call download fax letter pdf search x chevron
String (#1047995721)

Our Locations

Types of accommodation

It’s very important to start your search for suitable accommodation as soon as possible. Finding the right accommodation in a major city can take some time.

Private student hostels

In private student hostels or residences, you usually have your own room and often your own bathroom. Common areas such as kitchens are often shared with other students living on the same corridor. Private hostels are usually furnished and sometimes offer extra amenities such as separate study rooms. Prices start at around €600 per month. Most tenants in student hostels are students, so hostels are a great option if you’re new to Frankfurt and looking to meet people. They’re also the easiest option if you’re moving to Frankfurt from abroad, even if you just plan to stay in the hostel temporarily.

Flat share (Wohngemeinschaft - WG) 

In a flat share, you have your own (bed)room and share the rest of the flat – kitchen, bathroom, lounge and so on – with your co-tenants. Depending on the flat’s size, amenities and location, rental prices for a room in a flat share start at around €400 per month. Rooms in shared flats are usually unfurnished, but you can also find furnished rooms if you’re looking for temporary accommodation (known as “Zwischenmiete”). The number of co-tenants can vary from 1 to 4, depending on the size of the flat. Flat shares are also a great way to meet new people, but you do need to be sure you don’t mind sharing a bathroom and kitchen. It’s probably best to meet your future flatmates for a coffee before moving in, to find out if you get on and whether your lifestyles are compatible.

Renting your own flat

If none of the above options appeal to you, you should probably find a flat of your own, either for yourself or for you and your partner. On average, renting your own flat is more expensive than sharing a flat, with rental prices starting at around €500 a month. This is the best option for people who like having their own private space. But it’s also the most challenging option, as finding a flat in Frankfurt can take a while and the market is quite competitive.

What to look out for

When searching for a flat to rent, be aware that quoted prices are usually just for basic rental (“Kaltmiete” in German). On top of this, you’ll have to pay additional costs such as electricity, heating and water. All these costs added together comprise the flat’s full rental price or “Warmmiete”. Normally, you’ll have to arrange any electricity and Internet services (e.g. via Vodafone) for yourself. Total costs will be based on the options you agree in your contract. Be aware that after the first year, utility costs will often be adjusted according to your actual usage, which could mean you end up paying more at the end of the year or when your contract finishes.

Applying for accommodation

First contact

When searching for accommodation, it’s easier to do it by coming to the city in person. Landlords are more likely to agree to let their accommodation if they’ve met you in person beforehand. But if you’re unable to visit the city, you can always ask them to join you on a Skype call. During the peak period before the start of the academic year, a lot of people are looking for flats or rooms, so you may not get a reply from landlords when you message them because they’re inundated with requests. Landlords usually only answer applicants who match their preferred tenant profile. 

If you’re interested in a flat and have already been to view it, you need to be very quick in getting back to the landlord and providing them with all the documents and information they need, otherwise you’ll probably lose the flat to someone else. Check rental accommodation websites regularly for new ads, and sign up for e-mailed updates. When you first contact a landlord, you should introduce yourself, tell them what you’re doing in Frankfurt, and ideally explain how you’ll pay your rent. Landlords can be picky when renting out to students, because they expect them to be noisy and reluctant to pay their bills. Reassure your landlord that you’re not like that! Landlords will often accept your parents as guarantors or primary tenants if you won’t be paying for the flat yourself.

Viewings

If possible, go to view flats or rooms with someone who speaks good German and can support you. Very probably the landlord will invite you to a group viewing, so you won’t be the only person there. Take the opportunity to ask all your questions during the viewing and if you’re interested in the flat, let the landlord know without being too pushy. If you notice any damage to the flat while you’re looking around, you should ask the landlord politely what they intend to do about it - and as soon as you get the keys for the flat, record any defects in the handover report ("Protokoll"). Otherwise you might find yourself saddled with unnecessary costs when you move out.

Contract

When you’re offered a contract, you should read through it very carefully - especially if it was drawn by the landlord themselves. A rental contract should contain the following details:

  • Monthly basic rent (i. e. the "Kaltmiete", excluding additional charges) 
  • Monthly charges for amenities (such as water, heating, taxes, gas and garbage collection)
  • Tenancy start and end dates (in case of fixed-term rental agreements)
  • Notice period in the case of open-ended rental agreements (statutory notice period: 3 months)
  • Other rights of use (e.g. access to cellar, communal rooms, garden etc.)
  • Agreed redecoration/ refurnishment work when tenant moves out
  • Be aware that once you’ve signed the rental contract, you have no right of withdrawal. It’s best to ask someone local read through the contract first.
  • Landlords have the right to adjust rental costs by certain percentage every year, in line with the rate of inflation ("Staffelmiete")

If you’re going live in private student hostel or residence, the application and contracting process is usually much easier and faster.

Finding accommodation - the A-Z guide

Fraud

Please be aware that fraudulent offers regulary appear on the internet. Signs that an offer is fraudulent include e.g. poor German or English, and very cheap prices for large flats in very popular locations. Often these offers will tell you that the landlord has moved abroad, so is unable to meet you in person. Another obvious sign is asking you to send money before you can view the flat - an invitation you should always ignore. If you’re not sure whether an offer is fraudulent, ask someone for a second opinion.

Application documents

When you apply for a tenancy, you’ll have to provide the landlord with various documents. Usually this includes a completed "Mieterselbstauskunft" form (application form with personal details), your last three wage/salary slips (or proof of your parents’ financial status), proof of university enrolment and/or employment contract and some landlords may also ask for a SCHUFA (credit rating) report.

Deposit

Landlords usually require a security deposit equivalent to three months’ rent before allowing you to move in. This security deposit will be returned to you once you move out, provide you keep your room or flat in good condition.

Registering your address in Germany

Once you’ve found the right accommodation and signed the contract, you must visit the Bürgeramt (Citizens’ Registration Office) within two weeks and register yourself at your new address. This is compulsory in Germany and if you fail to register by the deadline, you’ll have to pay a fine.

Rundfunkbeitrag

The Rundfunkbeitrag is a compulsory tax for public-service broadcasting paid by everyone living in Germany. This tax is separate from your rent and must be paid directly to ARD/ZDF/Deutschlandradio. It currently costs €17.50/month per household, so should be shared between all the co-tenants in a flat share. You will be contacted directly by ARD/ZDF by post once you move in. Students in receipt of a federal German student grant are exempted from paying the Rundfunkbeitrag.

Unfurnished accommodation

Because most accommodation in Germany is unfurnished, you’ll need to buy your own furniture. You can either buy new from shops like IKEA, or you can look for cheap (or even free) second-hand furniture. The best places to find used furniture are flea markets, second-hand furniture shops, in personal or classfied online ads, or on Facebook (Free your stuff groups).

Redecorating clause

When you move out of a flat, it is not unusual for your tenancy contract to require you to repaint it before you can reclaim your deposit. So always check whether the previous tenant repained the walls before they moved out, and make sure you find out what your landlord expects.

Good luck with your search!

German language

Frankfurt School and most cities of Germany are extremely cosmopolitan, so fluent German is by no means a must. However, knowing a bit of German can help with everyday tasks like grocery shopping, ordering drinks or going to the cinema. 

Here are a few words to get you going:

Hello Hallo
Goodbye Ciao / Tschüss
Thank you Dankeschön
Thanks Danke
Please Bitte
You’re welcome Bitteschön
What is your name? (formal) Wie heißen Sie? 
What is your name? (informal) Wie heißt Du? 
My name is… Ich heiße…
I would like… Ich möchte…
I need… Ich brauche… 
I am looking for… Ich suche… 
Do you know where… is? (formal) Wissen Sie wo…. ist?
Do you know where…is? (informal) Weißt Du wo… ist?

call download fax letter pdf search x chevron
"jcr:cc43075b-aec9-47cd-9a34-2c9300433fa8" (String)

Unsere Standorte

Unterbringungsarten

Es ist sehr wichtig, so früh wie möglich mit der Wohnungssuche zu starten. In den Großstädten kann sich die Wohnungssuche über einen längeren Zeitraum hinziehen.

Private Studentenwohnheime

In privaten Dorms hat man in der Regel ein eigenes Zimmer und meistens auch ein eigenes Bad. Die Küche teilt man sich häufig mit anderen Studierenden, die auf dem gleichen Gang leben. Private Dorms sind meistens möbliert und bieten oft zusätzliche Annehmlichkeiten, wie etwa Lernräume o.ä. an. Die Preise beginnen ab ca. 600 €/Monat. Die meisten Mieter und Mieterinnen in diesen Dorms sind Studierende, dadurch kann man schnell Kontakte knüpfen, wenn man neu in der Stadt ist.

Wohngemeinschaft (WG)

In einer WG hat man ein eigenes (Schlaf-)Zimmer und teilt sich die restlichen Wohnräume, also Küche, Bad etc., mit seinen Mitbewohnern oder Mitbewohnerinnen. Abhängig von Größe, Ausstattung und Wohnungslage beginnen die Preise für ein WG Zimmer bei ca. 400 €/Monat. Die Zimmer in Wohngemeinschaften sind meist unmöbliert, aber man findet auch möblierte Zimmer, wenn man nach einer temporären Unterkunft sucht (Zwischenmiete). In einer WG wohnt man in der Regel mit 1-4 Personen zusammen, abhängig von der Größe der Wohnung. Eine prima Möglichkeit, neue Kontakte zu knüpfen. Wenn man keine Probleme damit hat, Küche und Bad zu teilen, ist eine WG immer eine tolle Option. Durch WG-Besichtigungen kann man sich im Vorfeld einen Eindruck von den neuen Mitbewohnern und Mitbewohnerinnen machen und testen, ob ein Zusammenleben klappen könnte.

Eine eigene Wohnung mieten

Waren die bisherigen Optionen nicht ansprechend? Dann ist eine eigene Wohnung - alleine oder mit dem Partner - passend. Im Durchschnitt ist eine eigene Wohnung in der Regel teurer. Wohnungspreise beginnen bei ca. 500 €/Monat. Diese Option ist am besten geeignet, wenn einem die eigenen vier Wände wichtig sind. Da Wohnungen in Großstädten hart umkämpft sind, kann diese Option mehr Zeit in Anspruch nehmen.

Worauf man achten sollte

Die Mietpreise sind normalerweise immer nur als Kaltmiete angegeben. Hinzu kommen Nebenkosten - wie Wasser, Strom, Heizung und Gas. Daraus ergibt sich die zu zahlende Warmmiete. Meistens muss man Strom und Internet (z. B. durch Vodafone) selbst organisieren. Die Kosten hängen hierbei von der im Vertrag vereinbarten Option ab. Nach einem Jahr werden die Kosten meistens an den Vorjahresverbrauch angepasst. Dadurch kann es passieren, dass am Ende des Jahres oder am Ende der Vertragslaufzeit zusätzliche Kosten anfallen.

Wohnungsbewerbung

Erster Kontakt

Wer nach einer Wohnung sucht, sollte dies am besten vor Ort machen. Vermietende werden ihre Wohnung eher an Interessierte vermieten, die sie im Vorfeld schon einmal persönlich getroffen haben. Allerdings kann man auch um ein Skypegespräch bitten, wenn man noch nicht in Frankfurt ist. Gerade in der Hochsaison - kurz vor Beginn des Semesters - sehen sich sehr viele Studierende nach einer Wohnung um. Es ist also nicht unüblich, dass man keine Antwort auf eine Mietanfrage bekommt. Vermietende antworten in der Regel nur Bewerbern, die ihrem Profil entsprechen.

Wer an einer Wohnung interessiert ist und bereits bei einer Besichtigung war, sollte dem Vermietenden eine schnelle Rückmeldung geben und alle erforderlichen Unterlagen einreichen. Wohnungen werden in der Regel sehr schnell vergeben. Durch das regelmäßige Prüfen von neuen Inseraten oder eine angelegte Suchanfrage halten einen auf dem Laufenden. Die Kontaktaufnahme zu den Vermietenden sollte eine kurze Vorstellung beinhalten, erklären, warum man in der Stadt ist und am besten auch dazuschreiben, wie die Miete bezahlt wird. Vermietende haben oftmals Vorbehalte gegenüber Studierenden, hinsichtlich eventuell erhöhte Lautstärke und der hohen zu zahlenden Mietkosten. Daher sollte man dem Vermietenden versichern, dass dies nicht der Fall sein wird. In den meisten Fällen akzeptieren Vermietende auch die Eltern als Bürgen oder Mieter, wenn du Wohnung nicht selbst bezahlt werden kann.

Wohnungsbesichtigungen

Mit sehr hoher Wahrscheinlichkeit werden die Vermietenden zu einer Gruppenbesichtigung mit anderen Interessenten einladen. Bei dem Termin sollte die Chance genutzt werden, um alle Fragen zu stellen. Man sollte dem Vermietenden zudem sein Interesse an der Wohnung - ohne aufdringlich zu werden - zeigen. Falls während der Besichtigung irgendwelche Schäden auffallen, sollten die Vermietenden vorsichtig gefragt werden, wie damit umgegangen wird. Sobald der Schlüssel zur Wohnung übergeben wird, müssen eventuelle Mängel im „Protokoll“ aufgenommen werden. Anderenfalls kann es sein, dass beim Auszug unnötige Kosten anfallen.

Vertrag

Es ist sehr ratsam, den Vertrag aufmerksam durchzulesen, vor allem dann, wenn die Vermietenden diesen selbst aufgesetzt haben. Ein Mietvertrag sollte Folgendes enthalten:

  • Monatliche Kaltmiete
  • Monatliche Nebenkosten (Wasser, Heizung, Gas, Steuern und Müllentsorgung)
  • Beginn und Ende der Mietzeit (im Fall einer fixen Mietdauer)
  • Kündigungsfrist im Fall eines unbefristeten Mietvertrags (gesetzliche Regelung: 3 Monate)
  • Weitere Dinge, die die Mietenden nutzen dürfen (Kellerraum, Garten etc.)
  • Regelung bezüglich Renovierungsarbeiten bei Auszug
  • Achtung: Wenn der Vertrag einmal unterschrieben wurde, hat der Mietende kein Recht mehr davon zurückzutreten. Der Vertrag sollte daher aufmerksam durchgelesen werden.  
  • Vermietende haben das Recht, die Miete jährlich um einen bestimmten Prozentsatz anzuheben, um die Inflation auszugleichen (Staffelmiete)

Der Bewerbungs- & Vertragsprozess bei privaten Studentenwohnheimen ist einfacher und schneller.

Wohnungssuche A-Z

Betrugsversuch

Leider gibt es immer wieder Betrugsangebote. Zeichen dafür sind schlechtes Deutsch oder Englisch und sehr günstige Preise für große Wohnungen in beliebten Gegenden. Oft wird in der Beschreibung der Wohnung angegeben, die Vermietenden seien ins Ausland gezogen und deshalb sei ein persönliches Treffen nicht möglich. Ein weiteres Anzeichen ist, dass die Inserierenden schon vor der Wohnungsbesichtigung eine Geldüberweisung verlangen. Sollte man sich nicht sicher sein, ob ein Angebot betrügerisch ist, ist es ratsam, sich eine zweite Meinung einzuholen.

Bewerbungsunterlagen

Wer sich für eine Wohnung bewirbt, muss diverse Dokumente vorlegen. Dazu gehören meist die Mieterselbstauskunft mit Informationen zur Person, die letzten drei Gehaltsabrechnungen (oder, die der Eltern), der Nachweis eines Arbeitsverhältnisses oder einer Immatrikulationsbescheinigung und manchmal eine SCHUFA Auskunft.

Kaution

Es ist üblich, vor dem Einzug eine Kaution in Höhe von drei Kaltmieten an die Vermietenden zu zahlen. Diese Kaution wird beim Auszug zurückerstattet, vorausgesetzt, dass die Wohnung in einem akzeptablen Zustand hinterlassen wird.

Anmeldung bei der Meldebehörde

Sobald man eine Wohnung gefunden hat und der Vertrag unterschrieben wurde, muss man sich innerhalb von zwei Wochen beim Bürgeramt anmelden/ ummelden. Dies ist verpflichtend. Bei Nichteinhalten dieser Frist wird ein Bußgeld fällig.

Rundfunkbeitrag

In Deutschland muss für jede Wohnung ein Rundfunkbeitrag gezahlt werden. Er ist unabhängig von der Miete und muss direkt an ARD/ZDF/Deutschlandradio gezahlt werden. Die Kosten betragen 17,50 €/ Monat pro Haushalt. In einer WG wird dieser Beitrag also durch alle dort Lebenden geteilt. Direkt nach dem Einzug wird man per Post von ARD/ ZDF kontaktiert. Wer BAföG erhält, kann sich vom Rundfunkbeitrag befreien lassen.

Unmöblierte Unterkunft

Da die meisten Wohnungen in Frankfurt nicht möbliert sind, müssen diese selbst eingerichtet und eigene Möbel besorgt werden. Bei Möbelhäusern wie IKEA findet man geeignete Möbel oder man sucht nach günstigen oder sogar kostenlosen Möbeln. Die besten Anlaufstellen sind hierfür Flohmärkte, Second-Hand Möbelshops, private Online-Anzeigen oder Facebook (Free your stuff groups).

Wandfarbe

Beim Auszug aus der Wohnung muss man die Wände komplett streichen. Daher sollte man darauf achten, dass die Vormietenden beim Auszug die Wohnung gestrichen haben. Fragen Sie deshalb unbedingt die Vermietenden nach den Richtlinien.

Viel Glück bei der Wohnungssuche!