call download fax letter pdf search x chevron
"jcr:9d665a47-5f17-4286-b32f-67e926b3a5cb" (String)
homecoming header

“Back on Campus: Coming together again!”

On 18 September 2021, Frankfurt School celebrated the traditional FS Alumni Homecoming event. After last year’s online version, over 350 guests and participants attended this year’s Homecoming in person as it made a triumphant return to the Frankfurt campus. The Alumni Relations team was responsible for sending out invitations. Highlights included workshops on a range of topical subjects, a keynote speech by soccer expert and business entrepreneur Urs Meier – and, of course, the traditional evening barbecue on the North Terrace, where FS Community members were able to enjoy each other’s company in relaxed surroundings. In the morning, before the programme officially started, alumni celebrating their Class of 1995, 1996, 2000, 2001, 2010 and 2011 anniversaries met up for an exclusive President’s Breakfast in the Executive Lounge.

Following the welcoming address by Professor Nils Stieglitz, President of Frankfurt School, and Francisca Blenich, Manager Alumni Relations, guests attended the first workshop session of the day. In a total of six parallel workshops, participants shared and discussed their thoughts on IPOs and SPACs, corporate liquidity management during the pandemic, the impact of COVID on sovereign debt, career development tactics, the rise of cryptocurrencies, and future-proof business cases (ESG). Each workshop had two leaders: a Frankfurt School faculty member and a Frankfurt School alumnus or alumna. “I was impressed by the panel and by the discussions between members of the FS Community; it all gave me a lot of food for thought. We had a very lively debate about ESG factors and how they’ll affect tomorrow’s business world,” commented Victor Lanckriet, an alumnus of the Master in Management Class of 2020 now working as a Project Analyst Pay Per Use at ING, who attended the workshop led by Professor Ulf Moslener and FS alumnus Mark Hoff.

Networking, tasting, touring the campus, listening to the keynote

Over lunch, the visiting alumni chatted to former fellow students and other FS alumni and visited the tasting stands run by Vera Spirits and sailwithus, as well as the waffle stand sponsored by FS Alumni e.V. Some of them were first-time visitors to the business school’s Frankfurt Nordend campus, which opened in 2017, and gladly accepted the offer of a guided campus tour.

After a second workshop session in the afternoon, everybody assembled in Frankfurt School’s Audimax lecture theatre to listen to the keynote speech by Urs Meier – entrepreneur, Top 100 speaker and soccer expert. In a talk entitled “Between the frontlines – decisions under pressure”, he spoke about his experience as a former soccer referee. “Referees make between 250 and 300 decisions during a match – under enormous time pressure,” he told his listeners, adding: “Every big decision is also a big risk. But it’s a risk we have to take to change the way people think.”

Evening barbecue, the Frankfurt School spirit, final impressions

In a positively festive atmosphere, alumni, faculty members and Frankfurt School staff finished the evening with a barbecue and drinks on the campus’s North Terrace.

“We had a great day! I learned a lot, found myself way out of my comfort zone, met loads of new people and caught up with old friends,” laughed Julian Schmidt, an alumnus of the Master in Management Class of 2020, who now works as an analyst at SGT Capital.

“A great opportunity to network and appreciate that special Frankfurt School spirit. But also to experience Frankfurt School as it is now, with its new infrastructure and state-of-the-art curriculum,” enthused Markus Brandau, an alumnus of the Diplom-Betriebswirt Class of 2000 now working as Head of Strategy Execution/Group Procurement at Merck KGaA.

“Back then, we’d never have dreamed that Frankfurt School would develop the way it has – it’s done everything right! I’m particularly impressed by the close cooperation between the university and the Alumni association. This event clearly shows just how well they work together,” confirmed Matthias Spletzer, an alumnus of the Diplom-Betriebswirt Class of 2003 now working as Relationship Manager Financial Institutions at KAS BANK N.V.

A big thank-you to all our partners

Frankfurt School’s Alumni Relations team would like to thank all the partners who so generously supported this event and by doing so, made it unique: Fitvia, FLIK Sektmanufaktur, Alliance Concept, Vera Spirits, Bembel with care, sailwithus and in particular Frankfurt School Alumni e.V., which is celebrating its 25th anniversary this year. Many thanks to you all for your fantastic support and collaboration!

Homecoming_Partner

call download fax letter pdf search x chevron
"jcr:9d665a47-5f17-4286-b32f-67e926b3a5cb" (String)
homecoming header

„Back on Campus: Coming together again!”

Mit über 350 Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern feierte die Frankfurt School am 18. September 2021 ihr traditionelles FS Alumni Homecoming – in diesem Jahr wieder in Präsenz auf dem Frankfurter Campus. Das Team Alumni Relations hatte zu dem exklusiven Alumni-Event eingeladen. Höhepunkte waren die Workshops zu aktuellen Themen, die Keynote von Fußballexperte und Unternehmer Urs Meier sowie das abendliche Barbecue auf der Nordterrasse, bei dem sich die FS Community in entspannter Atmosphäre austauschen konnte. Alumni der Jubiläumsjahrgänge Class of 1995, 1996, 2000, 2001, 2010 und 2011 trafen sich bereits am Morgen, vor offiziellem Programmstart, zu einem exklusiven President’s Breakfast in der Executive Lounge.

Nach Begrüßung durch FS-Präsident Professor Dr. Nils Stieglitz und Francisca Blenich, Manager Alumni Relations, startete die erste Workshop-Session des Tages. In insgesamt sechs Workshops konnten sich Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer zu Börsengängen und SPACs, Unternehmensliquiditätsmanagement während der Corona-Pandemie, Staatsverschuldung in der Pandemie, Taktiken der Karriereentwicklung, den Aufstieg der Kryptowährungen und Zukunftssichere Business Cases (ESG) austauschen und diskutieren. Die Workshopleitung übernahmen Tandems aus je einem FS-Professor bzw. einer FS-Professorin und einem FS Alumni. „Ich war beeindruckt von dem Panel, von dem Austausch innerhalb der FS-Community und habe einiges dazugelernt. Wir hatten eine sehr lebendige Diskussion über die ESG-Faktoren und wie diese die Geschäftswelt zukünftig beeinflussen“, erzählte Victor Lanckriet, FS-Alumnus Master in Management Class of 2020 und Project Analyst Pay Per Use bei ING, der den Workshop mit Professor Dr. Ulf Moslener und FS-Alumnus Mark Hoff besuchte.

Netzwerken, Tasting, Campusführungen und Keynote

Beim Mittagessen tauschten sich die FS-Alumni mit ihren ehemaligen Kommilitoninnen und Kommilitonen und weiteren FS-Alumni aus und besuchten die Tasting-Stände, etwa von Vera Spirits, sailwithus oder den vom FS Alumni e.V. gesponsorten Waffelstand. Einige waren zum ersten Mal auf dem 2017 eröffneten Campus im Frankfurter Nordend und nahmen das Angebot einer Campus Tour wahr.

Nach einer zweiten Workshop-Session am Nachmittag versammelten sich alle Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer im FS Audimax zur Keynote mit Urs Meier, Unternehmer, Top 100 Speaker und Fußballexperte. Unter dem Titel „Between the frontlines – decisions under pressure“ sprach er über seine Erfahrung als ehemaliger Fußballschiedsrichter. „250 bis 300 Entscheidungen trifft ein Schiedsrichter während eines Spiels – unter enormen Zeitdruck“, erzählte er und führte weiter aus: „Eine große Entscheidung ist immer auch ein großes Risiko. Aber wir müssen dieses Risiko eingehen, um die Denkweise der Menschen zu ändern.“

Barbecue am Abend, FS-Spirit und Impressionen

Bei feierlicher Atmosphäre, Barbecue und Drinks ließen die Alumni, Professorinnen und Professoren sowie FS-Mitarbeiterinnen und -Mitarbeiter den Abend auf der Nordterrasse des Campus ausklingen.

„Der Tag war großartig! Ich habe heute Vieles dazugelernt, bin über meinen Horizont hinausgestiegen, habe neue Leute kennengelernt und Freunde getroffen“, erzählte Julian Schmidt, FS-Alumnus Master in Management Class of 2020 und Analyst bei SGT Capital.

„Eine tolle Chance, um zu Netzwerken und den großartigen FS-Spirit zu spüren. Aber auch, um die Frankfurt School mit ihrer heutigen Infrastruktur und ihren aktuellen Themen mal wieder zu erleben“, zeigte sich auch Markus Brandau, FS-Alumnus Diplom-Betriebswirt Class of 2000 und Head of Strategy Execution / Group Procurement bei Merck KGaA, begeistert.

„Wir hätten uns damals nicht träumen lassen, dass sich die Frankfurt School einmal so entwickelt – alles richtig gemacht! Besonders beeindruckt bin ich von der Zusammenarbeit der Hochschule mit dem Alumni Verein. Wie gut das funktioniert, zeigt dieses Event allemal“, erzählte Matthias Spletzer, FS-Alumnus Diplom-Betriebswirt Class of 2003 und Relationship Manager Financial Institutions at KAS BANK N.V.

Ein Dank an alle Partner

Das Alumni Relations Team der Frankfurt School bedankt sich bei allen Partnern, die dieses Event großzügig unterstützt und somit einzigartig gemacht haben: Fitvia, FLIK Sektmanufaktur, Alliance Concept, Vera Spirits, Bembel with care, sailwithus und insbesondere beim Frankfurt School Alumni e.V., der in diesem Jahr zudem sein 25-jähriges Jubiläum feiert. Herzlichen Dank für die großartige Zusammenarbeit!

Homecoming_Partner