call download fax letter pdf search x chevron

Professor of Management

Personal Details

Claus Rerup is Professor of Management at the Frankfurt School of Finance and Management, Germany. Before joining Frankfurt School in 2017, he was an Associate Professor of Organizational Behavior at the Ivey Business School, Western University, Canada. He has also been a visiting professor at University of St. Gallen (HSG), Switzerland, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark, and Bocconi University, Italy. He obtained his PhD from the Aarhus School of Business, Aarhus University, Denmark, and completed his Post Doc Research Fellowship at the Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania, USA.
 
His research sits between Organization Theory and Strategy, and his core areas of scholarly expertise include routine dynamics, sensemaking/attention, and learning. He specializes in qualitative research, drawing on archival data, interviews, and ethnographic methods – longitudinally tracing multi-level processes of stability and change to unpack phenomena such as crowd safety, rare events, technological reliability in ferry transportation, conflict and timing in new product development, and the grand challenge of policing sex work. His work incorporates the points of view of front-line employees, middle managers, and executives as well as regulators and other actors more removed from the front-line. This focus allows him to trace how distributed aspects of learning, routines, and attention/sensemaking are enacted by specific people in specific places across boundaries and time. Most of his work unfolds at the meso level of analysis, but he has also conducted studies at the individual and macro levels.
 
Rerup’s research has been published in leading academic journals such as Academy of Management Journal, Administrative Science Quarterly, Organization Science, among others. He has current or previous editorial positions on the boards of the Academy of Management Journal, Organization Science, Organization Studies and Strategic Organization. His work has also been featured in various newspapers and magazines, including Forbes and IESE Insight.

His research (w/ Barry) was awarded the 2002 Best Paper Award in Organization and Management Theory at the Academy of Management Conference. A co-authored paper with Yanfei Hu won the 2015 EGOS Best Student Paper Award, and was a runner up for the 2017 Best Paper on Environmental and Social Practices Award, Organization and Management Theory Division, Academy of Management Conference. In 2012, he was recognized with the Faculty Scholar Award at Western University, which honors and celebrates outstanding scholarly achievements. In 2016, a paper published in Academy of Management Journal with Martha Feldman received enough citations to place it in the top 1% of the academic field of Economics & Business. In 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, and 2018 he received the Award for Extraordinary Service to the Editorial Board of Organization Science. Rerup’s research has been funded by grants from the Danish and Canadian social science research foundations, and a number of private foundations and companies.

Claus Rerup has taught undergraduate, master, MBA and PhD courses in organizational behavior, leadership, team dynamics, organization theory and change management. He has also delivered workshops on these topics to executive audiences in a range of industries. His teaching has been recognized by several awards.

Prior to his academic career, he worked as a management consultant, and a board member.

Office hours

during the semester:

Room:

C4.41

Assistant

Contact

Publications

Scholarly journal articles / Journal articles

Working papers

Monographs / Contributions to edited volumes

other publications

Courses 2017

Title Programme Semester
Business Ethics & Organisational Behaviour PT-MBA WS 2017
Leadership & Organisational Behavior MiM WS 2017
Logics and Lessons of Leadership BSc WS 2017

call download fax letter pdf search x chevron

Professor für Management

Zur Person

Claus Rerup ist Professor für Management an der Frankfurt School of Finance and Management. Bevor er 2017 zur Frankfurt School kam, war er Associate Professor für Organizational Behavior an der Ivey Business School der Western Universität in Kanada. Zudem war er als Gastprofessor an der Universität St. Gallen (HSG) in der Schweiz, an der Copenhagen Business School in Dänemark und an der Bocconi Universität in Italien. Er hat an der Aarhus School of Business der Aarhus Universität in Dänemark promoviert und hat sein Post Doc Research Fellowship an der Wharton School an der Universität von Pennsylvania in den USA absolviert.
Seine Forschungsgebiete sind die Organisationstheorie und -strategie, dabei sind seine Kernbereiche die wissenschaftliche Expertise u.a. der Dynamik von Routinen sowie dem organisationalen Lernen. Er hat sich auf die qualitative Forschung spezialisiert und stützt diese auf Archivdaten, Interviews und ethnografische Methoden. Dabei werden mehrstufige Stabilitäts- und Änderungsprozesse in Längsrichtung verfolgt, um Phänomene wie Crowd Safety, seltene Ereignisse, technologische Zuverlässigkeit im Fährentransport, Konflikte und Timing in neuen Produkten zu entwickeln und die große Herausforderung bei der Überwachung der Sexarbeit. Seine Arbeit bezieht die Sichtweisen von Frontline-Mitarbeiter, mittleren Managern und Führungskräften sowie von Regulierungsbehörden und weiteren Akteuren, die eher von der Frontlinie entfernt sind, mit ein.
 
Diese Fokussierung ermöglicht es ihm, zu verfolgen, wie unterschiedliche Aspekte des Lernens und der Routinen von bestimmten Menschen an bestimmten Orten über Grenzen und Zeit hinweg umgesetzt werden. Der größte Teil seiner Arbeit findet auf der Meso-Ebene der Analyse statt, gleichzeitig führt er auch Studien auf der Einzel- und Makroebene durch.
Professor Rerups Forschungen wurden in führenden akademischen Zeitschriften wie dem Academy of Management Journal, Administrative Science Quarterly und Organization Science veröffentlicht. Er ist im Editorial Board des Academy of Management Journal, Organzation Science, und Strategic Organization. Seine Arbeiten wurden auch in verschiedenen weiteren Zeitungen und Zeitschriften veröffentlicht, darunter Forbes und IESE Insight.
Seine Forschung mit Daved Barry wurde auf der Academy of Management Conference mit dem Best Paper Award 2002 in Organisations- und Managementtheorie ausgezeichnet. Eine gemeinsam verfasste Arbeit mit Yanfei Hu wurde mit dem EGOS Best Student Paper Award 2015 ausgezeichnet und belegte den zweiten Platz beim Best Paper für Umwelt- und Sozialpraktiken Award 2017 im Bereich Organisation und Managementtheorie der Academy of Management Conference. 2012 wurde er mit dem Faculty Scholar Award der Western Universität ausgezeichnet, die herausragende wissenschaftliche Leistungen ehrt und feiert. Im Jahr 2016 veröffentlichte er gemeinsam mit Martha Feldmann im Journal der Academy of Management ein Paper das auf Grund der zahlreichen Zitierungen zu den Top 1% im Bereich von Economics und Business gehört. In den Jahren 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013 und 2018 erhielt er den Preis für außerordentlichen Service vom Editorial Board of Organization Science. Rerups Forschungen wurde durch Zuschüsse der dänischen und kanadischen Stiftungen für sozialwissenschaftliche Forschung sowie einer Reihe privater Stiftungen und Unternehmen finanziert.
Claus Rerup hat bereits Bachelor-, Master-, MBA- und PhD-Kurse in den Bereichen Organisationsverhalten, Führung, Teamdynamik, Organisationstheorie und Änderungsmanagement unterrichtet. Darüber hinaus hat er Workshops zu diesen Themen für Führungskräfte aus verschiedenen Branchen angeboten. Seine Lehre wurde bereits mehrfach ausgezeichnet.
Vor seiner akademischen Karriere arbeitete er als Unternehmensberater und Vorstandsmitglied.
 

Sprechzeiten

während der Vorlesungszeit:

Raum:

C4.41

Ansprechpartner

Kontakt

Publikationen

Wissenschaftliche Zeitschriften / Fachzeitschriften

Arbeitsberichte / Working papers

Monographien / Sammelwerke

weitere

Kurse 2017

Titel Studiengang Semester
Business Ethics & Organisational Behaviour PT-MBA WS 2017
Leadership & Organisational Behavior MiM WS 2017
Logics and Lessons of Leadership BSc WS 2017