call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

Mongolia, Azerbaijan, Kenya, the Philippines, Cambodia, Brazil, Palestine, Uganda… it’s a list that sounds like the answer to a trick question in a geography quiz. In actual fact, it’s Christian Rühmer’s answer to our question about where his business trips have taken him so far this year. The 44-year-old graduated from Frankfurt School (then Hochschule für Bankwirtschaft) in 1995 and started by embarking on a “perfectly ordinary banking career”. Since 2013, however, he has been working full-time as an independent consultant advising financial institutions and private equity funds.

Formative period at Frankfurt School

Christian Rühmer regards his “drive to do new things and keep improving them” as the common thread running throughout his life. This drive became apparent while he was studying at HfB (now Frankfurt School). “As students, we were given the opportunity to organise so many things ourselves, like the student council and the first social functions. We arranged seminars and sporting events between classes while we squabbled over who got to use the coin-operated copier or single Bloomberg terminal. The cosmopolitan attitude and personal commitment of our tutors – such as Professor Heidorn, Professor Cremers and Professor Leonardi (who died in January 1999) – made a positive impression on me right from the start. That’s why I became one of the seven founder members of the alumni association. In those days, there were still more students than alumni.”

Projects with International Advisory Services

Even after earning his Business Administration degree, Christian Rühmer has continued to maintain a close relationship with his alma mater. First, as chairman of the alumni association (of which he is still a member), and subsequently in a professional capacity – more specifically, in repeated collaboration with International Advisory Services. “In 2011, I moved to New York to further develop the management lending portfolio for Deutsche Bank. At the same time, I started advising microfinance institutions in my spare time. My first project involved setting up a cost-accounting system for a mutual savings bank in Bolivia and helping to launch Frankfurt School’s first Summer Academies on microfinance. Working with small financial institutions in developing countries has been a passion of mine ever since.”

New career as self-employed risk manager

Since 2013, Christian Rühmer’s spare-time activity has become his full-time occupation. On the whole, he found that “being a banker was actually quite exciting. You had to apply a precise, technical and mathematical mindset to your job. In the aftermath of the financial crisis in 2008, my work became even more interesting. The problems we were tackling on the restructuring side became more complex and challenging – all of a sudden, my job entailed representing my employer in court, negotiating funding transactions, or taking on half-finished real-estate projects and seeing them through to completion.”

Christian Rühmer describes problem-solving as his main passion and strength. But he found he was able to use this skill more often when working as a risk manager in developing countries. “The work I was involved in at the bank was steadily becoming more cautious and less entrepreneurial. But as a consultant, you’re expected to have entrepreneurial flair – typically, you’re finding solutions for a hospital chain in India’s slums, or unearthing sponsorship for students in Mexico. When you work on projects like this in small teams with plenty of creative ideas, you can be highly effective.”

Projecto Horizonte

Christian Rühmer’s desire to change and improve things was what drove him to set up the project that is clearly closest to his heart. In 2004, he founded a kindergarten in Bolivia. “At the time, I was looking for a small project I could set up myself. Sure, I was fairly naïve at the time, but in a way this helped to transform the germ of an idea into something genuinely significant. I learned a lot about the effectiveness of development aid; it was much more difficult than I thought it would be to help people in one of the poorest regions of Latin America to understand the value of education, schooling and health. The breakthrough finally came after a couple of years of really hard work.”

Today, the project employs 75 people, including teachers, psychologists, doctors and social workers. The kindergarten has been joined by a school and a health centre. More than 800 children make use of the new facilities. “Some of our first high-school graduates are now helping to organise leisure activities for the younger children – and in parallel with celebrating our tenth anniversary this year, we’ve started to hand over some of the responsibility for the project to the local community. It’s a huge success.”

Christian Rühmer has never been tempted to move to Bolivia full-time, however. He lives in New York, which he regards as “one of the most exciting and cosmopolitan cities in the world, with an amazing quality of life. I enjoy travelling on business,” he continues, “and I’m lucky enough to visit some truly remote places. But it’s important to have somewhere you can call home. My son was born in New York, and that’s where my family and I feel most at home.”

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen

call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

Mongolei, Aserbaidschan, Kenia, Philippinen, Kambodscha, Brasilien, Palästina, Uganda…Die Aufzählung klingt wie die Lösung eines kniffeligen Geographierätsels. Tatsächlich ist es Christian Rühmers Antwort auf die Frage, wo sein Beruf ihn in diesem Jahr schon hingeführt habe. Der 44-jährige hat 1995 seinen Abschluss an der Frankfurt School (damalige Hochschule für Bankbetriebswirtschaft) und dann zunächst „eine ganz normale Bankkarriere“ gemacht. Seit 2013 ist er in Vollzeit als selbständiger Berater für Finanzinstitutionen und Private Equity Funds tätig.

Gründerzeit an der Frankfurt School

Als roten Faden in seinem Leben bezeichnet Christian Rühmer, „den Antrieb etwas Neues zu machen und mitzugestalten.“ Das war auch schon während seines Studiums an der Frankfurt School (damals HfB) so: „Als Studenten hatten wir die Gelegenheit, vieles selbst aufzubauen, wie den Studentenrat und die ersten Feiern. Wir haben Seminare und Sportveranstaltungen organisiert und in den Pausen um den Zugang zum Münzkopierer oder um den einzigen Bloomberg Terminal gekämpft. Die Weltoffenheit und das Engagement – zum Beispiel von Professor Heidorn, Professor Cremers und Professor Leonardi (Januar 1999) – hat mir von Anfang an gut gefallen. Deshalb bin ich auch einer von sieben Gründungsmitgliedern des Alumni Vereins. Da gab es noch mehr Studenten als Absolventen.“

Projekte mit International Advisory Services

Seiner Hochschule ist der Betriebswirt jedoch nicht nur als Vorsitzender und späteres Mitglied des Alumnivereins verbunden geblieben. Auch beruflich hat er immer wieder mit der Frankfurt School, genauer gesagt den International Advisory Services, zusammengearbeitet. „2001 bin ich für die Deutsche Bank nach New York gegangen um das Kreditportfolio Management aufzubauen. Gleichzeitig habe ich angefangen, in meiner Freizeit auch Mikrofinanzinstitutionen zu beraten. Mein erstes Projekt war eine Kostenrechnung für eine Genossenschaftsbank in Bolivien aufzubauen und die ersten FS Summer Academies zum Thema Microfinance mitzugestalten. Seitdem begeistere ich mich für die Arbeit mit kleinen Finanzinstitutionen in Entwicklungsländern.“

Karrierewechsel zum selbstständigen Risikomanager

Seit 2013 ist aus der Freizeitbeschäftigung der Hauptberuf geworden. Christian Rühmer fand seinen „Banker Job eigentlich immer ziemlich spannend. Man musste ein präzises, technisches und mathematischen Denken zum Einsatz bringen. Mit der Finanzkrise 2008 wurden die Aufgaben noch interessanter. In dem Bereich der Restrukturierungen wurden die Probleme vielschichtiger und anspruchsvoller. Plötzlich ging es darum, meinen Arbeitgeber in Gerichtsverfahren zu vertreten, Refinanzierungen zu verhandeln, oder halb fertige Immobilienprojekte zu übernehmen und die Fertigstellung zu betreuen.“

Das Problemlösen bezeichnet Rühmer als seine Leidenschaft und Stärke. Diese konnte er jedoch stärker als Risikomanager in Entwicklungsländern zum Einsatz bringen. „Mein Aufgabengebiet in der Bank wurde zunehmend vorsichtiger und weniger unternehmerisch. Doch genau das unternehmerische Moment ist als Berater gefragt. Da geht es darum, Lösungen für eine Krankenhauskette in indischen Slums oder einen Studienfinanzierer in Mexiko zu finden. Bei diesen Projekten können wir in kleinen Teams mit kreativen Ideen viel bewirken.“

Projecto Horizonte

Der Drang etwas zu verändern und zu verbessern hat ihn auch zu seinem Herzensprojekt getrieben: 2004 gründete Rühmer in Bolivien einen Kindergarten. „Damals habe ich nach einem kleinen Projekt gesucht, das ich selbst aufbauen konnte. Es war schon eine gewisse Naivität dabei, die aber half, aus einer Idee etwas richtig Großes wachsen zu lassen. „Ich habe viel über die Wirksamkeit der Entwicklungshilfe gelernt. Es war schwieriger als erwartet, den Menschen in einer der ärmsten Region Lateinamerikas den Wert von Bildung, Erziehung und Gesundheit nahezubringen. Der Durchbruch gelang nach ein paar Jahren nachhaltiger Arbeit.“

Mittlerweile hat das Projekt 75 Mitarbeiter, darunter Erzieher, Psychologen, Ärzte und Sozialarbeiter. Neben dem Kindergarten gibt es nun auch eine Schule und eine Gesundheitsstation. Über 800 Kinder nutzen das Angebot dieser Einrichtungen. „Von den ersten Absolventen aus unserer High School engagieren sich nun einige in der Gestaltung des Freizeitangebotes für die Jüngeren und mit dem 10. Jahrestag dieses Jahr haben wir auch begonnen einen Teil der Verantwortung an die lokale Gemeinschaft zu übergeben. Das ist ein toller Erfolg.“

Sein Wohnort wollte Rühmer jedoch nie nach Bolivien verlegen. Diesen hat er in New York, „eine der spannendsten und internationalsten Städte mit erstaunlicher Lebensqualität“, die er je gesehen habe. „Ich bin gerne beruflich unterwegs und reise in entlegene Winkel der Erde. Doch es ist wichtig, auch ein Zuhause zu haben. Mein Sohn ist in New York geboren und wir fühlen uns hier daheim.“

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen