call download fax letter pdf search x chevron
"jcr:5f916ee3-d936-4cb2-912e-d1366a5d096f" (String)
Martina_Butz_Header

Martina Butz (46) completed her Master of Mergers & Acquisitions law degree at Frankfurt School in 2012.

Since May 2019, Martina Butz has been the sole Managing Director of Stadtwerke Hanau GmbH. Previously, the licensed lawyer worked as authorised signatory and Head of Legal and Compliance Management at Frankfurt-based energy supplier Mainova AG. A mother of two children, she passed the examination to become a Chamber of Commerce and Industry-certified energy industry manager in 2010.

After your law degree, you completed the Master of Mergers & Acquisitions at FS. To what extent did your studies further your career?

The law degree programme helps you further develop your analytical abilities and structured thinking, building a very good foundation for working as a company lawyer – in my case, in the energy industry. What’s more, the Master programme is ideal for studying business management issues in much greater, near-real-world depth. The commercial concentration in particular helped me develop both personally and professionally on my way to becoming managing director.

How well did your academic studies prepare you for the challenges of working life, up to and including your current job as managing director of Stadtwerke Hanau GmbH? What did you find especially useful?

I gained a keener understanding of commercial data, key indicators and business impacts. As managing director, this has enabled me to understand all aspects of key business transactions and subject them to critical scrutiny right from the start. Topics on finance, tax law and company valuations were especially useful. Findings from my master’s thesis, an “analysis of windfarm finance from a game-theory perspective”, still feed into my work today.

Looking back, how important was your time as a student at Frankfurt School in the greater scheme of things?

Looking back now, the time I spent as a student was the stepping stone that enabled me to progress from purely legal work to managing my own business.

What’s your favourite memory of your time at Frankfurt School?

My fondest memories are of working together in groups in a tense, hard-working but positive atmosphere in beautiful surroundings (and that was just the old campus!)

What’s your favourite motto?

“If you love what you do, you’ll never have to work a day in your life.”

call download fax letter pdf search x chevron
"jcr:5f916ee3-d936-4cb2-912e-d1366a5d096f" (String)
Martina_Butz_Header

Martina Butz (46) hat ihren Master of Laws in Mergers & Acquisitions 2012 an der Frankfurt School abgeschlossen.

Martina Butz ist seit Mai 2019 Alleingeschäftsführerin der Stadtwerke Hanau GmbH. Zuvor war die zugelassene Rechtsanwältin als Prokuristin und Leiterin Recht und Compliance Management beim Frankfurter Energieversorger Mainova AG tätig. Berufsbegleitend legte die Mutter von zwei Kindern 2010 die Prüfung zur IHK zertifizierte Energiewirtschaftsmanagerin ab.  

Nach Ihrem Studium der Rechtswissenschaften haben Sie den Master of Mergers & Acquisitions an der FS absolviert. Inwiefern hat das Studium Ihre Karriere gefördert?

Im Rahmen des Studiums der Rechtswissenschaften werden analytische Fähigkeiten und strukturiertes Denken gestärkt, was sehr gute Grundlagen für die Tätigkeiten eines Syndikus Anwaltes, bei mir in der Energiewirtschaft sind. Das Masterstudium ist in Ergänzung dazu hervorragend geeignet, praxisnah tiefergehende Themen zur Unternehmensführung zu vermitteln. Insbesondere die kaufmännischen Vertiefungen haben mir bezüglich meiner persönlichen und beruflichen Weiterbildung hin zum Geschäftsführer geholfen.   

Inwiefern hat Sie das Studium an der Frankfurt School auf Ihre heutigen alltäglichen Aufgaben als Geschäftsführerin der Stadtwerke Hanau GmbH vorbereitet? Was war besonders nützlich?

Mein Blick auf kaufmännische Eckdaten, Kennzahlen und wirtschaftliche Auswirkungen wurde geschärft. Dies versetzte mich von Anfang an in die Lage, als Geschäftsführer die wesentlichen Geschäftsvorgänge umfassend zu verstehen und kritisch hinterfragen zu können. Gerade Themen wie Finanzierung, Steuerrecht Unternehmensbewertungen waren besonders nützlich. Auch die Erkenntnisse meiner Masterarbeit, einer spieltheorethischen Analyse von Finanzierung von Windkraftanlagen“ bereichern bis heute meine Arbeit. Energiewirtschaft und

Welche Bedeutung hat Ihre Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School für Sie aus heutiger Sicht?

Die Studienzeit war aus heutiger Sicht der Grundstein, den Schritt von rein juristischer Tätigkeit hin zu der Unternehmensführung gehen zu können.

Was ist Ihre schönste Erinnerung an Ihre Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School?

Die schönsten Erinnerungen habe ich an die Gruppenarbeiten in angespannter arbeitsreicher aber positiver Atmosphäre in einer schönen Umgebung (und das war nur der alte Campus)

Was ist Ihr Lebensmotto?

„Wenn Du liebst, was Du tust, wirst Du nie wieder im Leben arbeiten müssen“