call download fax letter pdf
Stage Image

Oliver Bader completed his studies as "diplomierter Betriebswirt" at Frankfurt School of Finance & Management in 1997. Now he is working as Chief Financial Officer of North America at Commerzbank AG in New York.

How did your career develop after the graduation at Frankfurt School?

Immediately after graduating, I started working as an auditor for Dresdner Kleinwort’s global Trading & Sales units, based in Frankfurt. Later, in 2005, I moved to London with my family and took over as Chief Operating Officer (COO) in charge of Dresdner Kleinwort’s interest rate derivatives business. After that, I stayed with the London organization for a while, working as COO for a number of other business units. Following the merger with Commerzbank, I became COO of the Portfolio Restructuring Unit, which looked after the Bank’s non-strategic credit exposure. Then, once the portfolio had been successfully dismantled in 2012, we moved to New York so I could start my current job.

Your degree course at Frankfurt School was a combined-studies Business Administration course. Which options did you choose?

At the time, Frankfurt School hadn’t yet established its current reputation and it was difficult to find a job in Frankfurt. However, I was lucky, because the regional management team in Stuttgart created a tailored platform for me so I could also study retail banking, asset management and lending. I used to spend the first half of the week down in Swabia, then commute up to Frankfurt for the second half of the week so I could study the remainder of my programme. This combination meant I had to plan my time carefully right from the start, just so I could meet all my commitments.

The subjects I was studying actually awakened my interest in investment banking, but because I’d spent my time as a student focusing on traditional retail and business banking, I had to look hard for opportunities to move into investment banking in Frankfurt. Internal auditing offered me the opportunity I was looking for, by putting me in a position where I was able to visit all the different trading locations over a number of years and familiarise myself with the various product areas.

Were you planning to work abroad someday, in the USA, or was that a spontaneous decision?

I gradually became more interested in working abroad while I was still working as an auditor. I always enjoyed projects in other countries; they usually lasted 8-10 weeks, and gave me a chance to get a feel for the country, the people and the culture. But at the same time, I never felt like I was part of the whole. I finally achieved my aim of working abroad when I moved to London in 2005, and now I’m continuing in the same vein by working in New York. Once you’ve taken the first step, it’s easier to make the transition and settle in another country.

To what extent did your studies at Frankfurt School prepare you for the challenges of your current position in New York as CFO North America for Commerzbank AG? What did you find especially useful?

Because all knowledge has a half-life, my degree course has only had a limited influence on my current position. But my studies provided me with a solid foundation on which I’ve been able to rely every time I’ve taken a new step in my career. And overcoming the dual stress of studying and working at the same time does help to reassure you that in reality, you can achieve anything if you really want to.

Looking back, how important was your time as a student at Frankfurt School in the greater scheme of things?

The time I spent studying at Frankfurt School was an important part of my personal and professional development. The obligatory requirement to spend one semester studying and working as an intern abroad gave me the opportunity to look outside the box at an early stage and explore the big, wide world. The programme’s combination of theory and practice offers a unique opportunity to try things out for yourself and test them in your everyday working environment. What’s more, I got to know many wonderful people, with whom I still stay in regular contact.

How important are alumni for a business school? What do you think alumni can do for their alma mater?

In my view, alumni are a major ingredient in a business school’s success. While the curriculum, the faculty, the teaching, all undoubtedly form the cornerstone of a university’s success, alumni are the benchmark that tells the outside world just how successfully the institution is able to impart qualities such as knowledge, attitudes of mind, values and culture to students, and how successfully the students are then able to put these qualities into practice in their professional careers. I also think that alumni automatically imply shared connections – even if I don’t know a particular person, but I do know that they’re studying or previously studied at Frankfurt School, I can assume a degree of shared understanding and familiarity.

This year, I’m personally sponsoring a “Deutschlandstipendium” scholarship, because I’d like to give something back to the business school and above all, to the students. By financing a scholarship I’m hoping to take some of the financial pressure off a talented individual so they can concentrate 100% on their studies.

What’s your favourite motto?

Love it, leave it or change it.

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen

call download fax letter pdf search x chevron
Stage Image

Oliver Bader absolvierte ein duales Studium zum diplomierten Betriebswirt an der Frankfurt School of Finance & Management. 1997 machte er seinen Abschluss. Heute arbeitet Oliver Bader als Chief Financial Officer für North America in der Commerzbank AG in New York.

Wie verlief Ihr Karriereweg nach dem Abschluss an der Frankfurt School?

Direkt nach Abschluss des Studiums habe ich als Revisor für die globalen Trading & Sales Einheiten von Dresdner Kleinwort mit Basis in Frankfurt angefangen. 2005 erfolgte dann der Umzug mit der Familie nach London, wo ich die Position eines Chief Operating Officer (COO) im Zinsderivategeschäft von Dresdner Kleinwort übernahm. Innerhalb der Organisation in London schlossen sich dann diverse COO Rollen für andere Business Bereiche an. Nach dem Merger mit der Commerzbank habe ich eine COO Rolle innerhalb der Portfolio Restructuring Unit übernommen, die sich um die nicht strategischen Credit Exposures der Bank gekümmert hat. Nachdem das Portfolio in 2012 erfolgreich abgebaut war, sind wir nach New York umgezogen, damit ich meine jetzige Position antreten konnte.

Sie haben an der Frankfurt School ein duales Studium zum diplomierten Betriebswirt absolviert. Wie haben Sie es gestaltet?

Zur damaligen Zeit war die Frankfurt School noch nicht so etabliert wie heute und es war schwierig einen Job in Frankfurt zu bekommen. Ich hatte aber das Glück, dass das regionale Management in Stuttgart mir eine Plattform zur Verfügung gestellt hat, in der ich Privatkundengeschäft, Vermögensberatung sowie Kreditgeschäft erlernen konnte. Die erste Hälfte der Woche war ich daher immer im Schwäbischen und bin Mitte der Woche nach Frankfurt zum Studium gependelt. Diese Konstellation hat es von Beginn an erforderlich gemacht meine Zeit genau zu planen, um allen Anforderungen gerecht zu werden.

Durch das Studium wurde auch mein Interesse für das Investmentbanking geweckt. Da ich allerdings meine Studienzeit im klassischen Private & Corporate Banking verbracht hatte, suchte ich nach einer Möglichkeit, in Frankfurt den Einstieg ins Investmentbanking zu schaffen. Diese Gelegenheit bot sich mir schließlich durch eine Stelle in der internen Revision. In dieser Position besuchte ich im Laufe der Jahre alle Handelslokationen und lernte so auch die verschiedenen Produktbereiche besser kennen.

Haben Sie es geplant eines Tages im Ausland, in den USA, zu arbeiten oder war es eine spontane Entscheidung?

Die Absicht im Ausland zu arbeiten entstand während meiner Zeit in der Revision. Mir haben die Projekte in fremden Ländern, die normalerweise acht bis zehn Wochen dauerten, immer gut gefallen. Man bekam ein Gespür für das Land, die Leute und die Kultur, allerdings wurde man leider nie Teil des Ganzen. Erstmals dauerhaft im Ausland gearbeitet habe ich dann ab 2005 durch meinen Umzug nach London und führe es nun in New York fort. Wenn man den Schritt einmal gegangen ist, ist die Umstellung und Eingewöhnung in einem anderen Land einfacher.

Inwiefern hat Sie das Studium an der Frankfurt School auf die Anforderungen in Ihrer heutigen Position als CFO North America der Commerzbank AG in New York vorbereitet? Was war besonders nützlich?

Durch die Halbwertszeit des Wissens ist der Einfluss des Studiums auf meine heutige Position relativ gering. Allerdings hat mir das Studium ein Fundament gegeben auf das ich in jedem meiner Karriereschritte zurückgreifen konnte. Durch die Doppelbelastung aus Lehre und Beruf hat es einem auch die Bestätigung gegeben, dass man alles erreichen kann, wenn man es nur will.

Welche Bedeutung hat Ihre Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School für Sie aus heutiger Sicht?

Die Studienzeit an der Frankfurt School ist ein wichtiger Bestandteil meines beruflichen Werdegangs und meiner persönlichen Entwicklung. Die Verpflichtung ein Semester und ein Praktikum im Ausland zu machen, hat es erlaubt schon früh über den Tellerrand hinaus zu schauen und die Welt zu erforschen. Die Kombination aus Theorie und Praxis ist eine einzigartige Möglichkeit Dinge direkt auszuprobieren und sie im täglichen Umfeld zu testen. Darüber hinaus habe ich sehr viele wundervolle Menschen kennengelernt, zu denen ich heute noch regelmäßigen Kontakt pflege.

Welche Bedeutung haben Alumni für eine Hochschule? Was denken Sie können Alumni für ihre Hochschule tun?

Almuni sind meines Erachtens ein wichtiger Bestandteil für den Erfolg einer Hochschule. Das Curriculum, die Professoren, der Lehrbetrieb ist sicherlich der Grundstein für den Erfolg der Hochschule. Allerdings sind die Alumni auch ein Gradmesser inwieweit die Hochschule einem Menschen Wissen, Denkweisen, Werte und Kultur mit auf den Weg geben kann und wie erfolgreich dies in der Berufswelt umgesetzt werden kann. Alumni bedeutet für mich automatisch auch Verbundenheit – selbst wenn ich einen Menschen noch nicht kenne, aber weiß das er an der Frankfurt School studiert oder studiert hat, gibt es ein gemeinsames Verständnis und eine Vertrautheit.

In diesem Jahr fördere ich persönlich ein Deutschlandstipendium, da ich etwas an die Hochschule und vor allem die Studenten zurückgeben möchte. Durch das Stipendium hoffe ich einem talentierten Menschen den finanziellen Druck etwas zu nehmen, damit er/sie sich hundertprozentig auf das Studium konzentrieren kann.

Was ist Ihr Lebensmotto?

Love it, leave it or change it

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen