student, what advice would you give to people studying at Frankfurt School today?

If you work hard and stay interested, you can learn anything – I’m living proof of that! The point of going to university is to acquire knowledge and have the opportunity to try things out. For example, I took a “Financial Products” class while I was studying, in the full knowledge that I would find it really difficult. But at the end of the day, you shouldn’t just choose subjects you’re comfortable with – every now and then you should step right outside your comfort zone.

What are you expecting from Frankfurt School’s alumni activities?

Alumni always have a bond with their alma mater. I consider Frankfurt School to be an important stage on my journey through life. In the United States, I realised just how important alumni activities can be. With commitment and mutual support, both sides can benefit enormously. So I’m expecting Frankfurt School to create the right conditions for this to happen!

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen

call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

Christopher Kirsch‘s akademischer Werdegang weist eine ungewöhnliche Kombination auf. Nach dem Bachelor-Studium in Filmmusik am Berklee College of Music (Boston), hat der gebürtige Rheinländer vergangenes Jahr einen Master in International Business (MIB) an der Frankfurt School of Finance & Management erworben. Seit März 2014 ist er im Bereich Financial Services bei der Unternehmensberatung Accenture tätig.

Im Alumni-Interview berichtet er über seine Erlebnisse an und mit der Frankfurt School und warum es spannender ist, kein Platzhirsch zu sein.

Inwiefern hat Sie das Studium an der Frankfurt School auf die Anforderungen in Ihrer heutigen Position vorbereitet?

Ich hatte vorher nicht viel mit der Business Welt zu tun. Das Studium hat mir daher an erster Stelle ein Grundverständnis von der Wirtschaft vermittelt. Einer meiner Kurse behandelte den Bereich Consulting, was für meine jetzige Tätigkeit sehr nützlich ist. Sicherlich ist auch der Name „Frankfurt School“ ein Türöffner. Die Hochschule hat sich mittlerweile einen renommierten Ruf erarbeitet und ist bei den Firmen hoch angesehen.

Wie hat Sie die Frankfurt School geprägt?

Durch mein Bachelor-Studium habe ich eigentlich einen geisteswissenschaftlichen Hintergrund. Die Kombination mit wirtschaftlichen Sachverhalten und ökonomischer Herangehensweise hat meinen Horizont enorm erweitert. Ich gehe heute anders an Probleme heran und kann auf ein breites Spektrum an Problemlösungskompetenzen zurückgreifen. Besonders von Consultants wird bekanntlich erwartet, sich eine ungewohnte Umgebung relativ zügig zu erschließen. Da kommt es vor allem darauf an, Strukturen zu finden und Logiken zu erkennen.

Was ist Ihre schönste Erinnerung an die Studienzeit?

Unvergesslich bleiben für mich vor allem die Erinnerungen an die Exkursion nach Kenia. Ein Hauptargument für das Studium an der Frankfurt School war, einen regionalen Schwerpunkt – in meinem Fall Afrika – wählen zu können. Die Theorie dann so eindringlich in der Praxis zu beobachten, empfand ich als sehr bereichernd. Während der zweiwöchigen Exkursion besuchten wir Firmen in Nairobi und nahmen an Executive Seminaren der Partneruniversität United States International University teil. Das Wochenende nutzten meine Kommilitonen und ich dann für eine Safari am Fuß des Kilimandscharos.

Was war eine Ihrer größten Herausforderungen während des Studiums?

Die meisten Kommilitonen kannten BWL-Themen durch ihr Bachelor-Studium. Das war bei mir nicht der Fall. In klassischen Fächern wie Buchführung fehlten mir die Grundlagen. Das habe ich am Anfang natürlich gemerkt und es erforderte einige Disziplin, den Wissensstand aufzuholen.

Auf welche Weise fühlen Sie sich heute noch mit der Frankfurt School verbunden?

Da mein Studium noch nicht so lange zurückliegt, habe ich noch viele Berührungspunkte mit der Frankfurt School, zum Beispiel durch den Kontakt mit ehemaligen Kommilitonen. Darüber hinaus fühle ich mich der Hochschule auch „im Geiste“ verbunden. Die Frankfurt School ist ein Underdog und mir persönlich äußerst sympathisch. Besonders die jüngsten Ereignisse, wie die Akkreditierungen oder der Neubau, zeigen einen großen Hunger nach Entwicklung. Es ist nicht besonders spannend ein Platzhirsch zu sein, aber viel spannender ist es, einer zu werden.

Wenn Sie heute zurückdenken an Ihre eigene Studienzeit, was können Sie jetzigen Studierenden mit auf den Weg geben?

Mit einer Kombination aus Fleiß und Interesse kann man alles lernen. Ich bin der lebende Beweis. Eine Hochschule ist dazu da, sich Wissen anzueignen und auch mal Dinge auszuprobieren. Zum Beispiel habe ich während des Studiums den Kurs „Financial Products“ belegt, wohl wissend, dass er für mich persönlich einen hohen Schwierigkeitsgrad aufweisen würde. Aber schließlich sollte man nicht nur Fächer wählen, die einem bequem sind, sondern auch mal seine Komfortzone verlassen.

Welche Erwartungen haben Sie an die Alumni-Arbeit?

Alumni und Hochschule sind eng miteinander verbunden. Die Frankfurt School sehe ich als Teil meines Lebensweges. In den USA habe ich erfahren, was für einen hohen Stellenwert die Alumni-Arbeit haben kann. Mit Engagement und gegenseitiger Unterstützung können beide Seiten enorm voneinander profitieren. Von der Hochschule erwarte ich, dass sie hierfür die nötigen Rahmenbedingungen schafft.

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen