call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

After completing Frankfurt School’s Bank Administrator and Management Studies programmes, Kerstin Girmann (45) graduated in December 2001. The two part-time continuing education courses opened up new career opportunities for her. Even as she stayed with her existing employer, Nassauische Sparkasse, she made the move over to Dublin to join their Irish subsidiary. Added to her previous experience in Corporate Lending, the knowledge she acquired during her banking studies proved crucial for the next stage in her career. Kerstin Girmann gained even more professional experience while working in Ireland, and then spent another two years working as Credit Manager on the bank’s German portfolio.

She embarked on the next stage in her career in early 2004, when she took up the post of Head Auditor Lending Business in Nassauische Sparkasse’s internal audit department, combining her professional responsibilities with the management of a team. Since 2004, she has also worked as a part-time lecturer for Frankfurt School’s banking business game – an important part of the Bank Administrator course. The game is a banking simulation in which participants must manage the global banking operations of “Euro Business Bank AG” and deal with a variety of realistic market scenarios.

In October 2008, Kerstin Girmann joined Frankfurt School’s Education Management department as a coordinator. The Education Management team successfully guides trainees through the theoretical part of their training. Every year, more than 3,500 trainees in Germany benefit from the department’s help, from course enrolment right through to exam preparation. Two years later, in November 2010, she became the department’s Training Management Team Leader. In addition to leading her team and handling various management accounting activities, she also manages projects for Deutsche Bank’s Education Management programme.

How well did your academic studies prepare you for the challenges of working life, up to and including your current job? What did you find especially useful?

I was able to actively apply a lot of the banking knowledge I acquired on the Bank Administrator course to my work at Nassauische Sparkasse. And the Management Studies course prepared me for a leadership role; this really helped me while I was taking my first steps as a team leader and executive. I was able to focus on my team members and develop my own leadership style.

Looking back, how important was your time as a student at Frankfurt School in the greater scheme of things?

When I look back, my time as a student was a really important, formative period. Working closely with students from other banks, discussing ideas with faculty staff, building up my specialist and managerial know-how – these things all helped expand my horizons. What’s more, my courses gave me plenty of opportunity to explore a wide variety of specialist areas in more detail, enabling me to better appreciate and understand the various complex interactions and processes within the bank.

What’s your favourite memory of your time at Frankfurt School?

I particularly like to remember the time we co-wrote our final thesis for the Management Studies course as a team. For hours and days on end, we sat together, thought up ideas, made plans, threw them out again, wrote new ones… all with plenty of laughter and tears. It wasn’t always easy to combine four different opinions and points of view in a single paper – there were some rocky moments along the way. But we always managed to smooth things out and make things better between us, and in the end we submitted a great thesis.

How important are alumni for a business school? What do you think alumni can do for their alma mater?

Alumni relations are very important for business school and graduates alike. Alumni stay in regular contact with the business school, meaning they can provide students with real-world perspectives and help them by sharing experience. At the same time, alumni benefit from being able to stay abreast of the latest developments in their specialist areas. This tight interweaving of theory and practice creates a huge, collaborative network.

What’s your favourite motto?

Love it, change it or leave it!

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen

call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

Kerstin Girmann (45) absolvierte den Bankbetriebswirt und das Management Studium an der Frankfurt School, ihren Abschluss machte sie im Dezember 2001. Nach diesen berufsbegleitenden Weiterbildungen eröffneten sich ihr neue berufliche Perspektiven: für ihren Arbeitgeber, die Nassauische Sparkasse, wechselte sie direkt im Anschluss an das Management Studium zur Tochtergesellschaft nach Dublin. Neben ihrer vorherigen Erfahrung im Firmenkunden-Kreditgeschäft waren auch die Kenntnisse, die sie sich in den beiden Studiengängen angeeignet hatte, ausschlaggebend für den nächsten Karriere-Schritt. In Irland sammelte Kerstin Girmann weitere Berufserfahrung und arbeitete zwei Jahre als Credit Manager für das deutsche Portfolio. 

Der nächste Entwicklungsschritt folgte Anfang 2004: Kerstin Girmann übernahm bei der Nassauischen Sparkasse die Stelle als Prüfungsleiterin Kreditgeschäft in der internen Revision. Neben der fachlichen Verantwortung gehörte auch die Teamleitung mit dazu. Seit 2004 ist sie als nebenberufliche Dozentin für das Bankplanspiel im Bankbetriebswirt tätig – einer Banksimulation, bei der die Teilnehmer die Leitung ihrer global ausgerichteten Euro Business Bank AG übernehmen, die sich in wechselnden realitätsnahen Marktszenarien behaupten muss.

Im Oktober 2008 wechselte Kerstin Girmann als Referentin in den Bereich Azubimanagement der Frankfurt School. Das Azubimanagement begleitet Auszubildende erfolgreich durch den theoretischen Teil ihrer Ausbildung – vom Ausbildungsstart bis zur Prüfungsvorbereitung, über 3.500 Azubis jährlich in Deutschland. Zwei Jahre später, im November 2010 übernahm sie in dieser Abteilung die Teamleitung im Trainingsmanagement. Dazu zählt neben der Führung ihres Teams und Aufgaben im Controlling auch die Projektleitung für das Azubimanagement der Deutschen Bank.

Inwiefern hat Sie das Studium auf die Anforderungen Ihrer bisherigen und aktuellen Tätigkeit vorbereitet? Was war besonders nützlich?

Im Bankbetriebswirt habe ich viel Bankwissen erlernt, diese Kenntnisse konnte ich dann aktiv in meine Aufgaben innerhalb der Sparkasse einbringen. Durch das Management-Studium wurde ich auf die Führungsaufgaben vorbereitet. Diese Kenntnisse haben mir sehr geholfen, meine ersten Schritte als Teamleiterin und Führungskraft zu gehen. Ich konnte mich auf die Mitarbeiter konzentrieren und meinen eigenen Führungsstil finden.

Welche Bedeutung hat Ihre Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School für Sie aus heutiger Sicht?

Rückblickend war die Studienzeit sehr wichtig und prägend für mich. Die intensive Zusammenarbeit mit den Studierenden aus anderen Kreditinstituten, der Austausch mit den Dozenten und das Fach- und Führungswissen haben meinen Blickwinkel erweitert.
Das Studium gab mir die Gelegenheit, in viele fachliche Themen tiefer reinzuschauen und so die komplexen Zusammenhänge und Prozesse innerhalb der Bank besser zu erkennen und zu verstehen.

Was ist Ihre schönste Erinnerung an Ihre Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School?

Am liebsten denke ich an das Schreiben unserer Abschlussarbeit des Management Studiums im Team zurück. Wir haben Stunden und Tage zusammengesessen, überlegt, konzipiert, verworfen, neu geschrieben…und dabei gelacht und geweint. Es war nicht immer einfach, vier Meinungen und Sichtweisen in einem Werk zusammenzufassen – da hat es auch schon mal an der einen oder anderen Stelle geruckelt. Aber wir haben uns immer wieder zusammengefunden und am Ende eine tolle Arbeit abgeliefert.

Welche Bedeutung haben Alumni für eine Hochschule? Was denken Sie können Alumni für ihre Hochschule tun?

Die Alumni-Arbeit ist für Hochschule und Absolventen sehr wichtig. Die Alumni bleiben in regelmäßigem Kontakt zur Hochschule, sie können einen wichtigen Praxis-Beitrag liefern und die Studierenden durch ihre Erfahrungen begleiten. Andererseits profitieren die Alumni auch durch das Update der Lehre. Durch die enge Verknüpfung von Lehre und Praxis entsteht ein großes gemeinsames Netzwerk.

Was ist Ihr Lebensmotto?

Love it, change it or leave it!

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen