call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

Kristina Herzog was awarded her degree in Business Administration by Frankfurt School of Finance & Management in 1995. Today, she is a self-employed management consultant as well as a managing partner in two Frankfurt-based companies – Agilius-Gesellschaft für Interim Management GmbH (since 2009) and Frankfurter Familien Treuhand GmbH (since 2013). In her spare time, she also teaches on Frankfurt School’s mentoring program.

You studied Bank Administration at Frankfurt School. How did you organise your course work?

To be honest, when I first started my part-time studies, I was somewhat naïve about the huge workload involved. There were so many exciting new things to discover – in my new home, Frankfurt, with my new friends at Frankfurt School, and in my new job. But as I started to prepare for my first intermediate exams, reality caught up with me!

I quickly realised that a well-organised, self-disciplined study group can be immensely helpful in providing the support you need to cope with the heavy double workload that results from combining your studies with a full-time job. Our teamwork forged some lifelong friendships! My employer was also very supportive. As well as exciting work assignments, I was also repeatedly given enough free time to prepare for my written exams.

To what extent did your studies at Frankfurt School prepare you for the challenges of your current job? What did you find especially useful?

The main things we learned during the course – apart from the specialist content, of course – were how to be self-reliant, self-disciplined and critically analytical. But we also found we often needed to be creative. These are all skills I need on a daily basis in my current work as a freelance management consultant who also happens to run two companies and employ other people.

Looking back, how important was your time as a student at Frankfurt School in the greater scheme of things?

The experience I gained during my time as a student provided a solid foundation for my ongoing professional development. Not only did the course equip me with the specialist knowledge I needed to be able to evaluate various issues relating to the financial services industry and put them in their proper context; the ups – and downs! – of studying also helped me to develop as a person.

What’s your favourite memory of your time at Frankfurt School?

Quite some time has passed since my student days, but I have fond memories of the many parties, especially after our graduation ceremony! But the lifelong friendships I forged during my studies are definitely the most important thing.

The absolute highpoint was, of course, the semester I spent studying abroad in the United States. I was a student at Emory University in Atlanta, and then I worked as an intern at DZ BANK in New York. The semester at Emory University in particular gave me a new perspective on the contents of my course at Frankfurt School. Whereas the Frankfurt School course focused on technical issues, the Emory University course emphasized management skills. This opportunity to familiarise myself with these different approaches at an early stage in my career has certainly helped me in my professional and personal development.

How important are alumni for a business school? What do you think alumni can do for their alma mater?

While I was working as an intern in New York, I was living in a student hostel called International House. The hostel’s motto was “May brotherhood prevail”. Despite the old-fashioned language, the sentiment is very contemporary! It really means that by sharing your experiences with a community of peers, you’ll find it much easier to fulfil your dreams, goals and ideals.

That’s why I’ve been involved with the alumni association of International House New York since 1994, as well as helping to mentor women students at Frankfurt School. In our mentoring discussions together, I hope I can give other women on business courses some useful guidance in how to achieve the hopes and objectives they’ve set themselves while studying at Frankfurt School, and especially as they embark on their professional careers. Of course it would be wonderful if more “old hands” became involved in supporting the student community at Frankfurt School in this way.

What’s your favourite motto?

“Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.”

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen

call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

1995 machte Kristina Herzog ihren Abschluss zur Diplom Betriebswirtin an der Frankfurt School of Finance & Management. Heute ist sie selbstständige Unternehmensberaterin und geschäftsführende Gesellschafterin zweier Unternehmen in Frankfurt am Main: seit 2009 bei der Agilius-Gesellschaft für Interim Management GmbH und seit 2013 bei der Frankfurter Familien Treuhand GmbH. Nebenberuflich engagiert sie sich im Mentoring-Programm der FS.

Sie haben Bankbetriebslehre an der Frankfurt School studiert. Wie haben Sie Ihr Studium organisiert?

Ehrlich gesagt, bin ich etwas blauäugig an die Belastung des „berufsintegrierten Studiums“ herangegangen. Es gab sowohl in der neuen Heimat Frankfurt mit den neuen Freunden von der FS als auch im neuen Job sehr viel Spannendes zu entdecken. Aber spätestens bei der Vorbereitung auf die ersten Zwischenprüfungen hat mich die Realität wieder eingeholt.

Ich habe dann schnell verstanden, dass eine gut organisierte und selbstdisziplinierte Lerngruppe sehr hilfreich sein kann und einem über so manche Strapaze aus der Doppelbelastung von Studium und Beruf hinweg helfen kann. Aus der damaligen Teamarbeit sind Freundschaften fürs Leben entstanden! Eine große Hilfestellung war auch mein Arbeitgeber, der neben spannenden Tätigkeiten auch immer wieder ausreichend zeitliche Freiräume für die Klausurvorbereitung geschaffen hat.

Inwiefern hat Sie das Studium an der Frankfurt School auf die Anforderungen in Ihrer heutigen Position vorbereitet? Was war besonders nützlich?

Im Rahmen des Studiums haben wir, neben den fachlichen Inhalten, vor allem Eigenständigkeit, Selbstdisziplin und das kritische Hinterfragen von Themen gelernt. Sehr oft war aber auch Kreativität gefordert. Alles Faktoren, die ich in meiner heutigen Tätigkeit als selbstständige Unternehmensberaterin mit zwei Firmen und Mitarbeitern täglich brauche.

Welche Bedeutung hat Ihre Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School für Sie aus heutiger Sicht?

Mit den Erfahrungen aus dem Studium konnte ich ein breites Fundament für meinen beruflichen Werdegang legen. Zum einen hat mir das Studium das erforderliche fachliche Rüstzeug gegeben, um die relevanten Fragestellungen der Finanzdienstleistungsindustrie bewerten und in einen Kontext setzen zu können. Zum anderen hat mich das Studium mit seinen Höhen und auch Tiefen als Persönlichkeit geprägt.

Was ist Ihre schönste Erinnerung an Ihre Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School?

Bei mir liegt das Studium schon ziemlich lange zurück, aber mir sind viele Parties, insbesondere unsere Abschlussfeier, in guter Erinnerung geblieben. Am wichtigsten sind mir aber die lebenslangen Freundschaften, die im Studium entstanden sind.

Absolutes Highlight war natürlich das Auslandssemester in den USA. Ich habe an der Emory University studiert und anschließend ein Praktikum bei der DZ BANK in New York absolviert. Insbesondere das Semester an der Emory University hat mir neue Blickwinkel auf die Studieninhalte an der Frankfurt School eröffnet. Während an der FS damals die fachlichen Inhalte im Mittelpunkt des Studiums standen, lag der Fokus des Studiums an der Emory University auf den sogenannten „Management Skills“. Die Möglichkeit diese unterschiedlichen Perspektiven bereits im Studium kennenzulernen, hat mich fachlich und persönlich weiter gebracht.

Welche Bedeutung haben Alumni für eine Hochschule? Was denken Sie können Alumni für ihre Hochschule tun?

Während meines Praktikums in New York habe ich im International House, einem Studentenwohnheim, gelebt. Das Motto des Hauses, sprachlich etwas antiquiert, aber inhaltlich hoch aktuell, lautet: „May brotherhood prevail“ – soll heißen: Als Gemeinschaft kann man durch das Teilen von Erfahrungen Wünsche, Ziele und Ideale viel besser erreichen.

Ich engagiere mich daher seit 1994 in der Alumni-Vereinigung des International House New York und als Mentorin für Studentinnen an der Frankfurt School. Ich hoffe, den Studentinnen durch die gemeinsamen Mentoring-Gespräche etwas Orientierung geben zu können, sodass die mit dem Studium verbundenen Wünsche und Ziele während der Zeit an FS und vor allem danach im beruflichen Alltag erreichbar werden. Es wäre natürlich schön, wenn mehr „alte Hasen“ sich in dieser Art und Weise für die Gemeinschaft der FS-Studenten und ihre Hochschule engagieren würden.

Was ist Ihr Lebensmotto?

„Behandele Dein Gegenüber so, wie Du selber gerne behandelt werden möchtest.“

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen