call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

The impressive achievements of Professor Dr med. Ines Gockel highlight the fact that Frankfurt School’s study programmes are not just intended for enhancing careers in banking and finance.
Dr Gockel was awarded an MBA that was specifically designed as a qualification for people working in the medical professions and healthcare, including doctors and managers: Frankfurt School’s Master of Business Administration in International Healthcare Management (IHM).

Only the third woman in Germany to be appointed as the head of a thoracic and abdominal surgery department at a university hospital, Dr Gockel became Executive Director of the Department of Abdominal, Transplant, Thoracic and Vascular Surgery at the University Hospital of Leipzig in October 2014. Previously, she had worked at hospitals in Wiesbaden und then Mainz, where she finished as Head of the Department of General, Abdominal and Transplant Surgery. Her clinical specialities include minimally invasive visceral surgery and surgical oncology, and for many years she has been building a very successful career as a surgeon in a field usually dominated by men.

Ines Gockel completed her medical studies at the Johannes Gutenberg University of Mainz. After passing her United States Medical License Examinations and earning a business studies degree at St Galler Business School in Switzerland, she further strengthened her management skills by studying for an MBA in International Healthcare Management at Frankfurt School of Finance & Management, starting in 2011 and graduating in 2013. For Dr Gockel, this was the most important higher-education course she has attended since being awarded her doctorate in medicine.

To what extent did your MBA prepare you for the challenges of your current job? What did you find especially useful?

Studying at Frankfurt School gave me a deeper understanding of the economic aspects of health management, both national and international. The Quality Management and Change Management modules had the greatest influence on my clinical thinking and decisions. The way the course prepared me for a leadership role was also extremely useful; the Human Resources Management module, for example, provided valuable insights that have helped me in my current work. Unfortunately, this kind of theoretical, background knowledge – together with the various practical skills involved – is not something you learn while studying for a medical degree. And yet I believe these skills are indispensable if you want to forge a successful medical and scientific career in a position of leadership.

Looking back, how important was your time as a student at Frankfurt School in the greater scheme of things?

For me, my degree course at Frankfurt School was the most important higher-education course since my medical studies. This isn’t just because of the multifaceted aspects of health economics we covered in the modules, but also because of the methodologies I learned and now apply to my scientific and clinical projects – since studying at Frankfurt School, I have completely rethought and modified my approach. Of course I didn’t study for an MBA in International Healthcare Management for purely academic reasons; it was also a very useful way to prepare for specific areas of activity in my current work. The MBA expanded my horizons in all the right ways, extending far beyond the issues and challenges I had encountered in university environments prior to the course. After many years of clinical work, studying at Frankfurt School helped further my own personal development.

What’s your favourite memory of your time at Frankfurt School?

Besides the specialist knowledge I acquired and the many interesting on-site visits I made to various hospitals and healthcare institutions in different cultures around the world, my favourite memories are of the networks I built and contacts I made during the course. I still stay in close touch with my fellow students in this country and abroad.

How important are alumni for a business school? What do you think alumni can do for their alma mater?

Alumni can enhance the contact between graduates and students. As well as establishing new, interdisciplinary networks, they can give useful feedback to both university and students on aspects of the degree course which they found especially useful, while simultaneously suggesting possible improvements that could benefit future generations of students.

What’s your favourite motto?

Problems are there to be solved.

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen

call download fax letter pdf search x chevron
Stage Image

Dass die Studiengänge der Frankfurt School nicht nur Karrieren in Banking und Finance beflügeln, zeigt der Werdegang von Professorin Dr. med. Ines Gockel.
Sie hat einen MBA absolviert, der sich als berufsbegleitender Studiengang an Ärzte und Führungskräfte aus dem Gesundheitsmanagement richtet: den Master of Business Administration in International Healthcare Management (IHM).

Als dritte Frau in Deutschland übernahm sie im Oktober 2014 eine viszeralchirurgische Uniklinik: Sie ist Geschäftsführende Direktorin der Klinik und Poliklinik für Viszeral-, Transplantations-, Thorax- und Gefäßchirurgie am Universitätsklinikum Leipzig. Nach Stationen an Kliniken in Wiesbaden und Mainz – hier zuletzt als geschäftsführende Oberärztin der Klinik für Allgemein-, Viszeral- und Transplantationschirurgie – wurde sie an das Uniklinikum Leipzig berufen. Die Fachärztin mit Schwerpunkt auf minimal-invasiven viszeralchirurgischen Eingriffen bei Krebserkrankungen ist seit Jahren erfolgreich in der Männerdomäne Chirurgie.

Ihr Studium der Humanmedizin absolvierte Ines Gockel an der Universität Mainz. Im Anschluss an das amerikanische Staatsexamen sowie einen Diplomstudiengang an der St. Galler Business School vertiefte Ines Gockel in den Jahren 2011 bis 2013 ihre Kenntnisse mit dem MBA in International Healthcare Management an der Frankfurt School of Finance & Management – für Ines Gockel die wichtigste universitär-akademische Weiterbildung seit ihrem Medizinstudium.

Inwiefern hat Sie das MBA Studium auf die Anforderungen in Ihrer heutigen Position vorbereitet? Was war besonders nützlich?

Das Studium an der Frankfurt School hat mir ein tieferes Verständnis der gesundheitsökonomischen Zusammenhänge – national wie international – vermittelt. Den größten Einfluss auf mein klinisches Denken und Handeln hatten die Module „Qualitätsmanagement“ und „Change Management“. Die Vorbereitung auf Leadership-Kompetenzen war ebenfalls besonders nützlich, vor allem das Modul „Human Resources Management“ war mit Blick auf meine aktuelle Tätigkeit von großer Bedeutung. Dieses theoretische Hintergrundwissen und auch die praktischen Fähigkeiten erlernt man während des Medizinstudiums leider nicht. Ich halte diese Kompetenzen jedoch für eine erfolgreiche medizinisch-wissenschaftliche Karriere in einer Führungsposition für unabdingbar.

Welche Bedeutung hat Ihre Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School für Sie aus heutiger Sicht?

Mein Studium an der Frankfurt School war für mich die wichtigste universitär-akademische Weiterbildung seit meinem Medizinstudium. Dies gilt nicht nur für die facettenreichen gesundheitsökonomischen Themen der Module, sondern auch für meine methodischen Herangehensweisen in den wissenschaftlichen und klinischen Projekten, die ich seit meiner Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School neu überdacht und modifiziert habe. Dabei war das Studium des MBA in International Healthcare Management für mich nicht nur „akademischer Selbstzweck“, sondern hat mich ganz speziell auf die Anforderungen meiner aktuellen Aufgaben vorbereitet. Mein Horizont hat sich relevant erweitert, über meine bisherigen Tätigkeiten und Herausforderungen in einem universitären Umfeld hinaus. Das Studium an der Frankfurt School hat mich nach vielen Jahren klinischer Arbeit persönlich weitergebildet.

Was ist Ihre schönste Erinnerung an Ihre Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School?

Die schönsten Erinnerungen sind – neben dem neuen Fachwissen und den vielen interessanten Site Visits verschiedener Kliniken und Gesundheitsinstitutionen in unterschiedlichen Kulturen der Welt – die Netzwerke und Kontakte, die ich während des Studiums geschlossen habe. Mit meinen Mitstudierenden aus dem In- und Ausland besteht auch heute noch ein reger Austausch.

Welche Bedeutung haben Alumni für eine Hochschule? Was denken Sie können Alumni für ihre Hochschule tun?

Alumni können den Kontakt zwischen Absolventen und Studierenden weiterentwickeln. Neben der Etablierung neuer und fachübergreifender Netzwerke können sie der Hochschule und den Studierenden ein Feedback geben, was am Studium besonders gut war und zugleich auch eventuelle Verbesserungen für zukünftige Generationen von Studierenden anstoßen.

Was ist Ihr Lebensmotto?

Probleme sind da, um gelöst zu werden.

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen