call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

Florian Brechtel bought his first shares in 1990, at the tender age of 16: he already knew he wanted a career in banking. In 2001, he successfully completed a part-time degree course in Business Administration at Frankfurt School of Finance & Management. While studying, he worked at Limburger Volksbank and Deutsche Bank. Subsequently, he spent time at Deutsche Bank in Frankfurt and London, and went on to work for Société Générale and DekaBank. In 2011, he set up his own business – Dragoman, an agency advising firms on finance, funding and trusts. Alongside his work, the FS graduate is also heavily involved in politics: his activities include voluntary work as general manager of CDU Hesse’s futurist “Finanzplatz Frankfurt” forum (discussing Frankfurt’s role as a financial centre) and as head of the party’s electioneering “TEAM Hesse” in the run-up to this year’s state parliament elections.

You’re an entrepreneur, and also very active in the political arena – so “two souls residing in one breast”. Which one has the upper hand?

I really couldn’t say. Politics and business exist in a state of permanent tension. Although representatives of both worlds have to work together, to a certain extent they each lack understanding of the respective working mechanisms. One major difference, for example, is how they each go about organizing projects. In the business world, once you’ve decided how a project should be implemented, that’s how it’s done. Politicians, on the other hand, usually propose a “sky is the ceiling” approach, because they’re expecting to encounter plenty of internal and external resistance that will whittle down the final result. So in view of this built-in tension, I do my best to act as a kind of mediator between the worlds of politics and business.

Looking back, how important was your time as a student in the greater scheme of things?

My part-time degree course paved the way for my career at Deutsche Bank. Because of my studies, I was already well integrated at the bank and very much part of the team. That was a major reason why I was offered a job immediately after graduating in 2001, despite the fact that the dotcom bubble had just burst and the economy was going through a difficult patch. In addition, Professor Heidorn’s seminars had sparked my interest in derivatives, so after graduating, I continued to work in this field for various banks.

Interestingly, my degree course had very little impact on my current activities, but my time at Frankfurt School certainly motivated me to carry on with my continuing education. And after training to become an adviser to foundations and trusts, I felt ready to set up my own business. My degree course also showed me that existing knowledge quickly becomes obsolete. You have to stay on your toes all the time to keep up with the latest developments.

What’s your favourite memory of your time as a student at Frankfurt School?

Apart from the semester spent abroad, I have very warm memories of our “Boys’ Camp”. It was inspired by the name of a German TV series – “Girls’ Camp”. Basically, while we were preparing for our final exams, I organized a weekend of intensive revision at a youth hostel for nine fellow students and me, which I christened the “Boys’ Camp” project. We divided up into pairs to make five teams, each responsible for reading up on one major subject area. Then we spent each day sitting together in a meeting room revising the course materials – by the time we finished, we’d put together 80 or 90 pages of notes on each subject. The same group still meets up now and then, and we all spend a weekend together.

You’ve called your agency Dragoman. In the Middle East, a dragoman is a translator, interpreter or multilingual travel guide. How important are communication skills in Business Administration?

Being able to explain what you’re doing is extremely important, so yes, communication skills have a significant role to play. At Frankfurt School, Corporate Culture & Human Resources Management classes were on the curriculum right from the start, making students aware of management issues. I realised just how farsighted this was during my semester abroad in the United States, while we were covering the concept of shareholder value in a seminar. When we European students argued that other stakeholders – such as employees, for example – shouldn’t be ignored, and that a works council was an important institution, our American fellow-students really didn't have a clue what we were talking about.

In terms of my career, I benefited from my good communication skills at Deutsche Bank in particular. Even as a banker, I was required to man trade fair stands, give talks and explain specific products. To start with, I kept to the sidelines, but over time I increasingly moved into the spotlight.

What do you most enjoy about your current job?

As a self-employed entrepreneur, I’m my own boss. I can decide for myself which projects I want to take on. In terms of what I do, my work is exciting and diverse: NGOs keep approaching me with issues I would probably never have concerned myself with otherwise. So when I was advising a foundation dedicated to the reforestation of coral reefs, for example, I had to read up on coral cultivation.

Over and over again, I find it fascinating to see just what you can achieve with minimal resources – especially in the social sphere. Now I’m finally able to concentrate on providing top-class consulting services. At the bank, the sales aspect unfortunately took an increasingly high priority.

What doesn’t appeal so much?

I have to be in permanent “acquisition” mode, so thinking and planning ahead the whole time. While I’m working on a particular project for a client, at the same time I have to make sure I’ve got another project in the pipeline, and because I’ve only been self-employed since 2011, this process still hasn’t become totally automatic. Plus I have to take a different approach to salary, of course – as far as my remuneration goes, there are no fixed rules, because NGOs all have different levels of funding at their disposal, which means I have to negotiate my fee on a case-to-case basis. It was all much more convenient at the bank, of course, because I was on a fixed salary. Without the support of my wife, who works in the banking industry, it would have been much more difficult to maintain our accustomed standard of living.

Are you where you wanted to be as a student?

Even at the age of 16, I knew I wanted to work in the banking industry, and made a conscious decision to train at a bank and study for a degree at Frankfurt School. Running my own business has opened up entirely new perspectives for me. Hence my advice to students: keep your eyes open for things that aren’t purely career-related. By taking that approach, I’ve embarked on career paths that would never have occurred to me while I was still a student.

What’s your favourite motto?

“We must say what we think. We must do what we say. We must also be what we do” (Alfred Herrhausen) – or in other words: talk the talk, walk the walk – and do it all with conviction!

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen

call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

Schon 1990, mit 16 Jahren, erwarb Florian Brechtel seine ersten Aktien und wusste, dass er in die Bank will. 2001 schloss er erfolgreich das berufsbegleitende BWL-Studium an der Frankfurt School of Finance & Management ab. Während des Studiums arbeitete er bei der Limburger Volksbank sowie der Deutschen Bank. Danach folgten Stationen bei der Deutschen Bank in Frankfurt und London sowie bei der Société Générale und der DekaBank. Im Jahr 2011 machte er sich mit Dragoman – Agentur für Finanzierungs-, Fördermittel- und Stiftungsberatung, selbstständig. Nebenher ist der FS-Absolvent stark in der Politik engagiert: Er ist unter anderem ehrenamtlicher Geschäftsführer des Zukunftsforums „Finanzplatz Frankfurt“ der CDU Hessen und leitete das „TEAM Hessen“ im diesjährigen Landtagswahlkampf für die CDU.

Sie sind Unternehmer und sehr engagiert in der Politik: „Zwei Herzen schlagen in Ihrer Brust“. Welches schlägt lauter?

Das kann ich gar nicht sagen. Politik und Wirtschaft bewegen sich in einem Spannungsfeld. Obwohl Vertreter beider Bereiche zusammenarbeiten müssen, fehlt teilweise das Verständnis für unterschiedliche Arbeitsmechanismen: Ein entscheidender Unterschied ist zum Beispiel die Herangehensweise bei der Umsetzung von Projekten. Wenn in der Wirtschaft entschieden wird, wie ein Projekt umgesetzt werden soll, geschieht dies. Der Politiker stellt meistens eine Maximalforderung, weil er damit rechnen muss, dass diese durch viele interne und externe Widerstände stark abgeschwächt wird. In diesem Spannungsfeld versuche ich quasi als Übersetzer zwischen Politik und Wirtschaft zu fungieren.

Welche Bedeutung hat Ihre Studienzeit für Sie aus heutiger Sicht?

Das berufsbegleitende Studium hat mir den Einstieg bei der Deutschen Bank geebnet. Durch mein Studium war ich bereits gut in die Deutsche Bank integriert und fester Bestandteil eines Teams. Das war ausschlaggebend dafür, dass ich nach meinem Studienabschluss 2001, kurz nach dem Platzen der Dotcom-Blase, in einer wirtschaftlich schwierigen Zeit sofort einen Arbeitsplatz gefunden habe. Die Seminare bei Professor Heidorn haben mich außerdem für Derivate begeistert. Auch nach dem Studium habe ich bei unterschiedlichen Banken immer weiter in diesem Bereich gearbeitet.

Meine derzeitige Tätigkeit hat mein Studium interessanterweise kaum bedingt. Allerdings hat mich meine Zeit an der Frankfurt School dazu motiviert, mich kontinuierlich fortzubilden. Die Weiterbildung zum Stiftungsberater hat mich schließlich in die Selbstständigkeit geführt. Das Studium hat mir auch verdeutlicht, dass bestehendes Wissen schnell veraltet. Um auf dem aktuellen Stand zu bleiben, muss man immer aufmerksam bleiben.

Was ist Ihre schönste Erinnerung an Ihre Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School?

Neben dem Auslandssemester ist meine schönste Erinnerung unser „Boys Camp“. Inspiriert von dem Titel einer Sendung auf Sat.1 – „Girls Camp“ – und vor dem Hintergrund der anstehenden Abschlussprüfungen, habe ich gemeinsam mit neun weiteren Kommilitonen unter dem Projektnamen „Boys Camp“ ein Lernwochenende in einer Jugendherberge organisiert. Dort haben wir fünf Teams à zwei Leute gebildet, die jeweils den Inhalt eines Hauptfachs aufbereitet haben. Tagsüber saßen wir in einem Seminarraum zusammen, um den Lernstoff zu wiederholen – letztendlich hatten wir dann für jedes Fach ein 80 bis 90-seitiges Handout. Noch heute treffen wir uns immer mal wieder in dieser Konstellation und verbringen gemeinsam ein Wochenende.

Ihre Agentur heißt Dragoman. Im Nahen Osten ist ein Dragoman ein Übersetzer, Dolmetscher oder sprachkundiger Reiseführer. Wie wichtig ist Kommunikationskompetenz im Bereich BWL?

Es ist sehr wichtig, sein Handeln erklären zu können, deshalb hat Kommunikationskompetenz eine große Bedeutung. An der Frankfurt School war das Fach UKPF (Unternehmenskultur und Personalführung) von Beginn an im Curriculum verankert. So wurden wir Studierende für Managementthemen sensibilisiert. Wie weitsichtig das war, habe ich während meines Auslandssemesters in Amerika gemerkt. Dort ging es in einem Seminar um Share Holder Value. Als wir europäischen Studenten einmal anmerkten, dass auch andere Stakeholder, wie die Mitarbeiter, nicht außer Acht gelassen werden sollten oder dass auch ein Betriebsrat wichtig sei, war das für unsere amerikanischen Kommilitonen völlig unverständlich.

Beruflich habe ich insbesondere bei der Deutschen Bank von guten Kommunikationsfähigkeiten profitiert. Auch als Banker musste ich an Messeständen präsent sein, Vorträge halten oder Produkte erklären. Am Anfang stand ich noch an der Seitenlinie, mit der Zeit rückte ich aber immer mehr ins Rampenlicht.

Was mögen Sie besonders an Ihrem heutigen Beruf?

Als selbstständiger Unternehmer bin ich mein eigener Herr. Ich kann frei entscheiden, für welches Projekt ich mich engagieren möchte. Inhaltlich ist mein Beruf spannend und vielfältig: Immer wieder kommen NGOs mit Themen auf mich zu, mit denen ich mich sonst wohl nie beschäftigt hätte. Für die Betreuung einer Stiftung, die sich für die Aufforstung von Korallenriffen engagiert, musste ich mich zum Beispiel in die Korallenzucht einlesen.
Es ist auch immer wieder faszinierend, was man schon mit den kleinsten Mitteln ausrichten kann - gerade im sozialen Bereich. Jetzt kann ich endlich wirklich beratend tätig sein. In der Bank ist leider der Sales-Aspekt immer mehr in den Vordergrund gerückt.

Was mögen Sie nicht so sehr?

Ich muss ständig im Akquise Modus sein, vorausschauend denken und planen. Wenn ich für einen Kunden an einem Projekt arbeite, muss ich mich zeitgleich um ein Folgeprojekt bemühen. Da ich erst seit 2011 selbstständig bin, trägt sich dieser Prozess noch nicht ganz automatisch. Auch das Gehalt muss ich nun natürlich anders angehen. Für meine Bezahlung gibt es keine feste Regelung, weil NGOs unterschiedlich hohe Mittel zur Verfügung haben. Also muss ich mein Honorar individuell mit den Kunden aushandeln. Das war bei der Bank natürlich komfortabler, da es ein Fixum gab. Ohne die Unterstützung meiner Frau, die im Bankensektor tätig ist, wäre es sicherlich schwerer geworden, den gewohnten Lebensstandard aufrechtzuerhalten.

Sind Sie heute da, wo Sie als Student hinwollten?

Ich wusste schon mit 16 Jahren, dass ich in die Bankwirtschaft will und hatte mich bewusst für eine Banklehre mit anschließendem Studium an der Frankfurt School entschieden. Meine Selbstständigkeit hat mir noch einmal einen ganz neuen Blickwinkel eröffnet. Das ist auch mein Rat an Studierende: Behaltet die Augen offen für Themen, die nicht nur für den Job wichtig sind. Für mich haben sich dadurch noch einmal Karrierewege aufgetan, an die ich damals nie gedacht hätte.

Was ist Ihr Lebensmotto?

Wir müssen das, was wir denken, auch sagen. Wir müssen das, was wir sagen, auch tun. Und wir müssen das, was wir tun, dann auch sein.
(Alfred Herrhausen)
 

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen