call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

Lena Wolf is from Germany; however she grew up in Kazakhstan. She currently lives in London and works as an Admin Officer for the Risk Department at the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD). She participated in the Summer Academy in Micro and SME Banking (2014) organised by Frankfurt School.

Lena, you’re currently working at the European Bank of Reconstruction and Development. What’s your position? What are your responsibilities and some of the challenges you face?

Currently I work as an admin officer for the Risk Department at EBRD. Our projects take place in developing countries in Eastern Europe, Central Asia and North Africa. More specifically I work for the Portfolio Review team that monitors the risks of the projects. Most of the projects have a very large exposure, but we also have a few SMEs (Small and Medium Enterprises).

Why did you decide to participate in the FS Summer Academy 2014?

Last year there were discussions within the bank to be more involved in direct SME finance. As I had very little experience in SME finance, I saw a great opportunity to learn more about it and the Summer Academy in Micro and SME Banking was a great platform for it.

What was you experience of the Summer Academy like? What did you like best?

 I truly enjoyed the Summer Academy. It was really well organised, the lectures were well structured. The lecturers themselves were very approachable and you could ask questions after the sessions. There was a huge amount of information but the delivery methods made it easier to deal with. The Summer Academy also offered a wide range of social events which was very useful for participants to get to know each other.

In terms of courses I enjoyed my technical electives, I had Risk and Financial Management and SME Banking, but also a Leadership elective and Social Performance Measurements.

Looking back on the past year – How has the summer school been helpful for you? Can you use your learning on the job?

It definitely helped me to understand the risks of SME development projects and working in a Risk Department this information can be very useful.

What about contacts you made? Are you still in touch with fellow Summer Academy alumni?

I have to say I met some fantastic people at the Summer Academy and I am still in touch with some of them.

What is your best memory of your time at Frankfurt School?

Actually everything was really good. A good mixture of knowledge combined with social events.

The Summer Academy only lasts a week – still, you’re now part of the FS alumni community. What do think about being part of the FS alumni network?

I think becoming part of FS alumni community is the best part of it. Being in London and belonging to the FS alumni community gives you a great opportunity to meet others who went to Frankfurt School as well.

Have you benefitted from the FS alumni network, yet?

The alumni events here in London are really well organised. The slightly ‘informal’ settings of the alumni events makes it easy to meet others who did different programmes at Frankfurt School and now live in London. So far I am the only one in London who participated in the Summer Academy, but I hope there will be more with time. Last time I had the opportunity to talk to our Vice President at EBRD – Luise Holscher, who used to be a Professor at Frankfurt School. We had a great conversation over some nice food and a glass of wine, which would not have been possible without the alumni evenings. Thank you for organising the events.

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen

call download fax letter pdf search x chevron
Stage Image

Lena Wolf ist in Kasachstan aufgewachsen, kommt jedoch aus Deutschland. Zurzeit lebt sie in London, wo sie im Risk Department der European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD) als Admin Officer tätig ist. Sie hat an der FS Summer Academy in Micro und SME Banking (2014) teilgenommen.

Lena, du arbeitest bei der European Bank of Reconstruction and Development. Kannst du uns etwas über deinen Tätigkeitsbereich und die Herausforderungen in deinem Beruf erzählen?

Zurzeit arbeite ich als Admin Officer für das Risk Department der EBRD. Wir haben Projekte in vielen Entwicklungsländern wie Osteuropa, Zentralasien und Nordafrika. Genauer gesagt arbeite ich für das Portfolio Review Team. Da viele unserer Projekte eine sehr hohe Risikolage aufweisen, liegt es an uns, diese zu überwachen. Zusätzlich betreuen wir auch einige SMEs (kleine und mittlere Unternehmen).

Warum hast du dich für die FS Summer Academy 2014 entschieden?

Letztes Jahr wurden innerhalb der Bank Gespräche darüber geführt, ob man sich mehr im direkten SME Finanzwesen engagieren solle. Da ich in diesem Bereich bis dato nur wenige Erfahrungen sammeln konnte, sah ich eine tolle Gelegenheit, mehr darüber zu lernen. Die Summer Academy in Micro und SME Banking bot sich diesbezüglich als eine sehr gute Plattform an.

Wie waren deine Erfahrungen in der Summer Academy? Was hat dir am meisten gefallen?

Ich habe die Summer Academy wirklich genossen. Sie war sehr gut organisiert und die Vorlesungen waren auch gut strukturiert. Die Dozenten waren sehr aufgeschlossen, sodass man selbst nach den Seminaren die Gelegenheit hatte Fragen zu stellen. Der Lehrstoff war sehr umfangreich, die Lehrmethoden der Dozenten waren jedoch wirklich so gut, dass man den Seminaren leicht folgen konnte. Das Angebot an Freizeitaktivitäten der Summer Academy ist sehr groß. Diese Angebote ermöglichen es den Teilnehmern sich näher kennenzulernen.

Was die Seminare angeht, habe ich meine technischen Wahlfächer sehr genossen. Ich habe Risk and Financial Management, SME Banking, Leadership und Social Performance Measurements belegt.

Wenn du auf das letzte Jahr zurück blickst – Wie hat dir die Summer School geholfen? Kannst du das Erlernte in deinem Beruf anwenden bzw. gebrauchen?

Die Teilnahme an der Summer Academy hat mir definitiv dabei geholfen die Risiken in den SME Development Projekten zu verstehen. All die Informationen waren sehr hilfreich, besonders wenn man in einem Risk Department arbeitet.

Wie stehst du zu deinen Kommilitonen? Hast du noch Kontakt zu ehemaligen Summer Academy Alumni?

Ich habe viele außergewöhnliche Menschen kennengelernt und bin mit einigen auch noch in Kontakt.

Was ist deine schönste Erinnerung wenn du an die Zeit an der Frankfurt School zurück denkst?

Um ehrlich zu sein war wirklich alles richtig toll. Es war eine großartige Mischung aus Wissenswertem und spannenden Freizeitangeboten.

Die Summer Academy dauert nur eine Woche – trotzdem bist du nun ein Teil des FS Alumni Netzwerks. Was denkst du darüber?

Ich denke, dass der Eintritt in das FS Alumni Netzwerk das Beste an allem ist. In London zu sein und gleichzeitig zur FS Alumni Community zu gehören, ermöglicht es mir, verschiedene Menschen zu treffen, die auch an Programmen der Frankfurt School teilgenommen haben.

Hast du schon vom FS Alumni Netzwerk profitieren können?

Die Alumni Veranstaltungen in London sind wirklich sehr gut organisiert. Die ‘informelle’ Atmosphäre der Alumni Events macht es einem sehr leicht, Menschen in London kennenzulernen, die verschiedene Programme an der Frankfurt School besucht haben. Bis jetzt bin ich die Einzige in London, die an der Summer Academy teilgenommen hat, aber ich hoffe, dass sich das mit der Zeit ändern wird. Das letzte Mal bekam ich die Möglichkeit mich mit unserer Vizepräsidentin an der EBRD zu unterhalten – Luise Holscher, die früher Professorin an der Frankfurt School war. Wir hatten ein wirklich tolles Gespräch, was ohne die Alumni Events nicht möglich gewesen wäre. Vielen Dank für die Organisation dieser Events.

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen