call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

Entrepreneur, CEO, family businessman and assistant auditor at an auditing firm – Tom Teja Gothe certainly has a multifaceted CV, in which entrepreneurialism, family and friendships matter just as much as accuracy, structure and figures.

Since April 2014, Tom Gothe has been working for the Bochum-based auditing firm set up by his great-grandfather in 1936. He’s the fourth generation to follow in this family tradition. “At a very early stage, it was already clear to me that at some point, I would want to enter the family business. That’s why I worked as a student trainee at KPMG while studying for my Master’s degree at Frankfurt School, and why I did several internships with the Big Four before that,” explains Tom Gothe. He successfully completed his Master of Finance degree in 2011.

However, he didn’t just use his degree course to prepare for a career in auditing. Rather, he made the most of the opportunity to experience startup culture. At just 23 years old, Tom Teja Gothe became the cofounder and CEO of his own firm, art & friends GmbH & Co. KG. Under the trade name artistravel, the company organised holidays that included courses in art and photography. “My father had the idea at around the same time as I was starting at Frankfurt School. My family discussed whether such a business was feasible. My father took the view that as a student, I would have more time than he did, and if you were studying at a business school, then you should also be able to draw up a business plan and think through the theory,” says Tom Gothe.

Of course he had never drawn up a business plan before. But his course content helped – indeed, it had a direct influence on the artistravel project. “What legal issues should you keep in mind when starting a business; how do you draw up a budget income & expenditure account; what cost accounting tools make sense for startups? Of course, keeping accounts was important from the start, but only now have I fully realised just how complicated and difficult it all was. I was lucky enough to have professors who provided answers to some of my questions in their lectures, which we then used as the basis for our project,” he remembers.

In addition to Tom’s family, the team of founders included close friend Katja Siwek and another friend, Christoph Menke. “We’ve been good mates since our school days, and fortunately he’s not just an IT whizz kid, but also somebody who thinks in terms of solutions and often has brilliant ideas,” explains Tom Gothe. The student founders attached a high importance to IT systems from the start. “We always gave high priority to efficient management of data and customers, so we could build customer satisfaction while keeping our processes lean. We’ve benefited from these solid foundations ever since. In our first year, we booked 100 customers on our courses – today, well over 1,000 people take our holidays every year.”

But before they could acquire their first 100 customers, they had a lot to do. In 2009, Tom Gothe and his team finished their business plan and submitted it to various business startup competitions. Their hard-working weekend and overnight sessions paid off: in spring of 2010, artistravel came second in Germany’s “Senkrechtstarter” (Highflyers) competition.

“As well as helping with content, the structure of my course at Frankfurt School was also useful,” comments Tom Gothe. “We had to make a lot of presentations, and that’s great for learning how to put across your ideas clearly and convincingly. That was an important factor in the competition – as well as a set of reliable figures, of course.”

The seed money they won in the competition acted as a safety net and boosted their confidence. Initially they organised just a few holiday courses – as a kind of pilot project – but after these went well, they organised many more. Asked about the secret to his success, Tom Teja Gothe reflects for a moment. “There are lots of different things, of course, but if I had to name just one, it would be my outstanding team.”

He also used his final thesis to extend his knowledge and consolidate the model for his own business. “I wanted to work on a subject that I could relate to our business. And I found exactly what I needed in the Marketing department, with Professor Georgi (now at the University of Lucerne – Ed.). There I was able to research the ‘effectiveness of customer referral reward programmes’, based on our own data. And the result was actually quite surprising. Our customers didn’t find our bonus rewards for recruiting more customers in the least tempting – on the contrary, some of them were downright offended to be offered payment for recommending our holidays. So my Master’s thesis had a direct influence on our marketing strategy,” concludes Tom Gothe.

After finishing his Master of Finance degree at Frankfurt School, and as a young family startup entrepreneur, Tom then applied to join another, much larger company: Kamps. He was responsible for opening the bakery chain’s first overseas subsidiary, in London. “I worked there as executive assistant and as project manager in charge of opening two London branches. After all the years I’d spent on internships and as a student trainee at KPMG, I felt I needed some other kind of business experience.” Indeed, the experience he gained at Kamps was highly instructive – especially in terms of management skills. “Undoubtedly one of my biggest challenges was to convince a number of very different employees and business partners that changes to processes were a good thing. It’s all very well and good to think something over, work it all out and conclude the new way is better. But it only actually becomes effective once you persuade other people to implement it – no matter how difficult it may appear. At first I was definitely rather wet behind the ears there, but in the end it all worked,” he confesses.

Getting things done, admits Tom, is much faster in his small artistravel team. So after some years of valuable experience with Kamps, he decided to join the family firm full-time, as an assistant auditor in his great-grandfather’s auditing company, while continuing to perform his role as CEO of artistravel.

He does still visit Frankfurt occasionally. First, because his good friend and business partner Christoph Menke lives here. And second, because he likes to respond to proposals and requests from Frankfurt School’s Alumni Management team. He made the welcome speech at the last Bachelor Day, describing the start to his own career and the joys of self-employment. At FS President’s Night, he relished the opportunity to chat with faculty staff and other alumni, and has also taken part in a fundraiser for the new campus. “For me, alumni work is an opportunity to interact with exciting, clever people and expand my own horizons. What’s more, you can have so much fun with fellow Frankfurt Schoolers!”

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen

call download fax letter pdf search x chevron
Stage Image

Gründer, Geschäftsführer, Familienunternehmer und Prüfungsassistent bei einer Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft – Tom Teja Gothe hat eine vielseitige Vita. Darin spielen Unternehmergeist, Familiensinn und Freundschaften eine ebenso große Rolle wie Genauigkeit, Struktur und Zahlen.

Seit April 2014 arbeitet er in der Bochumer Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft, die sein Urgroßvater 1936 gründete. Damit setzt er die Familientradition in der vierten Generation fort. „Es war mir schon recht früh klar, dass ich irgendwann ins Familienunternehmen einsteigen wollte. Deshalb habe ich auch während meines Master Studiums an der Frankfurt School bei KPMG als Werkstudent gearbeitet und zuvor mehrere Praktika bei den Big Four absolviert“, erklärt Tom Gothe. 2011 schloss er seinen Master of Finance erfolgreich ab.

Allerdings nutzte er sein Studium nicht nur, um sich auf die Welt der Wirtschaftsprüfung vorzubereiten. Vielmehr nutzte er die Gelegenheit auch, um Start-up Kultur zu erleben. Denn mit gerade mal 23 Jahren wurde Tom Teja Gothe Mitgründer und Geschäftsführer einer eigenen Firma, der art & friends GmbH & Co. KG. Unter dem Namen artistravel führt das Unternehmen Reisen mit integrierten Kunst- und Fotografiekursen durch. „Mein Vater hatte die Idee ungefähr zu dem Zeitpunkt, als ich an der Frankfurt School anfing. Unsere Familie beriet sich, ob man so ein Unternehmen an den Markt bringen könnte. Mein Vater meinte, als Student hätte ich doch mehr Zeit als er und wenn man schon an einer Business School studierte, dann könne man ja auch einen Business Plan schreiben und die Theorie durchdenken“, so Tom Gothe

Einen Business Plan hatte er zwar auch noch nie aufgestellt. Doch die Inhalte des Studiums halfen und flossen unmittelbar in das Projekt „artistravel“ ein. „Worauf muss bei der Gründung rechtlich geachtet werden, wie erstellt man eine Planerfolgsrechnung und welche Tools aus dem Controlling können auch für ein Start-up sinnvoll sein? Natürlich war auch die Buchhaltung von Anfang an wichtig, aber erst jetzt merke ich wie umfangreich und schwierig das alles war. Zum Glück half es bei einigen Vorlesungen Fragen durch Professoren beantwortet zu bekommen, die wir dann als Grundlage für unser eigenes Projekt nutzten“, erinnert er sich.

Das Gründerteam, umfasste neben Toms Familie, einer engen Freundin, Katja Siwek, auch noch einen weiteren Freund: Christoph Menke. „Wir sind schon seit der Schulzeit eng befreundet und er ist glücklicherweise nicht nur ein IT Ass, sondern auch jemand der lösungsorientiert ist und dabei viele geniale Ideen beisteuert“, erzählt Tom Gothe
Denn auf die IT-Struktur haben die Studi-Gründer von Anfang an viel Wert gelegt: „Das Datenmanagement und die Kundenverwaltung hatte bei uns immer eine hohe Priorität damit wir zufriedene Kunden bei schlanken Prozessen haben. Diese Basisarbeit hilft uns bis heute. Im ersten Jahr hatten wir um die 100 Kunden in unseren Kursen, heute sind es deutlich über 1.000, die jedes Jahr mit uns verreisen.“

Doch vor den ersten 100 Kunden, musste einiges geschehen. Tom Gothe und sein Team schrieben 2009 den Business Plan und reichten ihn anschließend bei Gründerwettbewerben ein. Der Einsatz in Wochenend- und Nachtschichten zahlte sich aus. Im Frühjahr 2010 gewann „artistravel“ beim Wettbewerb „Senkrechtstarter“ den zweiten Platz.
„Neben den inhaltlichen Aspekten hat sicherlich auch die Art des Studiums an der FS geholfen“, erläutert Tom Gothe. „Man hält sehr viele Präsentationen und das hilft ungemein, wenn es darum geht, seine Ideen deutlich und überzeugend vorzutragen. Darauf kam es bei dem Wettbewerb neben einem belastbaren Zahlenwerk ganz wesentlich an.“

Die gewonnene Anschubfinanzierung gab Sicherheit und Selbstbewusstsein. Aus einigen Kursen – als Testballon – wurden, nachdem diese gut liefen, schnell viele Kurse. Nach dem Geheimnis des Erfolgs gefragt, denkt Tom Teja Gothe kurz nach. „Es gibt natürlich viele Faktoren. Doch wenn ich nur einen benennen sollte, dann wäre das das super Team“.

Darüber hinaus hat er auch die Abschlussarbeit genutzt, um sein Wissen für das eigene Geschäftsmodell zu erweitern. „Ich wollte ein Thema bearbeiten, dass ich mit unserem Unternehmen in Verbindung bringen könnte. Im Marketing Department bei Professor Georgi (heute Universität Luzern, Anm. d. Red.) war ich genau richtig. Dort habe ich den Nutzen von Kunden-werben-Kunden Aktionen am Beispiel unserer eigenen Daten untersucht: ,The effectiveness of cutomer reffereal reward programs‘, Das Ergebnis damals war ziemlich überraschend. Unsere Kunden fühlten sich keineswegs durch die Bonusprämien dazu verleitet, weitere Kunden anzuwerben. Im Gegenteil: Mitunter waren sie regelrecht beleidigt, dass sie für die Empfehlung bezahlt werden sollten. Die Masterarbeit hatte also einen direkten Einfluss auf unsere Marketingstrategie“, fasst Tom Gothe zusammen.

Im Anschluss an den FS Master of Finance und als junger Familien-Start-Up-Unternehmer, bewarb sich Tom zunächst bei einem anderen, weitaus größeren Unternehmen: Kamps. Für die Bäckereikette realisierte er die erste Filialeröffnung im Ausland (London): „Dort arbeitete ich als Assistent der Geschäftsführung und war als Projektmanager für die Eröffnung zweier Filialen in London verantwortlich. Nach all den Jahren als Praktikant und Werkstudent bei KPMG hatte ich den Eindruck, auch mal eine andere Erfahrung zu brauchen.“ Lehrreiche Erfahrungen habe er bei Kamps jede Menge gesammelt, insbesondere in Punkto Managementqualitäten. „Eine der größten Herausforderung war es sicherlich, ganz unterschiedliche Mitarbeiter und Beteiligte von Prozessveränderungen zu überzeugen. Es ist ja gut und schön, wenn man sich etwas überlegt, berechnet und denkt, dass es so besser ist. Wirksam wird es aber erst, wenn man andere dazu bringt, es auch umzusetzen egal wie undurchführbar es erscheint. Anfangs war ich dort mit Sicherheit etwas ‚grün hinter den Ohren‘ aber es hat letztendlich funktioniert“ gibt er zu.

Themen umsetzen, so räumt Tom ein, geht im kleinen Team von artistravel doch wesentlich schneller. So hat er sich nach den Lehrjahren bei Kamps auch entschieden, vollständig in die Familienunternehmen einzusteigen – als Prüfungsassistent in die Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft seines Urgroßvaters und fortdauernd in seiner Geschäftsführerrolle bei „artistravel“.

Nach Frankfurt kommt er jedoch immer noch ab und zu. Erstens, weil sein guter Freund und Geschäftspartner Christoph Menke hier wohnt. Und zweitens, weil er die Angebote und Anfragen des Frankfurt School Alumni Managements wahrnimmt. So hielt er beim letzten Bachelor Day eine Welcome Speech, worin er über seinen Einstieg ins Berufsleben und die Selbständigkeit sprach. Bei der FS President’s Night schätzte er den Austausch mit Professoren und anderen Alumni und beteiligte sich an einer Spendenaktion für den neuen Campus: „Alumniarbeit ist für mich die Möglichkeit mich mit spannenden und klugen Menschen auszutauschen um meinen Horizont zu erweitern. Außerdem hat man mit FSlern auch jede Menge Spaß!“

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen