call download fax letter pdf search x chevron

NORMA Group Associate Professor of Operations and Technology Management

https://campus.frankfurt-school.de/clicnetclm/fileDownload.do?goid=000002937726AB4

Personal Details

Jochen Schlapp is NORMA Group Associate Professor of Operations and Technology Management at the Frankfurt School of Finance & Management. As of 2020, Prof. Schlapp also serves as Academic Director for the B.Sc. in Computational Business Analytics. Prior to joining Frankfurt School in August 2018, he was Assistant Professor of Operations Management at the University of Mannheim, where he also pursued his doctoral studies (PhD in 2014), and a visiting scholar at INSEAD. He holds an M.Phil. in Management Science & Operations from Cambridge University and a B.Sc. in Industrial Engineering from the Technical University of Darmstadt.

Prof. Schlapp's research revolves around questions related to the efficient design of R&D and new product development processes as well as the interplay between new technologies and operations strategy. In recent work he also examines how firms can employ innovation and procurement contests to foster innovation in their supplier base. Prof. Schlapp's research has been published in Management Science, Manufacturing & Service Operations Management and Operations Research and has received various awards.

At Frankfurt School, Prof. Schlapp teaches in many of the school's pre- and post-experience programs (e.g., MiM, MBA, EMBA, MCPR); his course portfolio includes Innovation Management, New Product Development and Operations Strategy. He is also a frequent lecturer in Frankfurt School's Executive Education programs.

Publications

Scholarly journal articles / Journal articles

Working papers

Courses

Title Programme Semester
Operations Strategy Master Winter
New Product Development MBA Summer
Geschäftsmodellanalyse & Handlungsbedarf MCPR Winter

call download fax letter pdf search x chevron

NORMA Group Associate Professor für Operations und Technology Management

https://campus.frankfurt-school.de/clicnetclm/fileDownload.do?goid=000003297198AB4

Zur Person

Jochen Schlapp ist seit August 2018 NORMA Group Associate Professor für Operations und Technology Management an der Frankfurt School of Finance & Management. Seit 2020 ist Prof. Schlapp zudem Akademischer Direktor des B.Sc. in Computational Business Analytics. Zuvor war er als Assistant Professor an der Universität Mannheim und als Visiting Scholar am INSEAD tätig. Prof. Schlapp wurde an der Universität Mannheim sowohl promoviert (2014) als auch habilitiert (2018). Er studierte Management Science & Operations an der University of Cambridge (M.Phil.) und Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen an der TU Darmstadt (B.Sc.).
 
In seiner Forschung beschäftigt sich Jochen Schlapp zum einen mit Anreizproblematiken, die im Rahmen von betrieblichen Neuproduktentwicklungs- und Forschungsprojekten auftreten, und zum anderen mit dem strategischen Einfluss von neuen Technologien auf das Operations Management. Zudem untersucht er, wie Firmen Innovations- und Einkaufsturniere gestalten können, um das Innovationspotenzial ihrer Zulieferer möglichst gut auszuschöpfen. Prof. Schlapps Forschung wurde in Management Science, Manufacturing & Service Operations Management und Operations Research veröffentlicht und erhielt mehrere Preise. 
 
An der Frankfurt School unterrichtet Prof. Schlapp sowohl in den Pre-experience (MiM) als auch in den Post-experience Programmen (MBA, EMBA, MCPR) der Frankfurt School Kurse zu Innovation Management, New Product Development und Operations Strategy. Seine Kurse sind auch in diversen Executive Education Programmen gefragt.

Publikationen

Wissenschaftliche Zeitschriften / Fachzeitschriften

Arbeitsberichte / Working papers

Kurse

Titel Studiengang Semester
Operations Strategy Master Winter
New Product Development MBA Sommer
Geschäftsmodellanalyse & Handlungsbedarf MCPR Winter