call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

Florian P. Meyer completed his bachelor degree in Business Administration at Frankfurt School with a final grade of 1.3. Therefore he is one of best 3 percent of his year. After this, he was awarded a Haniel scholarship by the German National Academic Foundation to study for Masters in Finance at the London Business School. In July 2013 he will start a new exciting challenge as an investment banking analyst at Rothschild.

To what extend did your course prepare you for the challenges of your current job?
Historically, Frankfurt School’s strength is in the field of quantitative finance, where I learned an unbelievable amount, because all the specialist options I studied during my degree course were in this area. With respect to corporate finance, which is the field I’m currently working in, Frankfurt School still has a bit of catching up to do.

But yes, my education at Frankfurt School was very important, because ultimately – measured in terms of expertise – you only transfer a small fraction of what you learned on a degree course to your real-life job. On the other hand, the excellent analytical training I was given, plus a broad knowledge of many different areas of expertise – that’s all been invaluable. It all really helped me to reach the position I’m in today, because now I can quickly assimilate additional expert knowledge as and when I need it, and can rapidly put things I know little or nothing about into their proper contexts.

The vocational aspect of my degree course in particular gave me a major advantage, by giving me a theoretical and practical perspective on many banking and financial issues. When I left Commerzbank immediately after graduating and started my investment banking internship, the methodological training I received at Frankfurt School was really useful: I was quickly able to familiarise myself with and make myself comfortable in a hitherto unknown area of expertise, and impress my colleagues with my performance.

That’s why I can now say that specialist knowledge is ultimately only part of the equation, and that the most important resource is the structured thinking Frankfurt School teaches you for dealing with complex and demanding topics. That’s what I took with me from my time as a student, and in my work, it’s one of the most important skills of all. Because in investment banking, you only know one thing in advance: that you’re always going to be confronting new problems and challenges which don’t have convenient, standard solutions.

What did you find particularly useful?

When I think back on the skills I acquired during my time at Frankfurt School, of course I came away with more than just the ability to deal confidently with unfamiliar topics. Some of the important hard skills that are still very useful to me today – and will continue to be so in the future – include, for example, my extensive knowledge of financial products, and the ways they’re structured and valued. As a Frankfurt School graduate, you’re definitely very well equipped in this respect, and even though, in practice, I don’t normally have to value particular products myself, it’s still essential for me to know all about the characteristics of various financial products and derivatives.

My solid grounding in quantitative techniques also meant I acquired an excellent knowledge of Excel and VBA (Visual Basic for Applications) while studying for my degree. Even though, as a banker, you don’t necessarily have to be able to program, good Excel skills are absolutely essential if you want to run complex calculations at high speed. If there’s one thing I really benefit from in my everyday work, it’s this particular ability, plus the fact that Frankfurt School gave me so many opportunities to apply and develop these skills and knowledge.

Looking back, how important was your time as a student at Frankfurt School in the greater scheme of things?

The time I spent at Frankfurt School between 2008 and 2012 was really important to me both personally and professionally. My Bachelor’s degree essentially acted as a platform for my future career. First, because I was able to build up a solid foundation of specialist knowledge in many relevant areas of finance, and second, because the vocational components and semester abroad gave me such valuable practical experience, based on working with many different teams in many different areas of business. This didn’t just help me decide on my future career; it also gave me a multitude of valuable insights into potential opportunities in the financial sector.

Over and above that, however, my degree course was also a valuable launchpad for achieving my goals. A combination of excellent academic performance with in-depth financial expertise and extensive professional experience, plus a good knowledge of the financial markets, was the key reason I was accepted by the London Business School as soon as I left Frankfurt School, and has given my career a major boost. The work experience I gathered while I was studying was a vital factor in my acceptance onto the post-experience Master of Finance programme at LBS immediately after my graduation; normally they ask for three years of professional experience after you’ve earned your Bachelor’s degree.

And finally, the degree course was highly rewarding for me personally. My degree course in Frankfurt didn’t just become the basis for building up my own professional network in Frankfurt – more importantly, I made many new friends there. We all have shared values, and I enormously appreciate their personal integrity and specialist skills. In fact, I very much hope that many of the contacts I made at Frankfurt School will continue to work with me throughout my future career. Quite apart from this, my time with my friends and fellow-students on the FS campus was really good fun. Yes, there were stressful periods – like exam periods, for example – but there were also the parties and events afterwards, and I shall certainly take great pleasure in my memories of certain episodes well into the future.

What’s your favourite memory of your time at Frankfurt School?

Well, given the many events and experiences that characterised my degree course, that’s not an easy question to answer! One of my funniest and also loveliest memories is undoubtedly an experience we had just after we’d set up FS Fellows. We had a meeting in the evening, and I happened to have three bottles of champagne and a basket of pretzels in my case, left over from my leaving party at Commerzbank. We had all these provisions, so the four of us decided to go over to the library after the meeting so we could all work on the “Champagne and Pretzels Problem”. We spent the whole evening – until just before midnight – sitting in one of the study rooms, working our way through the champagne and swapping stories. The whole thing was funny simply because it was so spontaneous. Anyway, it was certainly one of many cheerful happenings I like to think back on.

In your opinion, how important are alumni for a business school? What do you think alumni can do for their alma mater?

Your studies have to end sometime, your expertise becomes outdated, even the grades you got in your exams eventually become irrelevant. The only thing that has any lasting value is your personal relationships with the people whose experiences and values you share. Students – indeed, universities – should always assess the significance of a business school’s alumni base from this long-term perspective.

In terms of teaching, or even on-the-job training, it’s difficult for universities to differentiate themselves. Offering a good education isn’t really a key strategic advantage for a university, because other universities are also perfectly capable of recruiting competent professors and lecturers. In fact, one could even say that if you want to learn financial models like CAPM or Black-Scholes, you don’t necessarily have to study at Frankfurt School, or indeed any other well-known university. It’s the kind of thing you could learn at a small, unknown college.

But the thing that really does differentiate a business school is its alumni base. The latter isn’t just useful because it represents a convenient way of finding jobs for succeeding generations of students, or an easily accessible source of funding (on the contrary – top business schools invest in their alumni base rather than always asking them for money!). Much more important, an alumni base that’s tightly bound up with the university and its students acts as a platform for gaining valuable insights into the world of work, for passing on valuable experience, and for making contacts. As I mentioned earlier, technical expertise on its own isn’t a significant advantage – anybody can learn it out of books in a relatively short time. But the experience alumni can offer – their views of particular employers, industry sectors (like private equity or venture capital) and their practical professional expertise – is very much more valuable, and often unique. This means that for each university, their alumni base is an irreproducible resource, hence a key differentiator. In actual fact, this is the key competitive advantage that Frankfurt School can offer newly enrolled students, compared to students starting out at other universities.

In an interview, a Dean of Wharton Business School once said that what consistently gives Harvard Business School (HBS) its small but significant advantage over Wharton is HBS’s perfectly extraordinary ability to forge networks and create close ties between their alumni and the university. However, in practice an alumni base only remains important to a university to the extent that the university makes real efforts to cultivate this resource and integrate it into everyday university life – in such a way that on the one hand, students benefit from the experience of their predecessors, and on the other hand, alumni continue to identify strongly with their alma mater and even build deeper bonds.

Do you have a personal motto?

I’ve got two main mottoes, and they’re both kind of related. My most important motto, that I’ve been following diligently for more than ten years, dates back to the philosopher Seneca and goes “Per aspera ad astra”, which roughly translated means something like “Make your way through the tough times if you want to reach the stars”.

My second motto is simple: “No retreat, no surrender”. Okay, so it sounds a bit aggressive, but it’s been incredibly helpful to me just before many a Frankfurt School exam period!

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen

call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

Florian P. Meyer hat im Mai 2012 an der Frankfurt School seinen berufsintegrierten Bachelor in Betriebswirtschaftslehre mit der Spitzennote 1,3 abgeschlossen. Damit gehörte er zu den besten drei Prozent seines Jahrgangs. Danach ging es für ihn nach London, wo er als Haniel-Stipendiat der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes an der London Business School das Masters in Finance Programm absolviert. Bald erwarten ihn spannende neue Aufgaben, denn ab Juli 2013 wird er als Investment Banking Analyst bei Rothschild tätig sein.

Inwiefern hat Sie das Studium auf die Anforderungen in Ihrem Job vorbereitet?

Die Frankfurt School hat historisch ihre Stärke im Quantitative Finance Bereich, in dem ich unglaublich viel gelernt habe, da ich in diesem Bereich auch alle meine Vertiefungen im Hauptstudium absolviert habe. Was die Ausbildung im Corporate Finance Bereich betrifft, was mein derzeitiges Umfeld ist, hat die Frankfurt School noch ein wenig Nachholbedarf.

Dennoch war die Ausbildung an der Frankfurt School sehr wichtig, denn gemessen am Fachwissen überträgt man letztlich doch immer nur einen Bruchteil seines Studiums in die Berufsrealität. Entscheidend war dagegen die gute analytische Ausbildung und das breite Fachwissen über viele verschiedene Themenfelder hinweg. Dies hat mir enorm geholfen, sodass ich heute in der Lage bin, mir zusätzliches Fachwissen nach Bedarf selbst schnell anzueignen und mir unbekannte Sachverhalte in den richtigen Kontext zu setzen.

Insbesondere der berufsintegrierte Aspekt meines Studiums war für mich von Nutzen, da ich zu vielen Banking & Finance Themen sowohl den theoretischen als auch den praktischen Blickwinkel kenne. Als ich unmittelbar nach dem Ende meines Studiums die Commerzbank verlassen und ein Investmentbanking-Praktikum begonnen habe, hat mir die methodische Ausbildung an der Frankfurt School geholfen: ich konnte mich in einem mir bis dahin unbekanntem Berufsumfeld sehr gut und schnell zurechtzufinden und mit Leistung überzeugen.

Daher kann ich heute sagen, dass Fachwissen letztlich nur einen Teil ausmacht, und die an der Frankfurt School erworbene „Denkschule“ im Umgang mit komplexen und anspruchsvollen Themen die wichtigere Ressource ist. Diese habe ich aus meiner Studienzeit mitgenommen und sie ist in meinem Beruf eine der wichtigsten Qualifikationen überhaupt. Denn im Investmentbanking ist nur eines vorab bekannt: Man wird stets mit neuen Problemen und Herausforderungen konfrontiert, zu denen es keine Standardlösung gibt.

Was war besonders nützlich?

Wenn ich an die Zeit an der Frankfurt School denke, gibt es natürlich noch mehr als die Fähigkeit, souverän mit unbekannten Themen umzugehen. Wichtige Hard Skills, die bis heute noch immer sehr nützlich sind und noch lange sein werden, sind beispielsweise mein umfassendes Wissens zu Finanzprodukten sowie deren Strukturierung und Bewertung. Als Absolvent der Frankfurt School ist man in diesem Bereich definitiv sehr gut gewappnet und auch wenn ich normalerweise in der Praxis nicht selbst ein bestimmtes Produkt bewerten muss, ist es für mich immer wieder unerlässlich, die Charakteristika von verschiedenen Finanzprodukten und Derivaten zu kennen.

Aufgrund der sehr guten quantitativen Ausbildung habe ich zudem hervorragende Kenntnisse in Excel und VBA (Visual Basic for Applications) aus meinem Studium mitgenommen. Auch wenn man als Banker zwar nicht zwingend programmieren können muss, sind gute Excel-Fähigkeiten äußerst wertvoll, um schnell komplexe Aufgaben bearbeiten zu können. Wenn es etwas gibt, wovon ich jeden Tag aufs Neue in meinem Beruf profitiere, dann sind es in jedem Fall diese Kenntnisse und die Frankfurt School hat mehr als reichlich Möglichkeiten geboten, diese Kenntnisse immer wieder anzuwenden und zu vertiefen.

Welche Bedeutung hat Ihre Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School für Sie aus heutiger Sicht?

Die Zeit an der Frankfurt School von 2008 bis 2012 war für mich persönlich wie auch beruflich sehr wichtig. Im Wesentlichen hat mir das Bachelorstudium als ein Drehkreuz bezüglich meiner weiteren Karriere gedient. Denn erstens konnte ich in vielen relevanten Finance-Bereichen ein solides Fachwissen aufbauen und zweitens dank der berufsintegrierten Komponente und dem Auslandssemester, sehr viele wertvolle praktische Erfahrungen sammeln und in vielen verschiedenen Teams und Aufgabenbereichen arbeiten. Dies hat nicht nur meiner Karriereorientierung gedient, sondern mir vor allem eine Vielzahl wertvoller Impulse bezüglich der Berufsmöglichkeiten im Finanzsektor gegeben.

Darüber hinaus war das Studium aber auch eine wichtige Startrampe, um meine Ziele zu erreichen. Das Zusammenspiel von Top-Leistungen im Studium, einem tiefgehenden Finance-Fachwissen, umfassender Berufserfahrung sowie gute Kenntnisse der Finanzmärkte waren der Schlüssel, um von der Frankfurt School aus an die London Business School zu gehen und meiner Karriere weiteren Auftrieb zu geben. Die neben dem Studium erworbene Berufserfahrung war dabei unerlässlich, um direkt nach dem Bachelor an der LBS in den post-experience Master in Finance aufgenommen zu werden, der sonst üblicherweise drei Jahre Berufserfahrung nach dem Bachelor voraussetzt.

Abschließend war das Studium persönlich sehr bereichernd. Es ist nicht nur die Grundlage zum Aufbau meines beruflichen Netzwerks in Frankfurt gewesen, vor allem habe ich dort viele neue Freunde gefunden. Mit diesen teile ich gemeinsame Werte und schätze sie aufgrund ihrer persönlichen Integrität und ihrer fachlichen Fertigkeiten sehr. Ich hoffe in der Tat, dass viele der an der Frankfurt School geknüpften Kontakte mich mein ganzes Berufsleben begleiten werden. Außerdem war die Zeit mit meinem Kommilitonen und Freunden zusammen auf dem Campus auch ein Riesenspaß. So wie es stressige Zeiten wie beispielsweise die Klausurphasen gab, so gab es auch die Partys und Events danach und an so manche Episode werde ich mich sicher auch in ferner Zukunft noch gerne zurückerinnern.

Was ist Ihre schönste Erinnerung an Ihre Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School?

Angesichts der Anzahl der Events und der Erlebnisse während meines Studiums ist das keine einfach zu beantwortende Frage. Eine der lustigsten und auch eine der schönsten Erinnerungen ist ohne Zweifel ein Erlebnis aus der Zeit, als wir gerade frisch FS-Fellows gegründet hatten. Das Treffen fand abends statt und ich hatte drei Flaschen Sekt und einen Korb mit Brezeln im Gepäck, die von meinem Ausstand bei der Commerzbank übrig geblieben waren. Perfekt gerüstet mit diesem Proviant, beschlossen wir nach dem Treffen zu viert noch rüber in die Bibliothek zu gehen, um das „Sekt- und Brezelnproblem“ zu lösen. So haben wir dann den Abend fast bis Mitternacht in einem der Arbeitsräume gesessen, den Sekt „niedergemacht“ und manche Anekdote ausgetauscht. Das Ganze war allein schon deswegen so lustig, weil es so spontan zustande kam. In jedem Fall eine von vielen Episoden, an die ich immer wieder gerne zurückdenke.

Welche Bedeutung haben Alumni für eine Hochschule? Was denken Sie können Alumni für ihre Hochschule tun?

Das Studium endet irgendwann, Fachwissen veraltet und auch die erzielten Noten in den Prüfungen sind eines Tages ohne Belang. Das einzige, was dauerhaft Bestand hat, sind persönliche Bindungen zu Menschen, mit denen man gemeinsame Erfahrungen und Werte teilt. Aus diesem Blickwinkel sollten Studenten wie auch die Hochschule selbst stets die Bedeutung der Alumnibasis einer Business School sehen.

Über die Lehre und die Ausbildung vor Ort kann sich eine Hochschule kaum differenzieren. Eine gute Ausbildung anzubieten, ist für eine Hochschule kein entscheidender strategischer Vorteil. Denn auch andere Hochschulen sind in der Lage kompetente Professoren und Dozenten anzuwerben. Man könnte auch sagen, um Finanzmodelle wie das CAPM oder das Black-Scholes-Modell zu lernen, muss man nicht zwingend an der Frankfurt School oder an einer anderen renommierten Hochschule studieren. Dies kann man auch an einer kleinen und unbekannten Fachhochschule lernen.

Das was eine Business School dagegen sehr wohl differenziert, ist ihre Alumnibasis. Diese dient keinesfalls nur dazu, den nachkommenden Studenten Jobs zu vermitteln, oder als leicht zugängliche Funding-Quelle für eine Hochschule zu dienen (im Gegenteil – eine Top Business School investiert in ihre Alumnibasis, anstatt sie nur abzuschöpfen!). Stattdessen bietet eine eng mit der Hochschule und den Studenten verbundene Alumnibasis die Grundlage, wertvolle Einblicke in die Arbeitswelt zu vermitteln, Erfahrungen weiterzugeben und Kontakte zu vermitteln. Technisches Fachwissen ist wie oben erwähnt kein Vorteil, jeder kann es in kurzer Zeit aus einer Reihe von Büchern erlernen. Die Erfahrungen der Alumni zu bestimmten Arbeitgebern, Sektoren (z.B. Private Equity oder Venture Capital) und ihr berufspraktisches Know-How dagegen sind viel wertvoller und einzigartiger. Dies macht die Alumni für jede Hochschule zu einer nicht-kopierbaren Ressource, und wichtigem Differenzierungsmerkmal. Das ist der eigentlich entscheidende Wettbewerbsvorteil, den die Frankfurt School neu beginnenden Studenten gegenüber den Studierenden anderer Hochschulen an die Hand gibt.

Ein Dekan der Wharton Business School hat in einem Interview einmal gesagt, dass das, was der Harvard Business School (HBS) immer wieder den kleinen, entscheidenden Vorteil vor Wharton gibt, ist die schier unglaubliche Fähigkeit der HBS, Netzwerke zu knüpfen und die eigenen Alumni eng an die Hochschule zu binden. Eine Alumnibasis ist für die Hochschule in der Praxis jedoch nur so bedeutend, wie die Hochschule bemüht ist, diese Ressource zu pflegen und in den Hochschulalltag zu integrieren. Damit einerseits die Studenten von den Erfahrungen ihrer Vorgänger profitieren und andererseits eine starke Identifikation der Alumni mit ihrer Alma Mater gepflegt und vertieft wird.

Was ist Ihr Lebensmotto?

Ich folge zwei Lebensmottos, deren Aussagen ein wenig verwandt sind. Mein wichtigstes Motto, dem ich nun seit mehr als 10 Jahren fest folge, geht auf den Philosophen Seneca zurück und lautet „Per aspera ad astra“, frei übersetzt in etwa „Über raue Pfade gelangt man zu den Sternen“.

Mein zweites Motto lautet „No surrender, no retreat“ – zu Deutsch „Keine Kapitulation, kein Rückzug“, durchaus etwas martialisch, aber doch ungemein hilfreich kurz vor so mancher Klausurphase an der Frankfurt School.

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen