call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

Last year 41-year-old Reinhard Pasch was awarded his Executive MBA by Frankfurt School of Finance & Management – after a positively superhuman feat of commuting. During the course Reinhard Pasch was transferred from Zurich to Singapore by his employer, Landesbank Baden-Württemberg (LBBW), and regularly commuted between Asia and Germany so he could attend his classes. He now works as Head of German Desk (South East Asia) and Transaction Banking Asia Branches at LBBW Singapore Branch.

How did you do it – spend an entire semester commuting between Frankfurt and Singapore at weekends? Wasn’t it unbelievably stressful?

The time-zone difference and Frankfurt School’s location both helped: I would board the plane on Thursday evening and be in Frankfurt by early Friday morning. Then I would spend the day in the library, preparing for the afternoon’s lectures and classes. After my classes, on Saturday morning, I’d get straight back on the plane for Singapore. The time difference also turned out to be useful for group work – we did our group projects in shifts, so when my fellow students in Frankfurt downed tools for the evening I would take over, and vice versa.

What was your greatest challenge during your semester as a commuter?

Well, simply doing a full-time degree course in parallel with a full-time job is challenging enough in itself. You’ve got to keep communicating with everybody – employer, colleagues, clients, employees, business partners – so you can keep doing your job properly. And for people who’ve also got a family and children, the juggling act becomes a true magic triangle! In my case, the hours of travel added yet another dimension. I would get home on Sunday evening, and by that time the weekend was already over. In the long run, all that gets you is Air Miles.

How did you manage to organise yourself – without neglecting your family, job or studies? What lessons did you learn?

Without good forward planning and the support of everyone involved, it simply doesn’t work. I’m enormously thankful to my wife and employer for relieving me of so much day-to-day anxiety. You’ve got to put yourself into the right frame of mind and tell yourself “this is my life now, and I need to make the most of it.” The crucial thing is not to think too hard about any of it, but simply accept the new situation. In my case that meant climbing into the plane, falling asleep, and waking up twelve hours later. The plane wouldn’t have flown any faster if I’d been sitting there sweating it.

That sounds like an amazingly relaxed attitude?

Well, perhaps that’s a bit of Asiatic influence creeping in. In many situations, people here are a lot more patient than they are in Germany. Especially if you consider that getting excited doesn’t help things go faster, or even get them done. The key thing is to use your time as efficiently as possible.

But you must have made significant sacrifices, too?

Of course! Affecting my family most of all. The commute had a massive impact on our family life: my young son, who was already three years old at the time, would look at me with such sad eyes whenever I was due to fly to Frankfurt. But I’m not some kind of benchmark – each individual has his or her own breaking point, and should explore his or her own strengths and weaknesses. Over a six-month period I commuted between Singapore and Frankfurt 15 times – I wouldn’t have wanted to do it more often.

How did you feel once the course – and associated stress – was done and dusted?

Absolutely amazing! As you start your thesis, the end of the course takes on a very unique quality. I’m sure everybody felt like that. Night shifts become a fact of life. And then there’s something very final about submitting your thesis – it’s incredibly liberating! I spent most of the resulting free time with my family. My son asked me: “Dad, are you going to be staying for a while now?” And at last I could answer “yes!”

And how did your son react?

“Yippee”, to be precise – he was so happy it was over!

What’s your favourite memory of your degree course at Frankfurt School? Did you ever regret your decision to keep going with the course?

My favourite memory is the degree course as a whole. Despite the strenuous travel, I never regretted it. From conversations and discussions inside and outside the classroom to the semester abroad in Argentina – at the end of the day, meeting like-minded people from various industries and being able to learn from their experiences was so enriching. But I didn’t just learn a lot of new things to do with my course and career – I also found out a lot about myself.

You were in full-time employment for the entire period. What do you actually do in your current position as Head of German Desk South East Asia?

We advise German businesses, SMEs and enterprise clients in South-East Asia. Our advantage over local banks is that we focus on the specific, individual needs of each of our German clients.

To what extent did your degree course prepare you for your current work? What did you find especially helpful?

There’s no doubt that the combination of academic insights with actual practical experience is an extremely effective one. Because I was studying for my MBA in parallel with a full-time job, I was constantly putting the theoretical knowledge I was acquiring into practice. Everything I was learning about – world economy, strategy and operations, personnel management, all the other subjects – was reflected in my professional life. What’s more, commuting also turned out to be useful practice for business life, because transnational time management and the associated project management play a major role in my day-to-day work.

How important are alumni to a university? What – in your view – can alumni do for their alma mater?

Alumni are potentially ambassadors for universities; by giving this interview I’m effectively acting as a spokesperson for Frankfurt School and the Executive MBA programme.

What’s the motto you live your life by?

Stay thirsty for knowledge and always keep on learning – be open to the unknown.

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen

call download fax letter pdf search x chevron
Stage Image

Reinhard Pasch, 41 Jahre alt, absolvierte im letzten Jahr an der Frankfurt School of Finance & Management den Executive MBA –— und zwar als Pendler der Superlative. Denn Reinhard Pasch wechselte während des Studiums innerhalb der Landesbank Baden-Württemberg (LBBW) von Zürich nach Singapur und pendelte für die Vorlesungen regelmäßig zwischen Asien und Frankfurt. Heute ist er bei der LBBW Singapore Branch als Head of German Desk (South East Asia) and Transaction Banking Asia Branches tätig.

Wie haben Sie das geschafft – ein Semester lang immer wieder zum Wochenende zwischen Frankfurt und Singapur zu pendeln? War das nicht ein riesiger Kraftakt?

Die Zeitverschiebung und der Studienort haben geholfen: Donnerstagnacht bin ich in den Flieger, Freitag am frühen Morgen war ich in Frankfurt. Den Tag habe ich genutzt, um mich in der Bibliothek auf die Vorlesungen vorzubereiten, die erst am Nachmittag anfingen. Nach den Vorlesungen am Samstagabend bin ich direkt in den Flieger zurück nach Singapur. Außerdem erwies sich die Zeitverschiebung als ziemlich nützlich für Gruppenarbeiten. Wir haben sie in Schichten erledigt: Wenn die Kommilitonen in Frankfurt ins Bett gegangen sind, habe ich in Singapur übernommen und umgekehrt.

Was war die größte Herausforderung während dieses Pendel-Semesters?

Grundsätzlich ist es herausfordernd, ein berufsbegleitendes Studium „neben“ einem Vollzeitjob zu absolvieren. Arbeitgeber, Mitarbeiter, Kunden, Kollegen, Geschäftspartner – man muss mit ihnen im guten Austausch bleiben, um den Job weiter erfolgreich zu machen. Bei all denen, die noch Familie und Kinder haben, wird das Jonglieren zum magischen Dreieck. In meinem Fall kamen die langen Reisen hinzu. Ich kam Sonntagabend nach Hause, da waren die meisten Wochenenden gelaufen. Auf lange Sicht tut das nur dem Meilenkonto gut.

Wie kann man sich gut organisieren – ohne Familie, Beruf oder Studium ganz zu vernachlässigen? Was ist Ihre Lesson Learnt?

Ohne eine gute und vorausschauende Planung und die Unterstützung der Betroffenen funktioniert das nicht. Ich bin meiner Frau und meinem Arbeitgeber dafür dankbar, dass ich den Rücken von zusätzlichen Belastungen frei hatte. Man muss sich richtig konditionieren und sich sagen: „Das ist jetzt mein Leben und damit muss ich mich möglichst gut arrangieren.“ Das Entscheidende dabei ist, dass man sich gar nicht zu viele Gedanken macht, sondern sich auf die neue Situation einlässt. In meinem Fall hieß das: In den Flieger einsteigen, schlafen und zwölf Stunden später wieder aufmachen. Das Flugzeug wäre nicht schneller geflogen, wenn ich im Stress gewesen wäre.

Das klingt nach einer recht gelassenen Haltung?

Das ist vielleicht schon ein bisschen der asiatische Einfluss. Hier ist man in vielen Situationen geduldiger als in Deutschland. Insbesondere, wenn man weiß, dass man in Hektik weder etwas beschleunigen noch etwas bewirken kann. Es gilt, die Zeit möglichst effizient nutzen.

Dafür mussten Sie doch sicher auch Abstriche machen?

Sicherlich! Davon war vor allem meine Familie betroffen. Die Pendelei hat unser Familienleben massiv beeinträchtigt. Mein kleiner Sohn, der damals schon drei Jahre alt war, hat mich jedes Mal mit traurigen Augen angeschaut, wenn ich nach Frankfurt geflogen bin. Doch ich bin keine Benchmark. Jeder hat eine individuelle Belastungsgrenze und sollte die eigenen Kräfte persönlich ausloten. In sechs Monaten bin ich 15 Mal zwischen Frankfurt und Singapur gependelt — ich hätte es nicht öfter tun wollen.

Wie hat es sich angefühlt, als das Studium und die damit verbundene Belastung vorüber waren?

Unglaublich gut! Mit der Thesis gewinnt das Studium am Ende noch mal eine ganz eigene Qualität. Das ging sicher allen so. Da werden Nachtschichten zur Gewohnheit. Wenn die Thesis abgegeben ist, hat das schon etwas Endgültiges – und unglaublich Befreiendes! Ich habe die wieder gewonnene Zeit überwiegend mit meiner Familie verbracht. Mein Sohn hat mich gefragt „Paps, bleibst du jetzt lange da?“ Und ich konnte endlich antworten „Ja!“.

Und was war die Reaktion Ihres Sohnes?

„Jippiieh!“ Das war der Wortlaut. Er hat sich schon wahnsinnig gefreut.

Was ist Ihre schönste Erinnerung an Ihre Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School? Haben Sie Ihre Entscheidung für das Studium vielleicht auch einmal bereut?

Die schönste Erinnerung ist die an das Studium an sich. Trotz der anstrengenden Anreise habe ich es nie bereut. Seien es die Gespräche und Diskussionen innerhalb und außerhalb des Hörsaals oder der Auslandsaufenthalt in Argentinien — letztendlich sind die Begegnung mit Gleichgesinnten aus verschiedenen Branchen und die Möglichkeit von ihren Erfahrungen zu lernen sehr bereichernd. Ich konnte aber nicht nur für Studium und Beruf, sondern auch über mich selber eine Menge Neues erfahren.

Sie waren die ganze Zeit über berufstätig. Was tun Sie konkret in Ihrer heutigen Position als Head of German Desk South East Asia?

Wir beraten deutsche Unternehmen, Mittelständler und Konzerne in Südost Asien. Unser Vorteil gegenüber lokalen Banken ist, dass wir individuell auf die speziellen Bedürfnisse dieser deutschen Unternehmen eingehen.

Inwiefern hat Sie das Studium auf die neuen Anforderungen vorbereitet? Was war besonders nützlich?

Zweifelsohne war die Verknüpfung von wissenschaftlichen Aspekten in Verbindung mit den Erfahrungen aus der Berufspraxis eine sehr wirkungsvolle Kombination. Die theoretischen Kenntnisse, die man im MBA erwirbt, lassen sich aufgrund des berufsbegleitenden Studiums fortlaufend in die Praxis übertragen. Sei es World Economy, Strategy and Operations, Personalmanagement oder die vielen anderen Fächer — alles findet sich in meinem Berufsalltag wieder. Im Übrigen hat mich das Pendeln auch in praktischen Dingen ganz gut vorbereitet. Denn transnationales Zeitmanagement bestimmt auch heute meinen Alltag und das entsprechende Projektmanagement.

Welche Bedeutung haben Alumni für eine Hochschule? Was denken Sie können Alumni für ihre Hochschule tun?

Alumni sind potenzielle Multiplikatoren für eine Hochschule. Mit diesem Interview bin ich ja auch ein Botschafter für die Frankfurt School und den EMBA.

Was ist Ihr Lebensmotto?

Immer wissbegierig sein und lebenslang dazu lernen - offen für Unbekanntes sein.

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen