call download fax letter pdf search x chevron
String (#1180072755)
header

Felix Engelhardt (31) was awarded his Master of Finance degree by Frankfurt School in 2018. 

Felix Engelhardt is a Managing Director at Saxenhammer & Co., a Top 10 investment banking boutique in Germany’s SME sector. Before starting in his current role, Engelhardt spent more than 12 years working as Head of M&A at Carl Finance, in the transaction departments (investment banking divisions) of Commerzbank, Deutsche Bank and UBS in London and Frankfurt, and in various other roles – as a partner in a digital agency and an accelerator, for example.

How well did your academic studies prepare you for the challenges of working life, up to and including your current job? What did you find especially useful?

Studying at Frankfurt School was an excellent way to build on what I was doing before, and also prepared me technically for my investment banking career. The small class sizes, which enabled me to work very closely with my fellow students, allowed us to really get our teeth into the specialist topics. The teaching setup is ideal for honing your rhetorical skills and refining other soft skills. These skills are especially important at the senior management level in investment banking, as well as for building up your own networks. I still benefit from Frankfurt School network now – in my current job as Managing Director M&A at Saxenhammer, I’m always running into familiar faces from my student days.

Looking back, how important was your time as a student at Frankfurt School in the greater scheme of things?

The time I spent studying at Frankfurt School was an essential step in developing my career. On the one hand, it gave me the opportunity to get to know a lot of interesting people with whom I’ve stayed in touch ever since. On the other, my studies gave me profound insights into and access to the finance industry. All my courses featured case studies based on real-world scenarios and this, combined with my daily interaction with like-minded fellow students, was the icing on the cake. My previous professional experience as partner in an IT agency and an accelerator also helped me organise the many things I learned during the degree programme and subsequently apply them in my work.

What’s your favourite memory of your time at Frankfurt School?

I have no single favourite memory of the time I spent studying at Frankfurt School – rather, I look back with great pleasure on a multitude of uniquely special moments. Academically, I have fond memories of the highly practical courses run by Professor Werner, as well as the discussions we used to have with Professor Ecker during the Valuation course because they both contributed such a lot to my professional development. The culinary skills of my Italian fellow students also had a big influence on me – who would have believed that the university makes the best pasta in Frankfurt?

How important are alumni for a business school? What do you think alumni can do for their alma mater?

Alumni are exceptionally important to a business school because they’re both a product of and an advertisement for the institution. When it comes to further enhancing Frankfurt School’s already outstanding reputation, the strong alumni network plays a vital role. What’s more, alumni are indispensable when it comes to helping current students hook up with career opportunities. That’s why I’m happy to be part of the network and am always open to networking requests (https://www.linkedin.com/in/felix-engelhardt-cfa/) from people associated with Frankfurt School.

What’s your favourite motto?

I do not really have a motto that guides me through life. For me personally, it is important to build up long-term, long-lasting relationships.

As a consultant, you live on your reputation. That’s why my team and I go the extra mile to ensure we can really help our clients in every possible situation.

Employees appreciate it when they realise that you’re not just treating them as a number, but are genuinely interested in their personal development and in building friendships.

call download fax letter pdf search x chevron
String (#1180072755)
header

Felix Engelhardt (31) hat seinen Abschluss als Master of Finance an der Frankfurt School im Jahr 2018 gemacht.

Felix Engelhardt ist Managing Director bei Saxenhammer & Co., einer Top 10 Investment Banking Boutique im deutschen Mittelstand. Zuvor sammelte Felix Engelhardt über 12 Jahre Erfahrung als Head of M&A bei Carl Finance, in den Transaktionsabteilungen (Investment Banking Division) der Commerzbank, Deutsche Bank und UBS in London und Frankfurt sowie in vorherigen Stationen unter anderem als Partner einer Digitalagentur und eines Accelerators.

Inwiefern hat Sie das Studium auf die Anforderungen Ihrer bisherigen und aktuellen Tätigkeit vorbereitet? Was war besonders nützlich?

Das Studium an der Frankfurt School war eine exzellente Erweiterung zu meinen vorherigen Tätigkeiten und bereitete mich auch technisch auf den Job als Investmentbanker vor. Durch kleinere Kurse und engen Austausch mit Kommilitonen, entsteht intensiver Austausch zu fachlichen Themen. Der Rahmen ist ideal geeignet, um rhetorische Fähigkeiten zu schärfen und andere Soft Skills auszuprägen. Das sind Fähigkeiten, die besonders im Investmentbanking auf seniorer Ebene von Bedeutung sind, auch für den Aufbau des eigenen Netzwerkes. Vom Netzwerk der Frankfurt School profitiere ich ebenfalls noch heute. In meiner derzeitigen Tätigkeit als Managing Director M&A bei Saxenhammer begegne ich immer wieder bekannten Gesichtern aus meiner Studienzeit.

Welche Bedeutung hat Ihre Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School für Sie aus heutiger Sicht?

Die Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School ist essenziell für die Entwicklung meiner Karriere gewesen. Zum einen hat sie mir die Möglichkeit gegeben, viele interessante Menschen kennenzulernen, mit denen ich immer noch in Kontakt stehe. Auf der anderen Seite verschaffte mir das Studium einen fundierten Einblick und Zugang zur Finanzindustrie. Praxisnahe Fallbeispiele in allen Kursen und der tägliche Austausch mit gleichgesinnten Kommilitonen rundeten das Studium ab. Meine vorherige Berufserfahrung als Partner bei einer IT-Agentur und eines Accelerators hat mir dabei zusätzlich geholfen, die zahlreichen Learnings aus dem Studium einzuordnen und später im Beruf anzuwenden.

Was ist Ihre schönste Erinnerung an Ihre Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School?

Es gab während meiner Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School nicht die eine schönste Erinnerung, vielmehr blicke ich mit großer Freude auf eine Vielzahl einzigartiger Momente zurück. Akademisch erinnere ich mich gerne an die praxisorientierten Kurse mit Prof. Werner oder die Diskussionen mit Prof. Ecker im Valuation Kurs, da diese viel zu meiner beruflichen Entwicklung beigetragen haben. Geprägt hat mich auch der kulinarische Einfluss meiner italienischen Kommilitonen. Wer hätte gedacht, dass es die beste Pasta Frankfurts in der Uni gibt?

Welche Bedeutung haben Alumni für eine Hochschule? Was denken Sie können Alumni für ihre Hochschule tun?

Alumni sind für eine Business School extrem wichtig, denn sie sind sowohl das Produkt als auch das Aushängeschild der Institution. Um den ausgezeichneten Ruf der Frankfurt School weiter auszubauen, spielt ein starkes Alumni-Netzwerk eine sehr wichtige Rolle. Außerdem sind Alumni unverzichtbar, wenn es darum geht, Anknüpfungspunkte für aktuelle Studenten zu bieten. Deshalb freue ich mich, Teil des Netzwerks zu sein und bin offen für Kontaktanfragen (https://www.linkedin.com/in/felix-engelhardt-cfa/) aus dem Frankfurt School Umfeld.

Was ist Ihr Lebensmotto?

Ein wirkliches Lebensmotto habe ich nicht. Mir persönlich ist es wichtig langfristige und nachhaltige Beziehungen aufzubauen.

Als Berater lebt man von seinem Ruf. Deshalb gehe ich stets die Extrameile zusammen mit meinem Team, um meinen Klienten wirklich in jeder Situation helfen zu können.

Mitarbeiter wissen es zu schätzen, wenn Sie merken, dass sie nicht nur eine Nummer sind, sondern man sich wirklich für ihre persönliche Weiterentwicklung interessiert und Freundschaften aufbaut.